Advertisement
Advertisement

Grace Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 172 students

We are best known for small student-to-teacher ratio.

 
 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

Grace Lutheran has been an absolute blessing to my child's life and education. It is a place where true learning takes place through multi-disciplinary methods of teaching. The students do projects, experiments, go on field trips... I just watched my son perform in a play as a culmination of a academic unit. As you walk in the building, you can feel the love for teaching from the teachers and the excitement for learning from the kids. Love for our Christ and Savior is demonstrated through the respect that the teachers have for the students and parents. It is also shown in the kindness that the students have for each other. Grace Lutheran is an excellent education in the heart of Arlington that has a heart for the children of Arlington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

Grace Lutheran is a great school. My children attended pre-school and kindergarten, which were fantastic programs but due to financial hardship, I enrolled them in a charter school last year. Although it was an okay time for them, as children are more resilient, it was the longest year of my life! I brought them back to GLS and it literally felt like we were all home again. Teachers and staff are totally engaged and I cannot say enough about the love, patience and most of all, the top notch education at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

Love Grace Lutheran. Small class sizes and big expectations are a perfect fit for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

I love that the class are small and my child gets individual attention that they need! The teachers and staff are loving and caring to the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My child is happy and excited to go to school every day, a real change, believe me, from public school. Grace is providing a quality, affordable christian education and I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

My son and I toured several schools, they all seemed to be great. He and I discussed the ones he liked . He said : the one with the trees ( atrium ), he said : it made me feel happy. Miss Michelle, and Mrs. Ott gave us our tour, and I know he felt their kindness. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the love, care, and patience the entire staff has for, not just my child, but ALL the children. Thank you for helping him to excel in his educaton, raise his self esteem, and letting him know he belongs. Blessing him him to know, and grow with our lord and Savior! And Mrs. Taylor, I can't wait for the school plays this year! ! I am thankful for every staff member at GSL! I can never thank you enough ! We were truly blessed to find this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

I LOVE this school! The teachers really love the kids and it truly is a family atmosphere. My daughter has been here since she was four years old and has gone all the way through 8th grade here. There are so many ways a child should grow and Grace Lutheran really embraces the child to help them acheive more than just academics. The kids are so confident in their individual skills by the time they go to high school. What a blessing this school has been!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

This school loves KIDS!They are one big family! Your child's self esteem will grow along with his academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

My son has attended Grace Lutheran School for a year and a half now (K-1st) and he has flourished. The teachers are extremely well-prepared and nurture the students individually as well as aptly coordinating an entire class. The school has implemented an accelerated math program in which the students are working up at least one grade level in math (more if the student is interested and capable). They also mix in plenty of field trips which makes the school year much more exciting for the students (and parents who go along). Every year Grace Lutheran School offers an unique academic called "Destination Imagination" in which K-8 grade can opt to participate, it is a wonderful program and Grace excels at this, with teams medalling at the regional competition in the last five years. My son, who is an extremely energetic and inquisitive child loves to go to school and often begs to stay in after school care. While he would no doubt struggle in a public school with large class sizes, he excels in the small, Christian-oriented classrooms. The tuition is affordable (for private school) as well. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

My child has learned more at Glee in the last 8 months than she ever did at any other 'day care' setting. Plus she gets to learn the value of God's love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

All I can say is what a blessing this school is to each child that enters the doors. They educate and love each child. Thank you Grace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

I just had to respond to a negative comment on here. My family went through a horrible life changing situation and the Grace staff and faculty stepped up and got my family through not only spiritually, but even financially. Grace not only educates my children to their fullest potential, but also loves them as if they were their own. I can never say more about the love I have found for myself and my children. Thank you Grace!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

The staff is entirely corrupt and money hungry, making decisions solely on the matter of gain or loss. Don't send your kids to a school that teaches one thing and lives another.


Posted December 3, 2009

Our 2 children have attended Grace since before Kindergarten - over 5 years now, and they are both excelling not only academically, but also spiritually. Teaching and life lessons occur not only in the classroom, but at lunchtime, on the playground etc. How to treat others and respect for others are woven in the very fabric of the school. My children have so many opportunities at this school to learn and grow...band, sports, art, theater, academic and creative problem solving competitions. It's a great school with a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

My son had previously attended a different daycare and we were absolutely dissatisfied with his treatment there. When he came to Grace, it didn't take him long to get used to being left there, and a lot of that had to do with the Director, Mrs. Ott. The teachers there are wonderful and give each child individual attention. I'm very glad that we found this school and that it has been a very positive experience for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

Grace has been such a huge part of my children's life. Grace has exceptional teachers that not only educate but love my children dearly. I have children both at GLEE (13mnths-4yrs) and the school (k-8th). The new principal is making such positive changes and creating an atmosphere of positive, christian learning. I love Grace and recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

I have been a parent at the Grace Lutheran school system - both Preschool (GLEE) and elementary school (GLS) for 8 years and could not ask for more! I have three children in the program and they are well above the norm in academics, and they know they are loved from the teachers and staff. I would (and frequently do) recommend Grace to anyone looking for a quality Christian education or something more personalized than a public school. The price is very reasonable - especially considering the benefits! If you need a school for your child go check out the Grace Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

We are sooooo blessed to have found Grace Lutheran School! They teachers and staff are dedicated, patient and caring. The curriculum is awesome. The small student to teacher ratio has definitely played a major role in the success of our children. My daughter attended GLEE and will b e in their PreK next year and our son will be in the 1st grade. We would highly recommend this school to any parent concerned about their child being in a nurturing educational environment that emphasizes the importance of God in your life to the students. Go Saints!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

My son attended PK-3 and PK-4 here and he absolutely loved it. The staff was caring and attentive and provided a well-rounded education. As he is about to enter kindergarten, I am amazed at how well he reads already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

Grace has blessed my family for many years. The education is outstanding and I would recommend this school to all. The new principal has brought this school fresh new life and it is exciting to be part of the tremendous things going on at Grace Lutheran.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 37%
Black 15% 14%
Hispanic 12% 47%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steve Stigler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LSAC
Fax number
  • (817) 277-9353

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • We have been successful in a unique academic competition, Destination Imagination, a creative problem-solving tournament that emphasizes innovation and teamwork.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arlington ISD High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

308 W Park Row
Arlington, TX 76010
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 274-1654

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT