Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Oakridge School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2009

This is an excellent smaller private school. the academics are very good and students regularly receive a significat number of scholarship opportunities. The focus is not on athletics programs, though the school is trying to address this with plans for additional facilities. The positive is that your child will be a big fish in a small pond. They can play on almost any team as opposed to not being on a team at all or sitting on the bench. The same goes for the charges of nepotism and political administration - you can be active in the school and that will be rewarded or sit on the sidelines and complain about others having their sway. Our children are smart and would do well at any school. At Oakridge, they have had the opportunity to go to school in a safe environment and be treated as individuals with truly caring teachers, administrators, parents, and
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My daughter has attended Oakridge for two years. As a past public school teacher of 11 years, I can honestly say that Oakridge has an outstanding academic curriculum that is accelerated that truly prepares their students for college. The math curriculum in the Lower School is the same curriculum I used to teach gifted/talented students and a large DFW school district. The teacher turn over rate is slim to none while most of the teachers have been at Oakridge for over 20 years plus. While most private school say they are a college prep school, Oakridge walks the walk. I am confident that my daughter will be fully prepared and will have her choice of colleges to choose from. The teachers and administration know the students first hand and are dedicated to ensuring student success. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

My children went to Oakridge for many years. The academic programs are severely lacking. The math program is especially detrimental, and a writing program is basically nonexistent. The administration is very unresponsive when you question the validity of their academic programs and testing results. Nepotism prevails. Tons of homework which is basically busy work for the parent, with no benefit to the students academic development and test score results. The public school we now attend is more responsive than this expensive low quality choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

I love this school the academics are pretty bad but other wise it is a challenging nurturing environment!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2007

This school is very excellent. There is a strong emphasis in academics and good conduct. The teachers are very caring and very good at their subjects. I have two children and I drive 45 minutes each way everyday. There are many others like me. The children get high scores in standardized tests (Stanford, ISEE, and SAT in 7th grade), good grades in class, and are glad to go to this school. The administration makes it fun for the kids with so many activities and events. Sports is not emphasized, but there are enough variety for them to choose and take seriously. The principal is not popular for various reasons, but he does not really deal with the children. It's the Lower School head, Middle School Head, and the Upper School Head who really seem to know the kids and the kids love them. Great diversity also so everyone fits in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

I love going to my school. If students are lacking in a subject our teachers will help us. 5th grade to 9th grade is an annual class field trip. I am in the 6th grade and in a few days I am going on our class trip to MO Ranch in Hunt, Texas. We are staying there for two nights. Last year we went to Camp Grady Sprouse which was very fun and I am so excited about our class trip. I have been attending Oakridge for eight years. I have learned Spanish since I got there. In 5th grade they provide us with a new language French. That is if we want to take it. And in 6th grade we also learn Latin. In High School you can also pick Japanese. The teachers there are very educated. I think Oakridge is a good school in my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2007

There are some excellent teachers at Oakridge. Power structure is extremely political. Reputation of the school is paramount to administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

Our family has experienced each division first hand over the years. The Oakridge School s reputation as an educational leader in North Texas continues to rise because of the strong and consistent leadership, a commitment to improving the facilities, and its investment in the faculty. Both alumni and parents continue to support the school to ensure that the mission and its benefits are passed on to the current student body, faculty, and local community as well as to future generations. The school s mission and honor code is affirmed even beyond the traditional school day. The administration is fair and thoughtful in its actions. Some of the criticism comes from a lack of understanding of the independent school philosophy of individualism. If you want policy and procedures you will be disappointed. If you want a partnership with individual attention you will love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

Teachers in the high school are incredible. They have many years of experience and are very well qualified in their fields. Principal and administration leadership, not so great. Focused more on the tuition dollar and meeting the best interests of the school rather than the student. No opportunity for parental involvement once your child reaches high school - that is unless you have deep pockets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

Fantastic school, individual attention, really try to get the most from each student. Well rounded curriculum including all core subjects as well as fine arts. Parent involvement is outstanding. Administration and teachers are very responsive to parents. Very welcoming and nurturing without the usual private school snootiness. With new purchase of land across the street, the expansion of scholastic and athletic facilities is very exciting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

Academic quality is amazing. It truly lives up to the college preparatory name. Good extracurricular activities available in fine arts, sports programs in place but not stellar, clubs and organizations are lacking and inactive. Parent involvement is high. Some teachers are absolutely amazing, but others don't measure up. Good school for one on one attention.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 17, 2006

This school offers excellent academics. However, the power structure is extremely political. Parents that donate a lot of money to the school tend to get whatever they want. Administrators do not always support teachers. They will often go with whatever the parent asks to be done, even if it alienates the teacher. That being said, overall Oakridge is a good school. Students get more individualized attention and behavior issues are almost non-existent.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 1, 2006

Good school - Sports could be better - Cheerleading is poor and currently has bad/biased sponsorship - Caring teachers- Good Art/ Choir/ Theatre Arts Programs. High Security.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2006

When advertised to be a college prep school, this school lives up to its word. Oakridge allows a wide range of activities for its students, but it is still not the golden bullet. While the counselor and various of teachers are superb, it still has its snags. The lack of variety in student groups may lead to your child not being able to fit in. Not all teachers are good. The courses offered are definitely limited - because of the small size of the school. Typical class size hovers around 50 people - so in all, about 200 students attend the Upper School. Common public school characteristics such as band, orchestra, a good football team, silver stars, swimming, are all lacking or nonexistent. The sports department generally falls behind because of the school's emphasis for academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2005

Great school for parents who want their child to be in a more diverse private school. High test scores, caring community, and teachers spend alot of time with students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2005

Great school. Private school without the stuffy atmosphere. Very family oriented. Good diversity amongst the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 37%
Black 9% 14%
Hispanic 4% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa Grubb
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (817) 457-6681

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5900 W Pioneer Pkwy
Arlington, TX 76013
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 451-4994

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Handley Middle School
Fort Worth, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT