Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bowie High School

Public | 9-12 | 3037 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

Bowie is an excellent school. It is full of diversity. it could improve by having a veterinary classroom/course. I love the teachers and the counselors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2013

I graduate from this school about 3 weeks ago. Class of 2013 baby! Anyways, this school is great. There are numerous extra curricular programs and clubs that are just great. Going to this school for the past 4 years I've witness James Bowie getting better and better. With the new principle bringing back old tradition like power puff football games is great. For the most part faculty and staff are great. Although some could get another job. But overall good school. Sometimes I do wish this school would have more school spirit activities. I feel like in a couples of years or so this school will be the best in the metroplex.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2013

I am a Junior at Bowie High School, this is (to me) one of the best and most safest high schools to be at. I've seen a lot of students and a few friends graduate early and already are getting started on their careers. Bowie can sometimes be a bad school, but its how the students get treated. A lot of stealing and drugs but what place isn't going to have that. We're teenagers trying to make the best choices we can. Bowie is okay.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2012

Great School alot of stereotypes from outside of the school but you cant judge a book by it cover. These Halls within the school are the best in Arlington.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2012

Awesome school! It has a wide range of extracurricular activities that you can participate in and great students and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2011

This school is just ghetto, take out the rap music and this school will be perfect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2011

To the parent below who wants more parent involvement-join PTA. Look for the PTA table at registration in August and sign up to get involved. I have had a student graduate and 1 still there and I have been involved in many ways. We'll let you know where you can help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

I feel that the student to teacher ratio is extreme. I feel they need more vice principals. I feel that the parent involvment is very low and so the school needs to figure out a way to get the parents more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

I was not happy with this school, they are not very lenient with student behavior, my son had several instances where he was accused of using profanity, and with only 2 mths left to senior graduation they sent him to alternative school, where as they had multiple students with far more serious actions and they were sentenced to less time than my child. There was no grace and no mercy here, even after I explained to them that we were coming from a diff state, going thru a divorce and that he was probably just acting out due to that, they didn't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I ve been a substitute teacher here many times, and the bad reputation I had heard about this school seems pretty unfair after teaching there many times. I d heard stories about gangs and violence, and frankly, I haven t seen any of it. From what I can tell, there s no more problems than what you d expect of any school that size. The student body is EXTREMELY ethnically diverse, but everyone seems to get along fine from what I ve seen. Like any school, what a student gets out of Bowie is what a student (and a parent) puts in to it. If your kid wants to just slide by, that s probably what will happen. If you re kid is a trouble student, he ll probably be trouble at Bowie too. If you re kid wants to learn, they can do that at Bowie too.


Posted February 1, 2009

My child used to attend Mansfield High School and hated it. She was failing test and had numerous problems with students there. When I moved her into the AISD district and into Bowie High School she did exceptionally well. She started making A's and B's. She refused to play sports and now she plays on the basketball team. If anybody says AISD is a bad district, they are right. But Bowie is the only exception. Academics, extra-curricular courses, opportunities, everything you can find in this school. My daughter is currently in IB classes and loving it. My advice from one parent to another is to involve your son or daughter's opinion about their school, because they know more about it then we do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I am a Senior at James Bowie High School, and I cannot begin to describe how good this school is. This school has great leadership to all the students and peers. you can talk to your counselor about anything, most of the time they are available to talk. I love the opportunities at this school because the teachers really care about the students. I would recommend anybody who wants to succeed,because it is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2008

Bowie is an outstanding high school and unlike other high school's in arlington that claim to have a 'real world' expierence bowie students live it everyday with it's diverse group of students, faculty, and staff. Come on it's located off of new york. Bowie is the first high school in arlington to have a IB program, a Rhodes Scholar, and the one of the highest graduating rates. HANDS DOWN if you want your child to recieve a quality eduation without having to resort to private school bowie is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2008

Bowie is a wonderful high school and it's reputation has been unfairly misjudged for too long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

The school values it's diversity more than promoting commonality and unifying goals. The teachers are very run-of-the-mill. The administration is more interested in making it through Texas Standardized Testing than the kids actually learning and being ready to move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

This school has excellent teachers and dedicated students. I don't mean to say that they are ALL dedicated, but you'll find much drive in the halls of BHS. My brother and I are both recent Bowie alumni and I feel that we both got an excellent education. I was fully prepared for the college workload placed upon me due to my upper year teachers. While there I was involved in many afterschool activities and there was plenty of parental involvement AND support. Both my brother and myself are greatful to our combined eight years at Bowie. He transferred in to Bowie...by choice. That should speak something to you for the school's quality.


Posted April 19, 2008

Really, Bowie is a mixed bag. If you're an ambitious parent, don't expect the school to do so much; it's not what the school can do for your child, but what your child can do with what is provided at the school. With that being said, if you want rigor and competition, transfer to Martin High School. With great parental support, however, a student could easily excel and rank among the best at Bowie. It really depends on when you want your child to face tough competition: now, or in college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2008

there is to much drama in this school. gang vilonce,threats, and bad kids who influenced one another... this school is really bad..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

Bowie is an excellent school. It is full of diversity. My daughter is a freshman and is excelling by the day. I was worried about her at first but they've reached all my expectations. Their extra-curricular activities are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Bowie is one of the first high schools in Arlington ISD to receive the International Baccalaureate Program, which is outstanding! My daughter is being challenged to excel in academics, lead by serving in volunteer capacities, being introduced to various forms of art, receiving quality instruction in four years of foreign language, international historical information, higher level mathematics and sciences and learning valuable social skills to catapult her into top ranked colleges as well as prepare her for life beyond public school. I value Bowie's professional staff from the principal down to the counseling staff, teachers, instructional aides, other administrative support staff. Various extracurricular sports are offered, but academics is and should remain the focus. I do have a concern with parental involvement schoolwide and would like to see more PTSA meetings to recruit active parents. My daughter has been blessed at Bowie High School, and I highly recommend students attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

851 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

823 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

719 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

710 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

715 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

715 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

608 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

619 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

623 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

623 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black or African American94%
Asian98%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black or African American81%
Asian95%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Special education25%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%

Science

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black or African American92%
Asian96%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

562 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

796 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

815 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

830 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

664 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

665 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

662 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

809 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

655 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students66%
Female69%
Male64%
Black or African American59%
Asian88%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander80%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special education24%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Black or African American85%
Asian94%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander60%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education46%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students90%
Female92%
Male89%
Black or African American86%
Asian97%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education45%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black or African American64%
Asian85%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education27%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students51%
Female59%
Male46%
Black or African American44%
Asian79%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education6%
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)28%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted46%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students80%
Female83%
Male78%
Black or African American79%
Asian92%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education36%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students53%
Female59%
Male47%
Black or African American45%
Asian77%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education14%
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted49%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black or African American77%
Asian98%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education40%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students79%
Female76%
Male81%
Black or African American74%
Asian90%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education31%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students69%
Female64%
Male73%
Black or African American63%
Asian83%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education31%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 36% 13%
Hispanic 33% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 4%
White 13% 29%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 11%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • BILL MANLEY
Fax number
  • (817) 472-4444

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 Highbank Drive
Arlington, TX 76018
Phone: (682) 867-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Newcomer Center
Arlington, TX


Seguin High School
Arlington, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT