Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sam Houston High School

Public | 9-12 | 3097 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2013

Surprisingly, as a substitute teacher, this school is not all that bad as most people say it is. There will be securities walking around making sure students are where they're suppose to be. There will be students who are just sliding by and some takes their education seriously. You will always get those type of students who doesn't know how to stay quiet and play their obnoxious rap music. Some students are really cool with you. Of course, you will find one who is pregnant, nothing unusual. The staffs are very helpful and supportive. I would go back and sub there again.


Posted February 1, 2012

I am a 2010 graduate of Sam Houston High School. From my experiences going there, it's an okay school as long as you stay out of trouble. A lot of the students there were trashy and ghetto, and there were fights all the time (sometimes there were up to three fights during one lunch period). There's a huge teen pregnancy problem, and most of the students come from low-income families. Still, if you are a current student, or have a child who's currently attending, then I would strongly recommend becoming involved with as many extracurricular activities as possible. There are a great many students who are hard-working, apt academically, and who manage to represent the school well.


Posted August 4, 2011

There's never a bad school but there's always great students. Teachers at Sam Houston HS do their best to prepare us for our future, is always up to the students to take that knowledge shared to us. I'm from Class of '04, honored graduate and all I have to say about Sam Houston is that is the best school I could have gone to.Thank's to all my teachers & I miss the halls at Sam Houston where there are no strangers. Go Sam!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2011

That's not exactly true what the previous reviewer said about taking exams when they returned from Christmas. The final exams are actually about 2 weeks after the kids return from Christmas.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 2, 2011

My son is special ed qualified and in general pop. because he's not "skills class" qualified. DO NOT expect any of the teachers to read their IEP and BIP no matter how many ARD committee meetings you go to & decide what accommodations to have. We have 2 years of wasted Spanish in which he was 1 of 3 kids that DID'NT already SPEAK SPANISH fluently. The teacher DID NOT teach at their level resulting in F's both years. The 2nd year I requested his principal put him in the "ESL" class for his foreign language credit and was told "but he already speaks English" That is no different than these kids receiving a free foreign lanquage credit for Spanish, They also have a class called "Native Spanish" They have 2 classes, what a joke. The lack of interest in helping kids with special needs shows me these teachers are there for nothing more than collecting a paycheck. This school rating should be 0 out of 10. Before Xmas instead of taking exams, they had "movie week" & when they return they will take exams. Does that make sense?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

To the previous person who posted.... Sam Houston High School is in Arlington, Texas - which is between Dallas and Fort Worth in North Texas. We are about 250 miles north of Houston, Texas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This is a great school. The teachers are vary but overall they are very helpful. What I like most about our school is you can be yourself. When I was a freshman one of the MAC teachers mr hine made you laugh while you learned. ms mcreynolds has been the best princpail and I will miss her when I garduate. I am going to miss mr moffitt miss Lopes. Good bye Sam Houston.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2009

it is an excellent school for my son all these rumors my son told me were'nt true its a good high school for kids no bullies fights or anything bad about it that will harm your child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Im a freshman at Sam and so far I like it. It's a good school with good teachers, but like in every school there's teachers that get on your nerves sometimes. I still like it. This year the Lady Texans are going to rock at soccer! Go Sam!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

Sam Houston is the best school ever... It might be 'ghetto', but it's the most welcoming school you could ever go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2009

This will be my 25th year at Sam out of 37 years of teaching so obviously I must love it. We have wonderful leadership in our principal, Beverley McReynolds. Our kids are the best! Our teachers work harder than any to give our students the best opportunities to succeed! I was the drill team director for nine years and now am the Business Dept. Chair and the Senior Class Sponsor. When someone has something negative to say regarding Sam Houston, the first question I ask is when was the last time they walked the halls of Sam. In every case, they have never been there. So how would they know?!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2009

Im currently attending Sam and am proud to say im a Sam Houston Texan! the school may be burried in a bad rep. but thats just those shining dull stars who diss the teachers and hate their life. even attending SHHS gives you so many oprotunities that other schools fall short. scholarship programs come free or at little cost, and the students are given many oprotunities to suceed (mostly by the many passionate teachers) all it takes is a dedicated student and there are plenty of those at Sam Houston! only con i see is the parents lack of attention to many of their childrens lives but that has nothing to do with the school and its spirit level (which seems to be falling) but so many students are trying their best to represent Sam with the biggest pride in the school,Go Sam!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2009

sam houston is a really good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

Idk why my school gets a bad rep. I like it and its real fun. Plus the teachers are soo nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2009

I don't know why this school gets a bad rap. It's just a normal high school, sweet kids, and extremely dedicated teachers. A lot has to do with individual student motivation and parent support. Teachers can't work magic, but the teachers at Sam almost can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

The last person to post here, obviously, didn't get a very good education at South Grand Prairie (two words), either. Notice the misspelled words and poor sentence structure. Sounds like a bunch of sour grapes to me.


Posted June 5, 2009

It was an utter waste of time , I wish I just droped out and got my GED than to have wasted two years in that hell hole they call a school. The teachers were way underskilled and I belive they were not up to standards to teach anything. I honestly learned more in a trimester at South Grandprairie then I learned in the whole two year durration I was there. Thank god I did not have to attened that school for four years. The teachers do not teach well the students are disrespectfull. I was in Advance placment there and I astonded that people from this school pas the AP test the only way I learned was self study over the topics. How this low standrad school is an IB school is beyond me. 1 teacher there was excellent and that wa ms applequist she was the best teacher :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

A lot of bad rumors that are not true, smart kids, good programs, and an ib school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2009

i would have to say that I am attending Sam and that every bad thing people say about it is NOT true! Sam is a awesome the teacher are very dedicated to their work and the students are determined. And as for our sports we are winning in soccer and we are proud of that and Im proud to be a texan! Nobody should be judging the school just from silly rumors its all ABOUT SHHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

I attended sam for about 2 months and I enjoyed it very much, but im not going to deny that in the school that i am in now there is more competition. The teachers at sam are very friendly but more strict. I felt that all my teachers were well qualified and they treated all their students equally, and for as it being 'ghetto and that the students are disrespectful' i cant name one public school that doesnt have rude people and it isnt ghetto, there is just more diversity. (For the parent who wrote that, i find it to be very immature and offending for you to say.)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

855 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

812 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

631 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

612 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

630 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

623 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

529 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
Black or African American90%
Asian96%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%

Math

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
Black or African American69%
Asian91%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Special education39%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%

Science

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
Black or African American88%
Asian95%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American99%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

736 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

969 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

570 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

997 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

1110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

733 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
49%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

730 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
21%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

655 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
94%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

957 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

715 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students57%
Female60%
Male55%
Black or African American66%
Asian67%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander60%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Special education38%
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian95%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students76%
Female78%
Male74%
Black or African American79%
Asian92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander80%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education41%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black or African American86%
Asian86%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education67%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students47%
Female55%
Male41%
Black or African American49%
Asian45%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander17%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Special education9%
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)24%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted44%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students34%
Female40%
Male28%
Black or African American35%
Asian45%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander29%
White34%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Special education5%
Not special education35%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted30%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students67%
Female71%
Male63%
Black or African American63%
Asian73%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education25%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students35%
Female36%
Male34%
Black or African American34%
Asian51%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Special education7%
Not special education36%
Limited English proficient (LEP)16%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted32%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students75%
Female72%
Male77%
Black or African American69%
Asian94%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education42%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black or African American68%
Asian76%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial64%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander60%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special education21%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students59%
Female53%
Male65%
Black or African American58%
Asian86%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education39%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 50%
Black 24% 13%
White 8% 31%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Beverley Mcreynolds
Fax number
  • (817) 801-4505

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Sam Houston Dr
Arlington, TX 76014
Phone: (682) 867-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Newcomer Center
Arlington, TX


Arlington High School
Arlington, TX



Trinity Lyceum
Arlington, TX


Bowie High School
Arlington, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT