Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Burton Adventist Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

I am a former student at Burton. The student races shown in the pie graph are wrong. The majority of students are foreign exchange students, the next being black. There is nothing wrong with that, aside from the pie graph being wrong. I left Burton for many reasons, but mainly because of the hateful and harmful teachings in the high school religion class. The way that hate is being thrust upon these children, in the name of God, is unnacceptable. A teacher's personal opinions on homosexuality should not be the subject of a whole semester. Even if the school thinks that it is wrong to be a homosexual, enforcing the idea on a child that it is evil and a sin to love a person of the same gender could potentially cause great damage to the child's mental and emotional state. I am completely disgusted by how I was treated as a student because of the way I felt towards other girls. The amount of damage that the hateful teachings of the religion teacher caused me to consider taking my own life. Besides all of that, the options for school activites are lacking, as are the options for foreign languages. I have learned more in a year of public school than I did spending six at Burton.


Posted July 14, 2014

I'm a student here at Burton. I feel that the school does show favoritism ,mostly to students with more money. I have noticed that over the years the school is always asking parents for money. I've come from a family that doesn't have as much money as others. I also feel that the principal doesn't have any qualifications to run the school. I have noticed that the school staff hires a lot of their own family members for jobs. Also some of the teachers say things to students that I have felt from experience 'quote' from me about former teacher 'why isn't she smiling'. this made me feel upset that a teacher would even say this to a student. Sometimes I've felt the work is to hard -quote from teacher- I was learning this stuff in college. The Anti-bullying policy doesn't do anything as i've seen in my classroom, there are always people getting left out for recess games.


Posted June 15, 2014

My son attended this school for a short period of time and then I withdrew him. He was reading before he entered Pre-K and I felt his teacher did not try to challenge him. I was dissatisfied with the educational program at his grade level and l felt he was not progressing at this school. . However it was great to send my son to a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

The middle school here is a joke. They tell students is ok to get a D. Anything under 70 should be failing not passing. Any other school it would be. They have an anti bullying policy that is a joke. Considering my son was bullied more then once. He got hurt several times at the school once almost need stitches. The school didn't even call to let me know that he was hurt. Nor did the students that hurt him get in trouble. When i asked the Teacher he said he saw that he had deep cuts and scratches but didn't feel that he needed to do anything about it. The new ipad policy they have is good and bad. They do all work electronically and then they rarely do anything on paper. The bad thing about that he doesn't help them with writing essays and so forth that they will have to do in other schools and/or college. Late work they give them three or 4 weeks to turn in assignements late. I paid money that we didn't have so my son could have a Christian private school education. Instead of going to Ft Worth . However he would have got the exact same education which is really sad. I don't know about the Elementary and/or High School my only experience was with the Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I love the fact that at this school, teachers go out of their way to get to know their students. Teachers are always available to tutor, mentor, and pray with the children at this school. The academics are great and the students are taught strong Christian morals. The smaller class size is an added bonus, allowing teachers to work with students one-on-one. Burton staff members are committed to serving the Lord and helping bring children to the kingdom of God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

As a former parent of multiple students over several years, we were disappointed time and again by the favortism of some of the faculty members. This began with the school board members and was pushed down to the teachers. These same adults spread rumors about students that were not their "favorites" causing multiple issues for those children. As a Seventh-Day Adventist, I am terribly disappointed in this non-Christian like method for running and teaching within a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

As a student, teachers picked favorites. It was great in my elementary years, but they got rid of all the good teachers. They rarely discipline. In sports they only focus on the better players, not the ones who need improvement. It isn't a very good environment for children to learn or do extra circular activities. I remember in junior high looking forward to band. But we rarely had practice. This school has gone downhill over the years and only want money. They don't care about the students.


Posted February 9, 2009

Outstanding Christian Teachers, my daughter loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

As a former student, this school is very unsatisfactory. They favor certian students do to their financial status and their contribution to the school. They care more about where the money is coming from then the well being of their students. When i left this school and went to a pricate school I had to get tutoring to even keep up with what the kids were learning.


Posted February 8, 2006

This school is probably the best value for your educational dollar that you would ever find in private schools in the DFW area. The diversity of the student enrollment mirrors the the ethnic make up of the area. The teachers are involved and caring. There are many venues of communication used by the faculty for the parent. The school website is up today and informative. Every parent has access of uptodate records of each class for their student and the information is secure. There is a great sports program including basketball, baseball, volleyball, soccer and flag football. There is a definite focus on christian values and morality. My son in now in his 9th year at Burton and I am very happy with the results
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2005

The quality of the academic program at Burton is about average compared to other private schools, and his above average when compared to other Seventh Day Adventist schools in this area. The is a good music program in the high school. Sports are also well partioipated in. Overall Burton is a good school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2005

My kids have attended Burton for three years. We have had a tough time with the school. While we like the Christian environment, we feel the leadership and discipline part is low, and the school only caters to the 'middle of the line student', not a gifted one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

My son has attended this shool for 6 years (freshman at present). He has placed in the top 2 % on the Iowa Basic Testing program, place 11th national in math competion and is already receiving recruitment letters from top universities. His class has 60% that rate 5% or higher on national testing. I feel that both scholastic and extracurricular activities are above average for the size of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 30% 31%
Hispanic 29% 51%
Black 25% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 14% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (817) 561-4237

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4611 Kelly Elliott Road
Arlington, TX 76017
Phone: (817) 572-0081

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northstar School
Arlington, TX


Childrens University
Arlington, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT