Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 172 students

We are best known for small student-to-teacher ratio.

 
 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2008

i was from hurrcane katrina i like the school alot but and i wish thatmy children could have stayed at the school but it was alot of money for them to stay there maybe i will bless to put them back in grace i loved that school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

Grace became part of our family 4 years ago and has blessed us daily since. As with all schools there are things that are awesome and things that need work, but the staff and principal go above and beyond to make this school the best. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

The teachers are great, the only thing I think would be that the school secretary not act as though she were better than everyone else. She comes off as being a snob, but I don't think she means to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

Grace is a wonderful, nurturing environment and the teachers are phenomenal! My children have accelerated in several areas, and have tested beyond their current grade levels. We have had a very positive experience and highly recommend Grace!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

This is a very loving and educational place.My 2 children will be looking at Ivy League colleges ,because of the academics and nurturing atmosphere they received at Grace Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

Grace is a stand out Christian school. They offer many extracurricular activities. My children play all the sports programs offered (tennis, track, soccer, basketball, and volleyball). They also excel academically. All the teachers treat every child as their own - with respect and love. I highly recommend Grace Lutheran School. There is a new principal in place this year and he is already doing wonderful things. Come by and check out the school. The low class sizes are a definite plus! My daughter only had 11 children in her Kindergarten class! I believe the low class size at the primary level prepared her for academic success in her later years. Our family loves Grace Lutheran School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

This school will emphasize religion in your childs education, but this school is in dire need of leadership and discipline. Favoritism rules the school. In my opinion this school was highly reguarded a few years agao but has fallen short in all categories over the past few years. There are a few very dedicated teachers but the others are not. I highly recommend the pre-school GLEE, but suggest looking elsewhere for elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2006

I would highly recommend this school to anyone considering a Christian education as well as a highly academic education for their child. My oldest is about to graduate from Grace (8th grade). I also have a 4th grader. Many people have commented on their education. I am also convinced that we are the best kept secret in Arlington. I strongly urge you to check us out. We are just 1 block east of Arlington High School on Park Row Dr. You will not be disappointed. The teaching staff is highly involved in your child's education. Jesus is number one at our school! A very grateful parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

Parents do not enroll your child in grace luthern private school. Take it from a mother who made the mistake! I would strongly urge every parent considering this school for their childs education, to reconsider!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

Our experience at Grace Lutheran School (and the Pre-K) has been wonderful. The Christian environment with sincere & dedicated staff, the emphasis on core knowledge subjects (math, science, reading, etc), and the peace of mind that my kids are safe and loved is priceless. We have nothing but praise for this school and encourage others who read this to check them out. Julie Swink - Mom of 2 kids at Grace Lutheran
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

Grace Lutheran School offers top quality education, in a loving, caring, Christian environment. Teachers and administration provide genuine interest in each child, and make every effort to provide the widest range of opportunities available to them through music, art, computer science and accelerated math programs. Extracurricular activities include Science Adventures, GoToFocus and athletics. Mutually supportive parent-teacher relations are fostered by a topnotch association (Parent Teacher League), which conducts regular meetings and fundraisers to supplement school needs - In fact, the PTL secured and installed new playground equipment last autumn. With the addition of 7th grade in 2004-05, my son is in his eighth year at Grace. I'm convinced this vibrant and growing educational community is the best kept secret in D/FW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

Grace Lutheran is a Christian based elementary school where kids are more advance in their education especially in math. Class sizes are small which means the kids get lots of attention and love. They have great teachers and lots of parent involvement. My child has gone there for 5 years and loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 31%
Hispanic 14% 51%
Black 7% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steve Stigler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LSAC
Fax number
  • (817) 277-9353

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • We have been successful in a unique academic competition, Destination Imagination, a creative problem-solving tournament that emphasizes innovation and teamwork.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arlington ISD High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

308 West Park Row Drive
Arlington, TX 76010
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 274-1654

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Carter J High School
Arlington, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT