Advertisement
Advertisement

Pantego Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 845 students

Students who are impassioned and prepared to fulfill God’s call in all aspects

 
 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 21 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

92 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2006

The high school is a mess. The turnover rate of the high school is very high due to the serious problems that exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

My daughter attended the 1 yr old Mother's day out class with Ms Lucas. I was a new mom and very nervous to leave my baby for the first time (ever) and was very impressed with the way Ms Lucas dotes on the babies. Once my daughter got comfortable I felt very at ease leaving her there two 1/2 days a week. It was an amazing experience for our family and we look forward to many more years at PCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

Great School, my daughter who attends Kindagarten loves it there. I found it has a family quality that other private schools I visited did not have. I feel very comfortable leaving my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Excellent, Christ-centered school. High parent involvement. All sorts of sports available, including swimming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

My son loves PCA. He is a 7th grader. I don't actually find the academics very challenging, but he made instant friends and is nurtured by his teachers. The arts program is weak. Sports is the main focus, but that is true of most private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Pantego - Junior High and High School have numerous problems and what has unfortunately happened is that teachers are without restrictions or guidance and the principal is only interested in atheletics. The teachers can act, behave, and do whateve they want without recourse - and this is a Christian School - unfortunately several teachers are without Christian morals. They needs to clean house - they have and continue to have families withdraw and with good reason and concerns. A Christian school that is so based on material items and 'money', 'money', if you are a family of wealth and have 'money' then you will be welcomed with open arms - school is very political - it is not a good school - sorry our children ever attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

Pantego is a graet school. It is, however, very costly to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Nice school with great children. My advice is to belong to the moms prayer group. The leadership seems to try to keep up the Christian Morals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

I have 2 children attending this school, the oldest is in 5th grade and has been there since Pre-K. We have always been pleased with the teachers, staff, and curriculum (Saxon phonics & math). Best of all is the Christian (non-denominational) environment throughout the school. There is access to a good choice of extra-curricular programs like swimming, karate, and private music lessons. PCA is in the beginning stages of expanding/upgrading the facilities although the environment is pleasant and nurturing now. PCA recognizes that partnering with parents is so important and they expect plenty of parent involvement. They offer many ways to get involved. As with all private schools, fund raising is very important. Unfortunately the cost of sending 2 kids there has become more than we can afford and that is the ONLY reason we are looking for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

This is a pretty good Christian school. However, the grammar program is known for its weakness. The students do not graduate with the grammar and writing skills necessary for college. They do have a great Bible program though. They had a wonderful theater arts program last year, but I heard the theater teacher left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

My daughter has been at PCA for 5 yrs. We are very pleased overall. We feel she is getting a good education and is in a place that is safe. We feel the teachers are very caring and competent. PCA has a number of things to offer and we plan to have her there for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

We transferred our first and fifth grader here from a public school that was rated 'exemplary,' but wasn't in many respects. Pantego offers band for fifth grade and up, challenging curriculum, and teachers who intereact within and outside the classroom with their students. Respect for others permeates the atmosphere at Pantego. They also offer an after-school care program on site. Parents and an active part of the school and communication between classroom and parents is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 37%
Hispanic 6% 47%
Black 5% 14%
Asian 4% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jay Pritcher
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-denominational
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (817) 277-6749

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cyberpatriot
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • * One-toOne tablet PC program for high school - only high school in Tarrant County with powerful combination of tablet PC's and DyKnow * CLASS honors track at HS similar to college honors programs * 13 National Merit Scholars in last 5 years, including 5 Finalists, outpacing high schools many times our size. * Strong service and missions focus including mission trips for each high school class (including international trip for Seniors) and Sister School in Sierra Leone (western Africa) * Talented and Gifted Program as well as learning difference classes at elementary level; Learning Support Lab and Specialist at Secondary * Strong parental invovlvement * Covenantal school, which is different from most Christian schools in Metroplex (please see our Philosophy of Education on our web site) * AP and Dual Credit (from 4-year college) courses offered on campus * Strong Bible curriculum focusing on Apologetics in Secondary * Strong Fine Arts programs, including recent State Champions in Band & Art * Strong Athletic program featuring 13 State Championships
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$2000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Summer college prep programs
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 W Park Row Dr
Arlington, TX 76013
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 460-3315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT