Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arbor Christian Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Amarillo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2010

My son started at Arbor last year, and we have had nothing but a positive experience. He is very shy but also very smart, and we worried that he would get ignored and/or bored in a public school. Arbor has certainly challenged him academically, and the small class sizes have allowed him to overcome his shyness and truly blossom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Former 'lifelong' student. From my understanding, the Elementary and Middle School programs are still incredible. This review is in regards to the High School. Leadership in the school at present is less than organized or satisfactory, although a few bright gems do stand out against the rest. The supposed 'Hebrew learning model' touted as one of the distinguishing features of the school is unrecognizable. I knew students who actively and openly participated in activities that would have them suspended from a public school, but went on with hardly a word spoken to them. I would actually be fine with this were it not for the multiple 'good' students I knew who were pulled aside and harshly criticized for their own issues. Overall, definitely send your kid here K-8. Ditch the highschool for somewhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2009

My son has attended Arbor throughout elementary school and I highly recommend it. I teach in public school and Arbor aligns curriculum with Texas standards. The teachers are very supportive and work hard to make sure instruction is individualized. The school provides for a healthy social environment and gives tremendous opportunity extracurricular activities and great parent involvement is very high. The leadership is the best you could ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

Both of my children currently attend Arbor Chrisitian Academy and are in elementary school. As with any private school decision, it was difficult to swallow the costs. However, the need to educate our children in an environment consistent with our cultural beliefs in God superceded the expense of private education. The performance of graduating seniors from Arbor is impressive. Well over 90% of graduating seniors meet the requirements, by entrance exams and by approval of application, for college. And, most go on to be successful individuals who make a difference in the communities they reside. When our children were enrolled in Arbor it was a family endeavor. My wife and I are college degreed (Bachelor's and Master's degree respectivley) and hold the belief that you get out education what you put into it. We are pleased with the schools academics and desire to see children make a difference as adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I attended high school at Trinity , graduated in 2003. I never wanted to even try out college after attending this school, I learned nothing about academics here. I do appreciate the kmowledge of the bible but if you weren't in honors you didn't a fair education. For what my parents paid I deserved an education or should they request a refund?
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2007

I attended high school at Trinity. Honestly, I learned nothing. I loved my teachers, however there were 2 out of the whole bunch that actually taught their classes. Kids in honors classes had the advantage of learning, the rest of us didn't learn a thing. Especially in math or Spanish (the only second language class offered). I must say that I learned alot about God & the Bible but that won't get me through college. (1999-2003)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

Our son began first grade and graduated from Trinity save for 2 years at a bilingual school in Mexico. He graduated valedictorian, participated in all sports, debate, etc. He is now a 4.o student at TX A&M. His experience at Trinity was very positive. His college results bears that he received a good foundational education. Our daughter is a sophomore with much the same experiences. She is leading a balanced life there. Strengths include,the administration, Nancy Wilcox is a gifted leader and visionary. Staff is overall very competent. Reacts to parent input quickly. Basic academics are strong, sports are limited but quality for such a small school. Arts are weak. A lack of AP courses. Overall, considering the child as a whole, an EXCELLENT choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 37%
Hispanic 12% 47%
Black 3% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (806) 355-8969

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5000 Hollywood Rd
Amarillo, TX 79118
Phone: (806) 355-7207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Victory Academy
Amarillo, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT