Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 520 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2013

There are a number of good teachers at Providence but overall the school is a mess. Bullys run rampant through the school tormenting the other kids and all the administration does is sweep it under the rug. They don't address the bullying they just move the victims to different classes. Great strategy, at this rate they will have classes with just the one bully and all the other kids piled up in a few. What this school needs is the principal's termination and it could be a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

When my son was in second grade, there were two students in his class that continuously picked at him. One day on the playground he was grabbed by his neck and thrown to the ground. NONE of the teachers did anything about it even after other students confirmed what had happened. I went to the principle the next day. She told me since my child never reported any "bullying" issues before they wouldn't/couldn't consider it a bullying issue. They wouldn't even look into my complaint. So much for the "zero tolerance" policy. I took it upon myself to talk to the other parent. That took care of the situation for the most part. I am SO glad I do not have anymore children that will have to endure the administration of this school. All they care about is how they look on paper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

My child attended this school from k-5 and spent an enormous amount of time in the principal's office, on punishment, etc. He was singled out on numerous occassions and targeted as a "bad" child. He didn't learn to read until second grade at which time he jumped up 5 levels due to an excellent teacher dedicated to teaching reading one-on-one. There were 2 yrs in which he had excellent educators who were pleased with his intellect rather than distracted and annoyed by his ADHD. He was paired in his final yr there with a teacher who had never taught before. Basically they told me it was either get him on medication or they were sending him to alternative school. About to complete his first yr of middle school, we have not had ONE disciplinary issue or even a call from the school. His grades are still good but now he has friends, attends school events and is flourishing socially as well as academically. I would rate Providence Elementary NO stars due to the despicable attitude permeated from the staff at the students who do not fit their "ideal" image. If you are not familiar with our current public school system and the rights of your child, you are in over your head at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

The VP at this school had my child come into the office to complete work, day after day. It was supposedly not punishment and was she only missing her recess every day so she could have extra time to do work. I was notified by a secretarial person about this situation. The VP had a very ugly, inflexible attitude and she is very poor at communication. She showed no sign of caring about children or parents. She cares about rules. She gave my child a kind of sticker chart. When that sticker chart didn't work, her next solution was another sticker chart. Eventually, when the sticker charts weren't helping and the problems continued the disciplinary solution was to send our 2nd grader to the alternative school. We had to take her out and homeschool her. My child was having a special ed issue and was later diagnosed. She hasn't had any serious discipline issues since receiving accommodations and she was commended on her TAKS tests. Things have improved, but what I remember about having to interact with this VP was her lack of ability to establish rapport with my child or to explore any solutions other than the meager and ineffective one she had to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

I love my son's school! I love that they are the Patriots! The school has been awarded for academic excellence and is truly a part of the community. My concerns are that there seems to be too much turnover in the staff, young inexperienced teachers that are laying the foundation for our children's future education, and, due to a very small percentage of ethnic minority students, the student body and the staff tend to stereotype those students. Minority students are ostracized and are focused on during TAKS, etc. Teachers are quick to assume that they have a learning disability and quicker still to focus on them with stricter disciplinary measures, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

Both my children have attended this school and it's fantastic. I have had experiences w/ teachers, staff, and the administration. Everyone has been wonderful. A really great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

We really like this school and for the first and second grade our child was a straight A student. Third grade was a different story and we identified a significant conflict with the teacher. We brought to attention of the VP and were told that would be addressed immediately and that our child would be moved to another class. We were later contacted by the P and told that the VP did not follow proper procedure and that the VPs commitment could not be implemented. Frankly, we could care less about proper procedure. We just wanted to get out of the condescending and destructive environment that was ruining our child s experience. This year has been a complete turn around and we are glad to have a child who again looks forward to the experience. We suggest going above the immediate administration (director of education) when you have an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

We have 6 kids. Our 2 youngest have had the UNFORTUNATE experience of going to this school. I can honestly say there is not much to love about this school. I am surprised at the positive ratings. I can only assume the 5 star raters have never experienced another elementary school. While there a handful of good teachers, the principal and vice-principal are more concerned with themselves and ratings than their students. Many of the teachers show little caring towards the students. I know of MULTIPLE (and I mean over 20 in 2 years) instances of extreme bullying that are barely addressed. My children have come home with injuries where I was failed to be notified. My son was left on the playground for over 15 minutes! My kids are A students and not troublemakers. I am transferring them out of the school this year, and will not come back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

My children have both thrived at this school. The teachers really care. The staff is helpful. We moved from Plano to Providence 3 years ago and I was nervous about switching schools at that time but I have to say, it was the best thing I ever did for my kids. Even through these unstable economic times, I have been tempted to move into an apartment, however, I have not due to the fact that I would have to move my kids out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

This is my childs second year at this school.. We love the teachers and feel as though she is getting a wonderful education here! We have been thinking about moving and this is going to be the hardest part of all is removing our daughter from a great school such as providence elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

Providence Elementary HAS been rated EXEMPLARY for several years now (perhaps not in a row but that was not previously stated). I think it dropped a notch one year but it is back to Exemplary status for the current year (2008-09). I am a very involved parent and my findings are based on official school ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

There is an inaccuracy in the previous review. The school has not been exemplary for several years in a row. Please refer to actual TAKS ratings, not neighborhood builders' signage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

this school is one of the most amazing school I , and sertianly my child has ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

We are not pleased with this school. Our child has had great teachers, but the administration is seriously lacking in ethics, morals, and professionalism. Favoritism is a big issue. If you're not highly involved, you - and your child - tend to get the cold shoulder. Plus, the curriculum is highly centered around TAKS and seemingly nothing else. Security is also lacking. I - and my mother-in-law - have been in to pick up my child several times and not once have they asked for i.d.! We have such strong concerns - concerns that the Supertintendent refuses to address - that we are removing our child from the district completely and enrolling in a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

We are 100% pleased with this school. We had a very kind/calm kindergarten teacher who did a wonderful job teaching our son. Parent involvement is very much encouraged. Extracurricular activities are in place with great staffing. All school employees were very helpful and friendly throughout the year. The schools facilities are very nice & clean. We look forward to this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

I am quite impressed with this school. alot of activities that implement the parents to get involved in their childs education. Also I really enjoyed the 'dress up days'..Bad hair day, Cowboy day, Community Helper days...etc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

Last year was the first year the school opened. I was not at all happy with the teacher. This year has started much better, but I am approaching it with skeptical optimism. Right now the relationship is a bit adversarial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

Great school, but I am a little concerned with the student to teacher ratio. My daughter's kindergarden class has 22 students to 1 teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

New school with great facilities. However, we are not pleased with the schools administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

83 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

83 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

92 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female88%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education100%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female86%
Male97%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education100%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female88%
Male93%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students87%
Female83%
Male91%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students90%
Female98%
Male84%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education100%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education83%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female80%
Male85%
Black or African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education67%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students62%
Female58%
Male66%
Black or African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education33%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students67%
Female73%
Male63%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education33%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education60%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female78%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education80%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female78%
Male82%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education38%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 31%
Hispanic 13% 50%
Black 6% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Fm 2931
Aubrey, TX 76227
Phone: (940) 369-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

James A Monaco
Aubrey, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT