Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sam Houston High School 3

Posted July 14, 2016
- a student
I am a student at this school and honestly some of the teachers here can't teach. My first year of Geometry was bad she did not ask if everyone was on the same page or explain the homework and I had to take tutoring some days. I never went to tutoring till then. Second the school is awfully crowded I do not feel comfortable in this school. The lunch is crowded if you came late your friends better have save you a seat or you eat somewhere by yourself. The hallways are waaay too crowded it was so hard to get to class or keep a conversation going with your friends. Hopefully Sam makes some changes to their old school.

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted November 21, 2014
- a community member
Best school in Texas, AISD, and best principal!! Love the school spirit and students. Its grown to be a better school year after year


Sam Houston High School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a community member
I am an alumna of Sam that graduated just this summer. I was able to experience the difference that Sam had been undergoing and currently still is. I couldn't be more proud of my alma mater. I was in the orchestra, golf team, AVID program, National Honor Society, and also taking multiple Pre-AP and AP courses all 4 years at Sam. I am now at UTA and it has been a great experience and I believe it is because my teachers at Sam Houston prepared me well. College has been a breeze so far because a lot of the material that is being covered in class is material that my teachers taught me. I feel that any negative rumors that come outside of Sam Houston are people who have never walked the halls of the school. Any negative rumors that come from inside Sam are from the students that do not care for education and are unmotivated. Sam Houston has the best faculty and staff that prepare students for life beyond high school with so many opportunities available. Not only that, the teachers and counselors support the students and offer valuable life values. I love that Sam is changing and spirit is being reborn! Go Texans! GO BIG SAM!

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a community member
Class of 2014, best high school in AISD. Our IB (International Baccalaureate) program, if which I was a part of, was unmatched. Best teachers in the business. I'm a current Mav and my experience at Sam has made the transition very easy, with all the diversity and involvement. If u ever pass by Sam remember "in the halls of Sam Houston there are no strangers" go Sam.

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a student
With such deep traditions, amazing teachers, as well as incredible students that continue to strive for excellence truly do make Sam the best High School in AISD, hands down.


Sam Houston High School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a community member
Alum and former staff here - Excellent things are happening at Sam Houston High School! New leadership and a fresh school spirit and pride are sweeping through the halls and into the community. SHHS offers something for everyone. A cosmetology program, IB (International Baccalaureate) and AVID to mention a few. Caring teachers and staff who dig in and would rather be at Sam than anywhere else! Like any school that is allowed to grow so large, it comes with its own special challenges. Principal Benavides is an outstanding man and an amazing role model for the students.

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Sam Houston H.S. is a really wonderful school with caring teachers. My child was in the band program all 4 years and loved her time at SHHS. I also enjoyed getting involved and attending events. Her high school experience was really wonderful and she is now off to college!

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a community member
There is no other school like Big Sam, where teachers will go out of their way to help students succeed. Lately, you've been able to feel the pride and school spirit in these halls that for a while was weakened due to false rumors; but no matter what this school has pulled through and has shown its true potential with the help of a great principal, Mr. Benavides. People who don't go to this is school are quick to judge so don't let their opinion affect yours. SHHS Alumna 2014


Sam Houston High School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a community member
Sam Houston High school is a great school with caring teachers, counselors, assistant principles, and a principle that has gone well beyond to make Sam Houston the best in the city.

Sam Houston High School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a teacher
Its an awsome school ! If you do it right, you'll enjoy your time making memories and lifelong friends.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sam Houston High School
2000 Sam Houston Drive, Arlington, TX  76014
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (682) 867-8200
Last modified Sam Houston High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top