Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shackelford J High School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter loves it here! She is excelling in her Pre-AP courses and loves the Athletics program. The teachers and administration are all very caring and have the students best interests in mind.

Shackelford J High School 3

Posted January 16, 2014
- a community member
As a substitute, it is okay. There will be some students who are a little annoying to control so you gotta push them to do work. Do your best to get them motivated. Some students were rude and don't care if you tell them to do this or that. The staffs and faculty were very kind. Uniforms is the trend in this school. I don't really have anything terrible to complain about.


Shackelford J High School 3

Posted August 06, 2012
- a community member
This school is great! Not the best, but not something you need to transfer from. The teachers are very caring and educated, the only problem i have with the school is the uniforms, but i guess i'll get over it eventually... If you have good grades and aren't looking for trouble, you'll survive.

Shackelford J High School 5

Posted March 11, 2012
- a parent
Shack has been a great experience for my son. The expectations in the PAP/Honors courses are high. Teachers/extra-curricular sponsors/coaches have all been kind and caring. Too bad more parents "can't be bothered" to show up for Open House. These missing folks are probably the first to complain about a school or teacher.

Shackelford J High School 5

Posted March 06, 2011
- a community member
The school is great all of my teachers are really great at their job my grades are the best they've ever because the teachers really ensure you are getting everything you need and if you are going to have you're child go to this school ask for mr. forson to be their science teacher he is the absolute best teacher I've ever had.


Shackelford J High School 3

Posted December 21, 2010
- a community member
I go there now, and it's an okay school. The good thing is that they show you that it's okay to be different and to have different goals. On the bad side, they have so much fights... but the principal cares and is real nice about everything. I really like this school. Plus, you start becoming friends with people that went to other schools. It's a pretty good school. The teachers are nice and some Pre-AP teachers are great at their job!

Shackelford J High School 5

Posted November 29, 2010
- a community member
This school has excellent teachers! i went here in 2007 to 2008 it is the best years i spent in my life! i loved my teachers there such nice people. This school has an awesome orchestra, band and choir. Great for sports. I use to go to Nichols but i hated it and change. Go Patriots!!!

Shackelford J High School 5

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
After working with the principal directly, and a couple of the teachers, I am VERY IMPRESSED at the dedication and extra effort they make to encourage achievement and maintain good discipline. We drive past another Jr High a block away from my home to escape their gangs and discipline problems. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!! I'll bring my second child to Shack' next year too!


Shackelford J High School 5

Posted August 17, 2009
- a student
last year I was a seventh grader there and I loved it, the teachers are great!

Shackelford J High School 4

Posted July 25, 2009
- a student
Last year I was a 7th grade student who attended Shackelford Jr. High , I found it diverse inriching and fun . All of the teachers ,especialy on the north stars team were tramendous and I can't wait for school to start again.The bad thing is that there are many cliques and it is kinda hard to mingle into new groups.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shackelford J High School
2000 North Fielder Road, Arlington, TX  76012
(682) 867-3600
Last modified Shackelford J High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shackelford J High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top