Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Classics Academy - Primary School

Charter | K-2 | 532 students

Accelerated math and reading curriculum
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2012

When a school expands and opens a new campus, there are roadblocks and glitches along the way. However, ACA's staff and parents work extremely hard to uphold the standards and traditions that have made it such an incredible school. Whichever campus your child is on, they are receiving a high quality education from a dedicated team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

This is our 4th year attending this school. As of the 2011-2012 school year, there are now two campuses, the Arkansas (original) & Bowen (new) campus with K-8th grade. This is a private school/college preparatory education with no tuition. The success is attributed to the previous director of education at the Arkansas campus, dedicated teachers, plentiful parental involvement and wonderful students. In addition to the high classical style education, it offers numerous extracurricular activities & fee-based after school care. The Bowen campus was previously under the leadership of a new director of education who was lowering the standards of the school, but has recently been replaced with a new director. The frowned upon 50% minimum grade policy has been REMOVED. Also a new superintendent has been hired to oversee both campuses to make sure that the high academic standards are maintained. The waiting list for this school is notorious for being high. I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants a high quality, challenging & rigorous education for their child & save the thousands of dollars of expense of a private school tuition. Your tax dollars are paying for it anyway!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2012

I have a 2nd grader at Bowen Campus and we are very happy there. I don't understand someone from Arkansas stating Parents not welcome at Bowen. That is a completely False statement! I love my child's teachers and all the other staff. They are all great w/my child and my child is extremely happy here. The curriculum is still very challenging for us and it is a heck of alot more than what we would be learning in public school. Love ACA Bowen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

I agree the Arkansas Campus is Great my daughter is in 1st grade and her teacher is fantastic. The teaching of reading, math, and memorizing of poems teach my child to succeed and I am very happy with the curriculum also. The parent involvement is amazing, it has and always will be welcomed here with no restrictions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

Arkansas campus is following tradition of the Original Foundation I am so happy my child attends this campus. Both campuses do need to come together as one school and follow the same curriculum or the Bowen campus will not succeed. I am giving the stars based on the Arkansas campus alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

My son just started the Bowen Campus of ACA, 2nd grade. Yes, there is some confusion and growing pains, as I anticipated with any new campus. But the teachers are dedicated, they unapologetically teach to the expected academic level, whille helping students who were not so fortunate as to be ACA educated in 1st grade. I am delighted. No complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

My 2 Kids go to Bowen Campus just I want to say is a wonderful school parents and teachers work toguether for the students is constantly communication, thats why is rate 9.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

The thing to remember is the terrifc education that your children receive at ACA. The new campus is lovely and the Bowen staff are learning how to better "work" with the buildings everyday!!! They are committed to an accelerated curriculum, high educational standards and focusing on the academic achievement of the students. Every new endeavor has growing pains - accept it and instead focus on ALL that is good!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

My son is very happy attending Arlington Classics Academy. We are very happy with the direction the teachers take and the education he is receiving. We are also excited that they have added 7th and 8th on as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

Something is drastically wrong with the math program in third and fourth grade. Can't something be done?


Posted September 28, 2010

This school is wonderful. The classical education my children recieve along with a strong teacher, parent relationship is tops.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

My son has just finished seven wonderful years at ACA. He started his first day of kindergarten there, and graduated from 6th grade last Tuesday night. We are so sad ACA does not have a 7th grade yet, but we are so thankful to Mr. Simon, and all of the staff at ACA for making my son's elementary school years memorable, both academically, and socially. We highly recommend Arlington Classics Academy to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This is a great and academically challenging school. My sons have learned so much and grown so much with the caring staff. I would strongly recommend this school to parents who want to prepare their children for future academic success as well as college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I graduated in 2009. The school is great, & I had a great experience. The school has gotten a lot harder than when I started. The school requires a lot of parent participation, & since of the higher education level, there is a lot more homework than public schools. There are parker uniforms, & and other rules about shoes, socks, belts, leggings, free dress day, etc. I gave this school a 4 instead of a five, because of certain teachers I personally was not a fan of, & some other students would agree. Over all it is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2010

ACA has yet to disappoint us. I am so pleased with how my kindergartener's year has gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

ACA is top notch! You cannot go wrong with the exemplary model they have achieved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

ACA is an AWESOME school. We have a higher class of children with less discipline problems. We teach a grade ahead in some subjects. Our parents love to volunteer. We receive a ton of communication from our teachers and other staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Arlington Classics Academy is an accelerated school in which students are immersed in history, science, math, art, spanish and specials. My children love this school and can't wait to go back after summer break. The parents are very involved as well and Mr. Simon is incredible. He cares for each of the children. They all feel special in his eyes. Thank you for the opportunity to brag about our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

The teachers are caring, the administration responsible, the principle involved, the curriculum challenging and well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

This school cares about its stufents the teachers want to see them be the best they can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 29%
Black 22% 13%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TEA Exemplary Rating (2013)
  • TEA Exemplary Rating (2012)
  • TEA Exemplary Rating (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Janna Allen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (817) 274-8768

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • ACA is an open enrollment public charter school that offers an accelerated curriculum. The students participate in Spanish, Music and Art instruction beginning in Kindergarten. ACA uses a classical education style of teaching based on the trivium and supplements the state curriculum (TEKS) with the Core Knowledge Sequence (www.coreknowledge.org).
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arlington Classics Academy Intermediate School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 W. Arkansas Lane
Arlington, TX 76013
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 274-2008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Flint Academy
Pantego, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT