Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Young J High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Again, no gifted courses in middle school, no real electives, nothing challenging for children who need it.

Young J High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Haven't ever seen homework. She either finishes it in advisory class or doesn't bring it home.


Young J High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
There is no gifted program by middle school. This is SAD in this age. There are no challenging elective classes. Students are set up for failure.

Young J High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
I don't think anyone is personally involved with average students. Most students don't speak to teachers.

Young J High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter got her phone stolen while at school and I couldn't report it until she left school. She told an sro and was blown off.


Young J High School 3

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
There is nothing special about this school. No elective classes beyond the basics, the teachers are average, communication is terrible, cleanliness is so-so, administration is good.

Young J High School 5

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
I'm thrilled with this school. The teachers are very caring, and they genuinely want to see my child succeed. We came from a school that was terrible, so YJH really exceeds my expectations!

Young J High School 1

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent And an very disappointed with this school. If i could afford private schooling i would go that route. This school dose not take bullying seriously. And they have faild to call and inform me when my child went to there staff for help. When i was contacted i was left with this is commen and as if it where no big deal. I wasn't informed of whether the situation was taken care of or what had been done. On the other hand they have made big deals over smaller issues like a cell phone going off when it wasn't my childs fault. Honestly this school is about the numbers and how much cash they can get not the children or there safety. Extremely disappointed with this school.


Young J High School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a community member
I am a parent of a 7th grader and a substitute at this school. Young is an excellent school with wonderful teachers and administration!!

Young J High School 1

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
The office staff was very in professional toward me, I entered the office and no one acknowledge my presents. Granted, both assistance principle and principle were involved in student discipline...they never took the time out to at least acknowledge me before or after their involvement with the students. The lady behind the desk was no better, she answered a phone call and after the call waited 30 to 40 seconds before asking me if anyone had help me. Lady, it is only you and I in the office who else is / were present? The teacher I came to meet with was very pleasant and welcoming to the campus. The office staff needs to work on their Boy's Town skills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Young J High School
3200 Woodside Drive, Arlington, TX  76016
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (682) 867-3400
Last modified Young J High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top