Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lamar High School

Public | 9-12 | 2865 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

Lamar was a great school. I really liked it , The teachers were great , the enviorment was really nice . i felt comfroatble there. i enjoyed coming to school every morning . everybody was very friendly . i just really enjoyed my self there and i wish i could come back !
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2014

As a parent of two Lamar graduates, I am most pleased with the educational opportunities that were given to them. Lamar is the "real world" of cultures/ traditions, an important part of education. Lamar teachers are hard-working, go "above and beyond" for students, and care deeply for their students in all areas, not just academics. When there are problems, those students tend to be disinterested in learning, feel that they are entitled to passing grades, and have uninvolved parents. Once the student is having difficulties, the parent shows up only to blame the teachers/administrators for the student's failing grades and/or unruly behavior. Those students and parents are NOT the majority at Lamar. However, those students and parents "make the most noise" in the community and media and run to central office, again making sure that the community and media know that the parent is certain that the student has been treated unfairly. Lamar, or any other school, should not be judged by those students and parents. Lamar is a top-notch educational preparation for life beyond high school, whatever path a student may choose. I am very proud that my children are Lamar graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Lost its rating, extremely dangerous, theft is ridiculous. I have had two kids attend this school and it's just become extremely poor in education as well as several of their other programs. There are simply too many children attending this school and not enough resources or properly trained teachers. Do not send your child to this school if at all possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised :). We transferred from Martin HS to Lamar for the IB program. I have never experienced an easier transition. Lamar HS staff went out of their way to make this process easy- unlike previous schools in the Arlington school district. I truly believe that each school is what you choose to make of it. We are positive and look for great things and have experienced them so far. This school has far exceeded my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

Honestly, this school can be pretty good at times, depending on which teacher you have. It is an interesting school, although most people think of it as a bad place, I think of it as helping me with my life skills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2011

I'm pretty pleased with Lamar High School. I had a son who graduated June 2011 and now I have a daughter who will be graduating in 2013. The school has great resources the students just have to want it. I think our children are so used to having things done quick and in a hurry they don't want to take out the time to do the work. And then the parents think that once they send their child to these schools it's all on the teacher. No, these teachers still need the backing of the parents. These teachers are here to prepare your child for college or life after High School. And I've noticed the reason a lot of these kids are out of control is because the parents are not involved and they are lazy. You can't blame it on a single parent home because you can be from a 2 parent home and kids still out of control. We as parents need to stop blaming the schools for our children not receiving a good education. My only concern I have with Lamar is that from the Principal to the Faculty we need to support our students when they are involved in something that will recognize not only that student but the school too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2011

This was my first week at Lamar and I hated it. The school is extremely over-crowded, and most classes have 40 or more students, and many have to sit on the floor. All the students go to lunch at the same time, so many of them don't get to eat because the lunch lines are so long. The Pre-AP teachers, especially the english teachers, give out mountains of homework, even though they say they focus on the quality of the work, rather than the amount. During this first week, there was one a fight and a student pulled the fire alarm during lunch. Overall, this is not a good or safe school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2011

Lamar this very good about keeping parents updated on how their child is doing in school. If a parent has any question regarding a class you can email the teacher and you will receive a response within 24 hours. Lamar offers alot of activities that are outside of the classroom and appeals to a wide variety of interests. The student/teacher ratio is very good and allows the teacher to interact with the students. Lamar is a good good high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I have twins at Lamar. Over the course of the years we have had as many as 16 different teachers at any given time. I have yet to find a teacher who does not give above and beyond what could be expected. Before school at 6:30 and after school at 4:30 to 5:00. These are long hours of availability. One teacher even meets kids on Thursday evenings at a very public place so he can help one on one. I am surprised and disappointed that a school of 3000 kids does not fill up a theater when there is a school play or fill the stands at sporting events. I think the recruitment of kids into the clubs could be much stronger. I think support for the sports and clubs could be much stronger. I give the school an overall 4 stars, but the teachers and education are a 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My son started 9th grade this year at Lamar. This school is a joke. Its is the worse the teachers are lazy. The school is old. They have ran out of lunch my son never gets to eat lunch. One of his teachers has lost his home work. At open house I asked one teacher how my son was doing she said I dont discuss grades at open house. I asked one teacher when progress reports would be out he said I dont know next week this week. The air condition went out I called and asked when it would be back on the secretary asked was I called the right school because I have air in my office. She put me on hold then came back and said oh it is out in some parts of the school. My son says he is learning the same thing from last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Large school with broad demographic mix of students. Has problems and challenges, but has a strong tradition, a lot of outstanding students, many good teachers and administrators, and a strong base of very involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

