Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jean Massieu Academy 1

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
Awful teachers, low test scores, dirty building. Should shut down immediately. I see teachers smoking outside and screaming at kids all the time.

Jean Massieu Academy 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter is not deaf or hard of hearing and she loves coming home and showing me new sign languages she has learned from her teacher. She was shy and now I can not get her to stop talking. She loves this school and her Pre-K teacher.


Jean Massieu Academy 5

Posted September 05, 2011
- a teacher
JMA was originally chartered to serve deaf and hard of hearing students, their hearing siblings, and was also open to all other students under the open enrollment charter school policy. Today, JMA teaches a diverse population consisting of approximately 10% deaf students, a wide ethnic population, and encompasses PreK through Grade 12. Deaf students are served by hearing teachers, many of whom are proficient in American Sign Language. The deaf students are also served by a certified interpreter. On campus, there are 14 teachers, one of whom is deaf and teaches American Sign Language to Middle School and High School students. Small class sizes and caring teachers make JMA an ideal setting for Middle School and High School students who would benefit from violence free and drug free atmosphere. Great school. Wonderful accepting teachers.

Jean Massieu Academy 4

Posted June 19, 2011
- a community member
I'm trying to enroll, but I see comments that say the many teachers are deaf. And I also see that the students operate with sign language, so do I need to learn sign language? Is this school only for the deaf/hard-of-hearing?

Jean Massieu Academy 0
no rating

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
My Daughter Crystal Tercero Graduated from JMA they Challenged her she graduated with honors and top 10 percent of her class and valid victorian this school is very good with deaf children now im looking forward to my 2 grandchildren vito and lucas attending asap. Thank you JMA From Sylvia Tercero


Jean Massieu Academy 4

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jean Massieu Academy 4

Posted November 04, 2006
- a parent
JMA is an excellent school. The 'can do' attitude which is apparent and expected of all students is what makes this school exceptional. The teachers and administration really care about the students and have gone above and beyond their 'duties' as educators to become mentors, advocates and friends of each student. No children are left behind in academics or in communication. Everyone is encouraged to sign. I have seen students that have come in with very little comprehension and ablity flourish and become fluent in a few months. I highly recommend this school to deaf or hard of hearing students in the area and their family members that find it necessary to communicate and interact with the deaf community. Ms. Jackson is doing a fantastic job as administrator.

Jean Massieu Academy 5

Posted February 15, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Jean Massieu Academy 4

Posted June 19, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jean Massieu Academy 4

Posted August 20, 2004
- a parent
We are happy with our son's school. All instruction is in ASL and written English. Many teachers are deaf; several are male. Our son has complete access to all discussions everywhere in the school. He never has to put up with getting the 'gist' of the lesson, he never appears stupid in class because the interpreter doesn't understand his fingerspelling. He sees adult deaf men who have college degrees and become teachers. He sees hearing people who respect deaf students and are fluent in sign language. He sees deaf people who care enough and had enough power to start and run a school because they weren't happy with the status quo. He's learning about how deaf people really live in the world. He's getting a good education. Teachers understand exactly how to teach deaf children; for example, that you have to show and then tell. He is never babied because he's deaf.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jean Massieu Academy
823 North Center Street, Arlington, TX  76011
(817) 460-0396
Last modified Jean Massieu Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jean Massieu Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top