Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ousley J High School 3

Posted May 26, 2014
- a community member
I was an 8th grade student here at Ousley in 2014, and I can honestly say that this school isn't as bad as all the other parents have been describing it as. Yes, occasionally there are fights, there is occasional bullying, but then again this is present at all schools and the administration takes care of this quickly and effectively. The students are basically divided into groups, like there is an athletic black-kids group, a skater group, a white-girl group, a choir group, a band group, the geeks, the nerds, you know the usual. As long as you don't fall into the wrong group, you'll be fine. Some teachers do what they do with a passion, others just teach what needs to be taught. The only language taught at this school is Spanish, by the way.

Ousley J High School 2

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
The only thing I can honestly complain about this school is the Athletics Department Basketball tryouts and team selections. There is no way possible the coaches pick the team based on skill. I sat and watched kids who couldn't even handle the ball play on the A team. I am not the only parent who made the comment in the stands. If you played Football, your tall and African-American you automatically make the A basketball team. It doesn't matter to the coaches that these most of these kids have major attitudes, spend time in OCS (on campus suspension) or are just down right disrespectful. The kids who showed up to tryouts everyday get put on B Team, but the once who played football or know the coach and only showed up for one day of tryouts make the A team. I think it is also a big Joke, to have a football coach teaching basketball. This B Team coach had no idea what he was doing. The plays he taught the kids made them look like a bunch of 3rd grade YMCA basketball players! It is very sad when at the end of the season, the A team kids tell the B team kids not to bother trying out next year, cause they know they will be the ones to make the team!


Ousley J High School 1

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
Horrible school to go to. Bullying is a major issue and administration is ineffective. Racism is a major issue as well- Caucasian children are a target.

Ousley J High School 1

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
Huge problem with bullying & administration fails every time to investigate properly. I have suffered this ongoing issue with two children. Children make threats & fight all the time while the children that defend themselves after being bullied so many times have to be punished & ticketed.

Ousley J High School 4

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
I am happy with the changes Ousley Jr. High has been making. As a parent I feel much more informed and involved with the school and my childs education. The automated phone calling system is wonderful. I also enjoy the PTA emails about all the different events taking place. My kids and I have also enjoyed the different fundraiser/family nights at the local resturants. It's nice to see the kids with their parents outside of school. Good Job!!!!


Ousley J High School 1

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
This school is so disorganized and it not put together well at all. My kid was threatened and all they did was send her back to class. Plus they do nothing to the 'bad' kids who are in a troubling situation, only the 'good' kids get good treatment. And STILL half the time they don't get good treatment.

Ousley J High School 0
no rating

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
I'm in eighth grade this year at Ousley. It's a fantastic school. The choir program is the bomb!

Ousley J High School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
My son attends Ousley and the faculty and staff are great!!!!!


Ousley J High School 2

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ousley J High School 5

Posted August 31, 2008
- a parent
this school is great for my son it has great programs I think its the best school in the aisd

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ousley J High School
950 Southeast Parkway, Arlington, TX  76018
(682) 867-5700
Last modified Ousley J High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ousley J High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top