Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Arlington, TX

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Oakridge School 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
This school has made all the difference in the world for my child. It provides the very best curriculum with loving teachers to help any child succeed. In only three years I can give countless examples of superior service and outstanding treatment by amazing professionals. My son has been able to thrive in academics, as well, have new opportunities in Athletics and the Arts. No comparison to our previous experiences at one of the "best" school districts in the state. We were so impressed from our first tour of the Middle School and the amazing administration and faculty. The ability to transition into a cohesive Upper School that is preparing my son for College complete with College Advising office is mind boggling. Best decision we have ever made for our family. Go see for yourself.

The Oakridge School 1

Posted March 09, 2014
- a community member
I attended the Oakridge school a few years ago. The bullying issue is outstanding and the administration does little to nothing about it, in fact sometimes they just make it worse. The amount of PDA at oakridge is disgusting (in the high school) and it's hardly noticed, but when friends merely HUG it's frowned upon. The upper school also has a serious drug problem, 2 students were expelled my senior year alone for drugs, and many others sell ADHD medication that they don't need. A few of the teachers are AMAZING (senior english, theater, french, and the middle school science teachers) but the rest are just warm bodies, almost like substitutes. It's a lot of busy work! School only provides good "connections" for those it cares about (the ones with the most money). Honestly there are way better private (and public) schools out there.


The Oakridge School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is amazing! I love the fact that I can be involved in so much from sports to musical theater (We are awesome!). The teachers are real people who care and help you. I love being an Owl and can't imagine a better school.

The Oakridge School 5

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
My children have attended this school since Preschool (age 3) and are so far above their peers at other schools that it is amazing. My daughter, who is a junior, recently received a call from one of her friends at another are school who needed help writing a thesis statement. What?! Oakridge students learn how to write and research in Lower School. By the time they are in Middle School, writing research papers and presenting their findings to peers is just a normal part of their experience. Also, with the school's new Learn21 program, Oakridge is way ahead of the technology curve when it comes to giving students the skills they need to be responsible digital citizens, as well as sticking with traditional values and skills. I think the negative reviews here on this website do not represent the majority opinion. These parents are out of touch with what is going on at the school.

The Oakridge School 1

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
My 11th son studying here and i have plan to move him out,the tution is too expensive and not equipvalent with the service or teaching quality.Don't let your kid in here or you will regret


The Oakridge School 1

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
The Oakridge School is a very poor educational facility. The academics are consistently interrupted by scheduling meaningless activities for the during class time, such as "Family Time". This is particularly true in the middle and high school level. Rarely is there a full week of instructional time. While there are a few good teachers there, most are not. They don't have any classroom control and they don't care about teaching which is evident in how they interact with their students. The administrators turn a blind eye to problems in the school and pretend it is wonderful. I would doubt they have had any prior experience or educational training for their positions. Lots of bullying and out of control students. The athletics are substandard. The teams can't compete with other schools in their conference. The facilities of both the classrooms and gyms are poor. What other school uses their cafeteria for a gym that charges close to 20K a year for tuition. Anyone considering this school is wasting their child's education along with their money. Before sending your child here compare it to other private schools to see what you are not going to get from Oakridge.

The Oakridge School 2

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
Thanks to the parent for insight into the math curriculum that Oakridge uses. I now realize why my child's math scores are dropping every year. I can't understand why they would continue to use a math program that so many states have dropped, especially Texas. Now I wonder about the curriculums for the other subjects? Inflated daily grades but low standardize test scores seem to be the norm for Oakridge. Public schools suffer with No Child Left Behind. Oakridge suffers with No Child Let Ahead!

The Oakridge School 3

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
The Oakridge School of Arlington does have some excellent teachers but others are just a warm body. I would not let my child attend middle school there due to meeting some of the teachers at events away from the school and hearing reports about lack of respect and morals and bullying occurring in the middle school. Due to lack of a nonreglious private high school in Arlington our child did transfer for high school that was the only choice. But, since my child was not a "sporty" kid their was a feeling of being the odd one. There are honors classes and ap classes but since many universities are not accepting ap awards (my child's public instate university did not accept a 5 on ap history exam as an example) dual credit would be a better choice but is not even given any thought having so many ap courses offered looks good in the brochure. My child was discouraged from going to a local college in the summer and was told that Oakridge would not accept any dual credit coures.


The Oakridge School 2

Posted June 09, 2013
- a parent
Oakridge could be a great school but the Lower School insists on using EveryDay Math for grades 1 to 5. In the State of Texas, EDM is not allowed in ANY 3rd grade classroom. EDM is an example of reform/fuzzy" math programs. College professors say these programs leave out important topics, don't teach fluency in arithmetic, & ignore the parts of math that are formal & abstract. This will harm students who want to go into science, medicine, engineering & other fields requiring rigorous college math. Other students won't even develop basic math literacy because reform math programs are confusing & don't offer enough practice. When you Google EDM you will realize your child has become a victim of Fuzzy Math, the dumbed-down, politically correct math. These are math problems in the 5 grade EDM textbook: A. If math were a color, it would be , because . B. If it were a food, it would be , because . C. If it were weather, it would be , because . Many have tried to the seemingly futile task of waking up other parents and fighting the Oakridge edu-cracy to restore a rigorous math curriculum but with no success.

The Oakridge School 5

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
My son has gone to Oakridge since he was four. He s now in middle school. We've enjoyed the care and quality of teaching staff, academic rigor, the life lessons through an encompassing educational experience, and a broad based curriculum with diverse students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Oakridge School
5900 W Pioneer Pkwy, Arlington, TX  76013
(817) 451-4994
Last modified The Oakridge School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Oakridge School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top