Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Arlington, TX
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Oakridge School 2

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
We overpaid for a sub par experience there. The school is way behind in technology. One can get more for their money at other schools in the area. The quality of teaching continues to get weaker. Hiring newer teachers in order to pay less. Everything about the school involves the need for money. Headmaster is out of touch and makes poor decisions. It was a great school until the current headmaster took over. Very heavy on admin. and office folks. Not one national merit finalist last year (2015). Bullying, drugs,happen like any other school. The more money you donate, the better your child is treated. Athletic director has free reign and not in a good way. You can do better in this area for your money. The current website reflects the lack of technology. Lots of mistakes on it. Chauvenism abounds among athletics. Ask newer alumni (last 5 years), would you spend that amount for this school, for your child? I can promise it will be mostly negative responses for many reasons.

The Oakridge School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Oakridge has some of the very best teachers in the world. As anywhere, there are a few that are lacking in comparison but very few.


The Oakridge School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
It is important for students to learn balance and they work on that. My child had an issue in 7th grade and the administration was quick to act and help.

The Oakridge School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Our students learn to have balance with rigorous academics and athletic / extra curricular activities. The arts are phenomenal. I wish we were more competitive in sports but for serious athletes they have a great showcase for their talents.

The Oakridge School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The Honor Code is a guiding force for all students in MS and US. Cheating and problems occur but the students know they are going to be help accountable and we parents (for the most part :)) support it.


The Oakridge School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The Owl Families is a program that focuses on the caring nature of the school.

The Oakridge School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The character education program that my child received while in the middle school was simply amazing. They had year studies of the Ultimate Gift, Energy Bus, Chicken Soup for the Soul and more.

The Oakridge School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
The Oakridge School is an amazing school community where students are the focus. The Learn 21 program paired with passionate teachers is incredible. If you want a life changing experience for your children, choose Oakridge.


The Oakridge School 3

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
Before I began writing this review I scrolled down and read all the other comments below going back to 2009 I believe. I can honestly say things have deteriorated over the last couple of years. The ECC and Lower School do have pretty good programs I do agree with the review regarding the Everyday Math Program. That is not a reflection of the teachers though, that's a reflect of administration. The middle school for my first child was fine. I felt he had good quality instruction. Middle school athletics was a joke though. Middle school for my youngest was a NIGHTMARE! The Middle school has a serious problem with bullying and do little to nothing to stop it. If your child needs any kind of accommodations good luck! I had issues with one English teacher who chose to not do them. It was at that time that we pulled our youngest and left our oldest. By then my oldest was in the High School. Freshman year was a total joke. Geometry, English and Spanish teachers HORRIBLE! My son got nothing out of Geometry and showed on his ACT/SAT. Sophmore year was better, Chemistry instruction was lacking but that instructor has since been replaced.

The Oakridge School 5

Posted April 19, 2015
- a student
Oakridge has helped shape who I am today. As a junior, I started at Oakridge in Preschool, and I have been given so many opportunities. I take 4 AP classes this year, and I am in the choir and play three sports. Because of the great preparation I have had at Oakridge, I am ready to start the college application process next fall, and I know I am very prepared. All Oakridge graduates go on to four year universities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Oakridge School
5900 W Pioneer Pkwy, Arlington, TX  76013
(817) 451-4994
Last modified The Oakridge School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Oakridge School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top