Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mansfield Timberview High School

Public | 9-12 | 1628 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

THIS SCHOOL HAS TAUGHT MY SON ON A LEVEL OF EXCELLENCE . TIMBERVIEW IS ONE OF THE BEST SCHOOLS IN TEXAS . THE TEACHERS ARE CARING AND ALWAYS AVAILABLE TO SPEAK TO THE PARENTS , . THE RESPONSE TIME IS VERY GOOD . I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THIS SCHOOL CHOICE FOR MY CHILDREN .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2012

I just graduated from Timberview and I am overall satisfied with my H.S. experience. Academically I took almost all Pre-AP/AP classes. In most of those classes I felt sufficiently challenged. I could not have imagined being happy in regular classes though because those kids didn't seem to be held to high standards. Athletically, Timberview is the most talented school in the district (in my opinion) which leads to increased school spirit. Also, I really appreciated the impact the student council had on the school, even though sometimes it seemed like StuCo kids got special treatment. However, the StuCo sponsor worked really hard to create a "community" within the school. While many probably take this for granted, Timberview is a very diverse school, and I personally really liked that. Things I didn't like included the school feeling overcrowded, which wont be an issue with the new high school opening. Also, while I loved the principal, a few of the assistant principals weren't friendly and didn't seem to give their best effort to help students. It always irritated me when first offense good kids go detention for not having an ID and bad kids got coddled! Still Im proud to be a wolf!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2011

not enough teacher support & students concern. Lack of healthy attitudes & self-discipline means that students with potential don't do their best. Often staff are good but energy is misdirected into small, unimportant areas & policies
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2011

I like when the school notify you of when your child has missed assignments /tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

To be honest, I only feel challenged in my AP classes. Other times during my regular classes, the teachers sometimes don't really even teach anything, sometimes all we do is sit there, and it feels like a waste of time. Obviously I don't expect major college prep in these classes, but I think we should at least be learning SOMETHING rather than sitting there and taking a nap the whole(even though I admit, I need it sometimes haha). I enjoy my AP classes because I am being challenged, but I think some teachers need to raise their standards just a little bit for the regular classes, so that we can at least have some type of education, I kind of wish now that I just took all AP classes instead of just 2 this year. Don't get me wrong, this is a pretty good school, we have awesome TAKS scores, but I just feel that some teachers just come to class just to be there, rather than to teach us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2010

This will be my fourth year going to Timberview and I have never been more happier to attend. The teachers help you and are there for you if you need them. I have never been around teachers that I could actually have a personal/professional relationship with until I went to this school. The teachers challenge you and the school as a whole challenges you and encourages you to exceed. The people are great, which includes the students and everyone who works there. I have even become friends with some of the people who work the lunch line. They are the nicest people I have ever met. Everyone cares for each other at this school and you can always find someone who will help you with anything that you need. I have felt very welcome here and have met people that'll be in my life forever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2010

Timberview is a great school....the teachers help you and the counselors are there when you need them. Their administration is good too. I don't know you people put down this great school. They better recognize!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

Thank God Mrs. Spain came to Timberview to help the school become recognized. It was her encouragement and drive that pushed our kids to excel in the classroom. I'm not very please with the current administration. I hope there is a change soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

I have been attending Timberview for a year now, and thus far it has been one of the most amazing learning experiences ever! The teachers are very caring, and treats each child with the same amount of respect that they would like to be treated with. The counselors are very helpful, and so on point, they get the job done, when its near imposible!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

I challenge the parent who mentioned the research paper to find me any high school in MISD who has 9th and 10th graders writing research papers, especially in non-AP classes. Timberview provides a solid education to those students who want it and for parents who encourage their kids. My daughter (graduate of 2007) is in her second year of college and doing just fine. My son will be a sophomore at Timbeview this year and he's doing just fine. The school has made great strides despite the negative press it receives from others. By the way, I thought pre-AP and AP classes were geared for students planning for college and needed the extra challenge. I wouldn't necessarily expect non pre-AP classes to provide much in the way of college prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

Preparing for college rests with parents and their student. A high school education offers opportunity and knowledge to move on to the next level. Private schools typically boast college 'prep'; having had a child graduate from another school within the MISD several years ago and now another getting ready to graduate from Timberview, I can say it wasn't what the high school taught my child about getting ready for college, it was what my child learned through involvement in school academics and extracurricular activities that is helping them. Ghandi said, 'Be the change we wish to see in the world'. Don't blame the system. Congrats Timberview on being 'Recognized'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

My daughters were students there for almost 2 years. I don't know about the other parents, but I actually sat in the classes with my daughters and visited the school for over a month. I was none too pleased. When I spoke to some of the teachers about the lack of preparation for college for students in non pre-ap classes, I was told there really wasn't any. My daughters were there 9 and 10 grade and never wrote a research paper. Several, not 1 or 2, teachers told me I should probably put my children in another school. Textbooks not issued so in turn no homework. Good for them for making recognized, all I know is that they were not preparing my children for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Mansfield Timberveiw has the best athletic and academic program in the district. This school has not received the recognition it should have due to the large minority population. The teachers are great and the students are really proud of their achievements. Being a recognized school in the state does not surprise me because this is an exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

Way to Go! Timberview Wolves! Congratulations on being the FIRST MISD High School campus to achieve the Recognized rating! We are so proud of our children and teachers! Keep up the excellent work! With God, anything is possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

My son graduated from Timberview in 2007 and my daughter will graduate in 2010. I have been very pleased with the education that they have received from MISD and Mansfield Timberview HS. When the school first opened, it immediately gained a bad reputation due to some fights but as one parent previously mentioned in her review all high schools unfortunately have their share of fights. The key is for your child/ student not to get involved in the 'drama' and help do their part to keep the campus safe by reporting any illegal activities ( past, present, or future). Timberview has been designated a Recognized campus based on their 2008-2009 test scores, etc... which to my understanding is the first time a High School in Mansfield ISD has received such an honor. Congratulations to the students, faculty/ staff, and parents for making the grade !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I've attended the school for 2 1/2 years. It's a great school that's tone down over the years. The teachers and staff are a great help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

the best school in district compare to education and physical fitness
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

Believe it or not Timberview is not the bad, ghetto, black school everybody makes it out to be. I, myself am a student at Timberview by choice. I could have chosen to go to Mansfield but I didn't. People need to stop giving Timberview a bad rap based on what they've heard. Oh and did I mention our writing TAKS scores? Yeah beat that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

I just want to set the Record Straight. Timberview is a great school. The Principal has years of experience and is a good person. The teachers do care. I have a personal relationship will all of my son's teachers and coaches. My daughter graduated from Timberview in 2007 with no problems. I always hear people put Timberview down, but it is a great school. Neither of my children have ever been in a fight or even suspended from school. If the kids and parents show interest in their education they should have NO PROBLEMS at Timberview. The have tutoring, and the teachers are always willing to help. Some of the other schools are just infested with drug addicts and kids with no morals. Yes there are fights, but every school has fights. That is just the way it is. We love the Wolves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Although boundaries changed our address to MHS, our son has opted to stay at TView. The coaches are great & really cared about the kids. The teachers never tire of my constant e-mails asking for help when our son has struggled. Parents are welcome to help in all areas unlike other schools where you are ignored if not from a certain area. The first year principal was offered a greater position in the Houston area that is nearer to family, the reason he left had nothing to do with the school. For being open only 3 years, Timberview has done great things!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

737 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

728 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

587 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

582 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

585 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

582 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
Black or African American91%
Asian97%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Black or African American93%
Asian97%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education26%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African American98%
Asian97%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
70%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
86%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students64%
Female72%
Male58%
Black or African American58%
Asian91%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special education25%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Black or African American81%
Asian97%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education43%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African American81%
Asian96%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education56%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students69%
Female81%
Male60%
Black or African American64%
Asian81%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education29%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students52%
Female61%
Male45%
Black or African American50%
Asian74%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special education6%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted49%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students75%
Female81%
Male69%
Black or African American73%
Asian81%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial72%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education40%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students50%
Female64%
Male38%
Black or African American47%
Asian74%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial61%
American Indian or Alaska Native50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Special education10%
Not special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)9%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted46%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students76%
Female81%
Male72%
Black or African American73%
Asian94%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education54%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students71%
Female71%
Male72%
Black or African American63%
Asian94%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education23%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students72%
Female72%
Male72%
Black or African American68%
Asian89%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial79%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education36%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)11%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 13%
Hispanic 26% 52%
White 15% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 4%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DERRELL DOUGLAS
Fax number
  • (817) 472-2980

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7700 South Watson Road
Arlington, TX 76002
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 299-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Seguin High School
Arlington, TX



Bowie High School
Arlington, TX


Summit High School
Arlington, TX


Mansfield High School
Mansfield, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT