Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Aubrey, TX
Students enrolled: 565

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


James A Monaco 3

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Attempts are great. But excellent scholastic students fall in the cracks. Instead of engaging students they watch a movies after recess. Not enough interactive teaching too much worksheets. Under experienced teachers.

James A Monaco 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school! We have a 4th grader, 2nd grader, and kindergartner attending Monaco this year. Teachers truly care about each student. The GT program is fantastic, they meet everyday for 1 hour. Principal Lowman is wonderful. The school nurse is outstanding. Front office staff is super sweet. Parent involvement with PTO is high. We are so thankful for Monaco and the wonderful learning environment it provides. Lots of good Christian families and teachers are at this school.


James A Monaco 2

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
The school has very poor supervision , making sure young children are in a secure environment.. often left unattended, almost in the hands of strangers.! it's not an overwhelming enormous campus. The some teachers are far too relaxed, and often there's Bullying with to new students.

James A Monaco 3

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
This school (and district) is very conservative. The dress code is strict...as close to uniforms as you can be without actually being uniforms. It is a small school district with limited resources. The Gifted and Talented program consists of 1 hour every week and only 30ish kids from the entire school get in. As with any school, there are good and bad teachers. Principal Lowman has the perfect personality for an elementary school principle...positive, kind, cheerful, encouraging. It is a good school but not a great school. I wish the school was more willing to embrace new techniques and ideas.

James A Monaco 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. They teach respect for yourself and others. Your children are also expected to listen and follow rules, which is how children should act. Parent involvement is great and the atmosphere is great!! If you want your kids to succeed, have respect for themselves and others, and learn to follow rules this is the school for you.


James A Monaco 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
This school is outstanding. My daughter struggled at her other school, but now she is excelling because of her teacher's encouragement and support of her. I know my son will have a great experience when he starts nex year.

James A Monaco 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Excellent teacher, that are not impecable professional, but loving and caring towards their students and their needs.

James A Monaco 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is currently in Kindergarden. I wish they had more experienced teachers. They expect children to stay still the whole day or else they send them to the office. They have programs for independent studies but they don't want to use them. If you have a very smart kid who's very hyper and likes to explore and learn faster than others, this is not a school for him/her.


James A Monaco 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten and for the most part he is happy. I wish he was a little more challenged in the area of academics.

James A Monaco 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2009
- a parent
This school should be called 'the rule school.' The staff is rude, the atmosphere is that of impending doom and there is absolutely no fun allowed! I can't imagine a worse first experience for a parent and child than this school. If you have a choice, choose another.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James A Monaco
9350 Cape Cod Boulevard, Aubrey, TX  76227
(940) 668-0000
Last modified James A Monaco is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
James A Monaco Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top