Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Key Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
Key is a place where you can feel safe when you send your kids to school. The teachers really care. I have had one student for 1 year, another for 2 years, and a third child is finishing his 7th year. They all really like Key. One comment stated the school has no 6th grade and low scores. Actually, that is not this Key Elementary. This school is technically in the city of Dalworthington Gardens and under the Arlington Independent School District in Texas. Key has had either an Exemplary or Recognized rating in all the years my children have attended when the state used those designations. There are academic extracurricular activities such as Math / Science team, fine arts activities such as Tongspiel and choir, in addition to athletic activities such as Runner's Club. The school may not be very large, but that helps give it a family atmosphere. Another poster mentioned the lack of staff in the mornings and afternoons. Actually, there is one teacher assisting students with getting out of cars and safely on the sidewalk before school and after school there are at least 5 teachers doing the same to make sure kids are not getting in and out of cars in the traffic.

Key Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
Love the focus on the kids and their unique abilities. Great parent involvement in this school.


Key Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
My girls ages 7 and 8 began here in Kindergarten and have done very well. Great school!

Key Elementary School 2

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Key Elementary used to be the best public Elementary school in the area However,in last couple years the school is going DOWN hill in rating. You can tell the how bad this school when you drop in the morning or pick up your kids after school. You won't see ANY teacher/school personnel to help kids or to direct the traffic. Parents drop kids in the middle of the traffic flow, kids run between cars, cars stop in the middle of the line.. Few time, I saw some volunteer kids help crossing, but they are kids, they didn't know how complicate the traffic is ..so you will see they talk, they play and forgot that they are directing the traffic!..So it was really a nightmare to drop or pick your kids at the Keys. I often wonder, where are the teachers? where are the school workers?where the principal?What are they doing inside the school when school not yet started?!!.. I've seen in other school, teachers/school personnel rotating to help out the kid in the morning, at Keys - you won't see that at all. Even after school, if there is any teacher out there, you will see they circle to chat each other but pay no attention in help kids.

Key Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
My son started 1st grade at Key this year and loves it! We moved here from California and loved the smaller country feel of the school and its area. I would like to address the comments made by one reviewer about the Police at the school and the thought it must not be safe. It is the only AISD school in the Dalworthington Garden CIty limits. DWG has its own police force. These policeman come to direct traffic in and out of the drop off areas as well as to stop speeders in the school zone. They are there to make sure the kids are safe! Especially the first of the school year when drivers don't realize school is back in session and that little kiddos are out and about. We love the Principal Mrs. Jackson and the VP Mr. Howard. They are very accessible and present at every school event. I don't usually post to such sites, but had to address the inaccuracies of another post.


Key Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
Do not send your kids to this school !! I had my kindergartner and 1st grader here only one day due to the fact as we walked in on the first day of school there were 5 police officers in the halls and 3 outside at the front doors . My kindergartner came home so sad and upset because the teacher yelled at her , and my first grader came home saying she didn't feel safe . I unregistered them and registered them in a much better and safer school , I'd say y'all should do the same . Protect your kids and their educations parents !! Good luck !! And ps I had no clue who the principal was and there was no teacher/student interaction .

Key Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
great teachers and Administrative staff. Quality education in a Public School System. My child is happy in her school and classroom.

Key Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
I dont understand where the parent who wrote the review says that Key has a low preformance when Key has the 'Exemplary' rating ( the hightest rating possible) maybe its just her child that is not up to par. Key is an excellent school and the test scores prove the teachers are doing their job.


Key Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
Key does in fact go up to 6th grade, it does not have PK that I know of though. I now have 3 children that have attended Key, my oldest has moved on to Gunn Jr high. I am paying to have my younger two stay at Key even though I moved into another district. I love Key. The teachers and principals are ALL friendly. I know most of them having been with this school since 2001. I have not ever been a room mom or grade rep and I am rarely able to help with the PTA and the teachers are all still always welcoming. If you participate in your kids school life you will get to really know the teachers.

Key Elementary School 3

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
This is what I notice: Most teachers will not smile or address you even with a Hello. Unless your a Room Mom or PTA member. So sad too ! The children (unless their PTA Mom's kids, Room Mom's etc.) get no positive recognition. But teachers are quick to 'binder sign' for anything & everything. The worst children who are 'known' to be the trouble makers are equal to any other child. No consequenes there either. This is a sad fact in Public School. But, it is exactly that..public school. It's an unfortunate reality.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Key Elementary School
3621 Roosevelt Drive, Arlington, TX  76016
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (682) 867-5500
Last modified Key Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top