Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Merryhill School

Private | PK-5 | 350 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2013

My daughter has attended Merryhill for over a year and just completed Kindergarten. Their Kindergarten program was by far the best I have seen. My daughter enjoys going to school every day and loves her teachers and the staff at Merryhill. I love to hear all of the teachers and staff say good morning to her when we come in and not just good morning to me. It shows that they really care about her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

This is a great school with highly qualified teachers, friendly staff members, and excellent administration. My children have excelled academically and emotionally. I highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

My two sons have been enrolled over the past two years and have excelled academically. I find the admininstration and faculty to be extremely caring and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

My daughter has attended Highpointe/Merryhill for over two years now and there couldn't be a better environment for her. Every parent wants a safe and nuturing setting for their child, but when I drop her off every morning it feels like leaving her in the hands of family. Also, my daughter is higher risk for febrile seizures. They have completely gone above and beyond when handling any situation that arises, even visting in the hospital. Couldn't ask for a better a staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

No hands on activities for students, and very low quality administration. It seems there is no parent/teacher communication, and most if not ALL of class time is spent on behavior. Almost all of the teachers yell. I would not recommend this school to ANYONE. Parents who send their children to a school like this knowingly do not care about their child's future. (academically or emotionally!)


Posted January 30, 2010

I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality preschool and elementary program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Working here was not a good experience, as a worker you are treated like you work at a daycare, and no discipline or consistency is enforced. There was little to none communication between staff members, and very little hands on activities for the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2009

This is an excellent school, and I would recommend it to others. We have tried several other PRE-K classes, but this is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I have had two children at the preschool in the last several years and unfortunately I can not endorse this school to other families. It's truly a daycare environment, running day to day without any sign of improving. There is a high teacher turnover and the adminstration doesn't seem to have a clue as to what is going on in the classroom. I am very happy to have moved on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

My daughter started here at what I believed was a little behind, within 2 months at 2 she knows and says colors, shapes, abc's to j, and counts to 5. Her talking went from a 15 word vocabulary to now she repeats almost anything else! Our amazing teach Ms. Ruby also has take her a few Spanish words and she uses them on a daily basis! My little girl saying gracias is the cutest thing! I would definately suggest this school to family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

The school is excellent, and very good to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

My 16 month old son was enrolled in the school. The school has some great staff members but it's a hit or miss. In my case, I ended up with a teacher's aide in my son's class that was unprofessional. The school is unresponsive to parent's complaints and has a tendency to defend the staff instead of addressing the issues of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

I have had 3 children there over 15 years. They are excellent and working with parents and kid's needs. I felt my kid's were challenged as well as those that needed extra assistance. I know the owner and administrators have many many years of experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

Highpointe has changed over the years since I had my oldest enrolled there. Now that I have a younger child, the student body and staff has changed. It seems as though lots of turn-over and lack of discipline has taken its toll. I have decided to pull my child at yar-end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

Bar none! This is the most outstanding school for a child to attend and grow with. It has all the components that ensure your child will develop into the adult that will shape the world into a better place for all humanity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

711 West Arbrook Blvd
Arlington, TX 76015
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 472-9494

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Merryhill School
Arlington, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT