Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carter J High School 5

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Love Carter!!! The school has progressed so much since I went here. Mr. Lizardo and Ms. Parsons are so helpful and I'll be forever grateful for them. My child had some things going on and the school was completely understanding and did everything they could do get him back on track. Thank you to Ms. Pitt as well. SHE'S THE BEST!!!!

Carter J High School 4

Posted August 01, 2014
- a community member
All rumors are irrelevant. I am a soon to be 8th grader here ad it has been great ,i made alot of friends. There is a couple of fights but other than that it's okay.


Carter J High School 2

Posted November 24, 2013
- a community member
As a substitute, it is a decent place to sub at. When you look at the building at first, it may seem a little intimidating but once you go inside, just give it some time and you will be fine. The students seems to be knowing what they are doing and expected to finish their assignment when the sub is there. Sometimes, the class gets rowdy so they need to be reminded multiple times to stay on task. Some staffs are helpful, and some were weird. I like some students who appreciate the substitute and finish their assignments on time. There could be plenty of improvement by giving more restrictions on less cellphone usage and informing the students that they must be on their best behavior when the sub comes.

Carter J High School 4

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Carter is bit intimidating when you first enter the building but once you give it some time I think you'll be happy with what your child experienced.My child was in 8 th grade last yr. I signed him up for free tutoring this summer. Most of the tutors said that my child is working on or above grade level, Then I decided to get help with Art instruction, He really loves art so I know he would do great, The first day the camp called and asked if he could be put in a higher level class, His Carter art teacher taught him so well that my baby gets be taught at a higher level.

Carter J High School 4

Posted August 10, 2012
- a community member
I am a seventh grader here and i pretty much discovered everything that goes on here.This year i saw that there was a lot of fights not in the school but close to the school or in someones house.So dont hang with the wrong crowd but inside the school it is fun and not strict.The security is great and we have random police searches.but a few teachers are kinda of bad teachers because they dont explain what there teaching so you can understand they just repeat what they said before.overall its a good school just pay attention in class make a lot of friends and dont get involved with the wrong crowd.


Carter J High School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a community member
Carter is a great school!!!i am a 7th grader here!!!We MISS SHELIAH!!! PLEASE FIRE MRS>ACOUSTA SHE IS A BIF FAT MEANIE!!!! WE ARE AWSOME pEOPLES AT THIS SCHOOL SO DONT SAY NUN BOUT US ITS HUCTHESION U SHOULD SAY BAD STUFF ABOUT!!!DONT JUDGE A SCHOOL BY RUMORS

Carter J High School 5

Posted March 22, 2011
- a community member
i am a seventh grader at carter when i was in fith and sixth i heard alot of rumors thet carterr was bad but then i went and trust mee its no badd well sometimes but not always theres also good students but all yall ladiess trynng to sayy itss badd gett yalls factss straightt maybee itss causee urr childenn aree does geekyy typee trust mee nobodyy gets bullyedd theerree!! well atleast no thatt i knoww andd wee havee a GREAATTT Securtyyy guardd shess thee BESTTT!!

Carter J High School 1

Posted January 17, 2011
- a community member
I happen to believe if a school that fails to control problems should have its principal fired. I also believe this school should expell the students who have been held behind for more then 2 years as they won't be able to go beyond Carter.


Carter J High School 3

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended Carter for 2 years. Although there were teachers that tend to 'slack' and fights, overall i'm satisfied with this school. I believe that it doesn't matter where your child goes to school, it is their own personal decision that leads them to gangs, fighting, shavings, piercings etc. And I also happen to believe that a child is to respect figures of authority and to me that involves teachers, principals, administrators, guards, and so on. It's not always the teachers or the schools that are the problems.

Carter J High School 1

Posted August 05, 2010
- a parent
Carter is far from being great. My son was in this school's district so he had to attend but, it wasthe worst 2 years of school we have both been through. An education is not what your child will get here and the administration, starting with the principal, is highly laughable to say the least.

Nearby schools

Carter J High School
701 Tharp Street, Arlington, TX  76010
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (682) 867-1700
Last modified Carter J High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top