I am currently a freshman at lamar. Class of 2013 and I am very impressed with this school. Yes, there are fights but that's just life. Education is very very important at this school. Most of the teachers are willing to help no matter what. They do not put up with the kids that walk in and just go to sleep. Football is very important to this school but every other sport is also! Soccer this year should be very good! Thats all I have to say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

Lamar High School is not as bad as people say, it is not 'getto' or anything. It all depends on the students and the choices and friends they pick. If your child cares enough about there education they are not going to let anything or anybody get in there way- it's as simply as that. So basically don't blame the teachers or the school for your childs mistake. I love Lamar &I wouldnt want to be anywere else! Go Vikes!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2009

This School is great!!! But There is too Much Violence at the school! and idk how we put up with it but they need another high school gor nichols to feed into because we are packed full my temporary has 35 kids!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

Lamar ia a great school. It has great adadimics and a great security staff. I recently unenrolled my son for AHS due to gang activity and I feel safer with him at Lamar. His teachers are helpful and the other kids attitude are great. My son loves his new environment. Athletics do not pulll a big punch im Lamar as they did in the other school. I am happy with Lamar beyond words. 10 out of 10 star rating for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

When I went to UTA I was lost bc the teachers and advisors didnt lead or help students as to what to do after high school and how to go about it if you arent a popular kid or straight a sstudent as for the parent involvement theres tons but they are rude parents if your kid isnt the class bully or gets around then you nor your kid will fit in
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2009

I think it is a good school the teachers are very nice but the athletic department has a lot to do with the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

I disagree with the prior statement that this school is only about football. Volley ball track and soccer matter just as much to us, the students. We have excelent school spirit, and teachers. But I have seen 4 fights involving at least four students since the beginnig of the year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2008

Lamar has wonderful academics as well as extra and co-curricular classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

Lamar has always had caring teachers with high expectations. However, the change in attitude is not with the teachers but with the parents of the present day students. They choose to send their child to a school that has high expectations but then they do not do their part to ensure their child is doing their homework and becoming involved in the school activities. PTA night used to be standing room only, but not any more, but all the teachers are there to meet the few parents that show up. You can only get out of education what you bring to it. If you come to school for fun and socials then you are there for the wrong reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

827 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

790 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

618 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

605 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

598 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

595 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

553 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

555 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

557 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

555 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Black or African American92%
Asian97%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students83%
Female81%
Male86%
Black or African American75%
Asian97%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Special education27%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African American90%
Asian97%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education51%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female97%
Male99%
Black or African American96%
Asian97%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

666 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

765 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

774 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

602 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

603 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

589 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
96%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

739 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

572 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students60%
Female62%
Male57%
Black or African American57%
Asian57%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education32%
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American96%
Asian95%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
Black or African American84%
Asian97%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education57%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education0%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students62%
Female66%
Male58%
Black or African American50%
Asian83%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial63%
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education19%
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)27%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students48%
Female54%
Male41%
Black or African American38%
Asian83%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education9%
Not special education49%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted43%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students80%
Female83%
Male77%
Black or African American69%
Asian92%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education12%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students49%
Female53%
Male45%
Black or African American30%
Asian80%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education0%
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted43%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Students27%
Female50%
Male13%
Black or African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special education22%
Not special education29%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted27%

Geometry

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black or African American73%
Asian96%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education38%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students77%
Female77%
Male76%
Black or African American67%
Asian90%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education33%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students62%
Female58%
Male67%
Black or African American46%
Asian96%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education12%
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 33% 50%
White 33% 31%
Black 28% 13%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Larry Harmon
Fax number
  • (817) 801-6255

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Lamar Blvd
Arlington, TX 76012
Phone: (682) 867-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gateway High School
Arlington, TX


Jean Massieu Academy
Arlington, TX



Trinity Lyceum
Arlington, TX


Al-Hedayah Academy
Fort Worth, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT