Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kenneth Davis Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 623 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

My daughter has attended Davis since Kindergarten. She is now a 3 grader Kenneth Davis is a great school with a strong principal leadership. all teachers very friendly The teachers have been so helpful and everybody makes you feel welcome. They care about the all the kids..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

good school great Principle.vice Principle & great all the teachers, and even the very nice lady ( Maria )in the front office.they all so helpful and everybody makes you feel welcome. They care about the all the kids.. noticed! Much LOVE for Keneneth Elementary! Sincerely, a very thankful parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I am a proud parent at Kenneth Davis Elementary School. I have two children one in PreJudice and the other in 2nd grade. The teachers are so genuine and thoughtful. My children always look forward to going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

My school is Kenneth Davis Elementary. I have been part of this school for many years with having children at different ages and I can not even think about going to a different school. The teachers do care about the kids education so much and also want to make sure its a fun enviroment too. They play music before the morning bell, they have their own news tv network where the 4th graders do the "school news" each morning, and a new vice prinicipal who brings a new joy with him. With carnivals, programs for us parents, and parties for the holidays too, my children love going to school. It's hard to get them to leave each afternoon because they have to talk and hug, it seems, everyone goodbye. I'm always greeted with smiles and hellos by office staff and if I ever need to speak with anyone, including the principal, I am welcomed and my questions are wanting to be answered. There is no place other than this school for my children. I will be so sad when it is finally time to finish up here but my children will have so many great memories because of Kenneth Davis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I sooooo love this school and my daughter loves it as well!!! Mrs. Vornin was her teacher she was GREAT/ AWESOME/ INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!! That was her first year there and she will be going back there 2012-2013 school year!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

My daughter has attended Davis since Kindergarten. She is now a fourth grader and will be moving on. We will be sad to leave this school. The staff has become like a second family. They are very caring and want good things for the children. They want them to learn, but to have discipline as well. It is about making the children believe in themselves and encouraging them to do well. I have interacted with alot of the staff and have only found a couple of teachers that were detached from the children. Overall this school is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

My two nieces go to this school and they always tell me that they love this school. They love everyone there. They tell me how great the teachers, principal and even the very nice lady in the front office. :) I am in California currently but will be moving to Texas to be closer to my family. My daughter is one and I can't wait to enroll her in this school.


Posted February 2, 2012

Kenneth Davis Elementary School is great. I have had 1 grandson graduate and 1 still going to school there. The education they have recieved there thanks to the teachers, all the office staff and yes even the crossing guard has been fantastic. My grandson has to stop to talk to everyone each day because he feels so loved. I would not want my grand children going in any other school.


Posted February 2, 2012

I never write comments on public posts. I am weary about referring people anywhere BUT, I have to say, Kenneth Elem. is too amazing NOT to write about it! I would have NO hesitation to refer ANY parent to this school. I have 5 kids that have been in different school systems. This school BY FAR has been the most accomodating to the challenges my kids face. I have a child with severe ADHD and the school has been incredible with him. They cater to HIS specific needs and REALLY care. My other children look forward to going to school because of the staff and caring teachers. I CAN'T tell you enough how much that means to a parent. A GREAT BIG thank you to everyone there who do their jobs with such passion! It warms my heart that someone can love my kids almost as much as I do! I don't know WHERE we would be without your continued support, especially to me THE PARENT! Thumbs UP! I wish there was a way to show you how much you mean but I figured by writing about how I felt about the school MAY show you that your efforts DON'T go un-noticed! Much LOVE for Keneneth Elem! Sincerely, A VERY thankful parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

I don't know where to really begin, it seems that everything about Kenneth Davis Elementary School upsets me. My husband and I recently purchased our first home in this neighborhood two years ago. Thinking that MISD would be better than AISD. I wish I would have sent me son to Martin High School fed schools, I regret the purchase of my house and plan on selling it because I have no attachments to this school and my son has had nothing but issues with being LABELED ADHD by his kindergarten teacher as well as the Asst. Principal Ms Williams. Their response is medicate him, because they can only teach to the "medium". Is this why I pay 20% more school taxes than Arlington ISD on my house???? I can also say that many times the lady who is the receptionist acts as if she hates her job when I have interacted with her, or maybe she just doesn't like me BECAUSE she lost my son's school paperwork twice? Ms Williams is not the best to interact with either. Also highly recommend checking other parents opinions before sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

My son has attended Davis Elementary for the past three years. The teachers he has had and curently have are excellent. They do not push a liberal agenda (Imagine that!) and teach indiviual responsibility. They are not affraid to dicipline a child when necessary. It's too bad the school only goes to 4th grade. Next year will be my son's last year at Davis. But I knnow he has been given the proper foundation and education he needs to succede in junior high and high school and college. Thank You to all teachers and staff at Kenneth Davis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Great school, wonderful educators, a caring environment. Wouldn't want to go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

My 4th grader just graduated and is so sad to go! Awesome teachers, Awesome experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I have had two children at Davis. Your experience will depend on which teacher you get. There are some fabulous caring teachers. However the school orverall has a very negative and punitive attitude toward children. My children were never in trouble but it was so sad to see how mean some of the teachers are to these children. The principal is detached and the focus is on rules and scores not on building the child and creating a love for learning. I have pulled my children out of that school because I hate the environment. Even though my sons did well academically they both hated going to school. Find another school if you have a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

My daughter came in the middle of her K year & we disliked the teacher from the start. My daughter went from loving school to crying every morning she had to go to school & due to stress of this & her cousin dying she developed Post-tramatic stress disorder & hated the rest of Kinder. 1st grade she had Mrs. voronin, she is one of the best teacher we ever met we were so pleased & our daughter started loving school again. Then 2nd grade our daughter is back to hating school & begging me not to make her go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2006

Good school great Principle. Many programs to help or to challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

We think Davis is a great school overall. The teachers have been so helpful and everybody makes you feel welcome. They care about the all the kids. My kids are so happy to have PE everyday. It's really neat that they have art and spanish too. The only problem we have seen is the bad traffic around the school in the morning and afterschool but we like this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

I have one child currently enrolled at Davis and have two other children who have attended the school since it's opening and moved up to higher grades. This school has some extrodinary teachers but that is overshadowed by very poor administration. The PE and Music departments are in need of a grand overhaul. The teacher/student relationship in these areas are not much to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Davis has a large availability of cultural experiences. The enrichment teachers are wonderful at providing these opportunities for the students. The parents have stepped up to help out with extracurriculuar activities, although involvement with school parties and functions has dropped since the school opened. Davis has a good academic program - focused on teaching what Texas requires.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 7, 2005

Kenneth Davis is a great school with a strong principal leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students87%
Female83%
Male91%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Female85%
Male72%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education63%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male85%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education56%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students87%
Female91%
Male82%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education50%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female74%
Male77%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education17%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male74%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education17%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Female65%
Male64%
Black or African American54%
Asian79%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education33%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male84%
Black or African American74%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education86%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)84%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students70%
Female75%
Male66%
Black or African American67%
Asian93%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education14%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 33% 13%
White 29% 29%
Hispanic 26% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 23%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • HOLLY SMITH
Fax number
  • (817) 472-3267

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Eden Road
Arlington, TX 76001
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 299-7840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Childrens Lighthouse
Arlington, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT