Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $231,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2012

We have been at Holy Family for 4 years and are extremely happy with the education our daughter has received. Her teachers all sincerely care about her as a person and have kept up with her and with us even after she left their grade. Our child is constantly praised for her behavior, attitude and compassion by others, but, frankly she is no different than most children at HFCS. They are held to a high, but attainable, standard of behavior and respect for classmates without exception. Compassion and empathy, hallmarks of a peaceful society, are stressed in each grade. Academically, HFCS excels. There are high academic standards, but isn't that what we want for our children, to be well prepared to enter middle school, high school and college? It may be more work than neighborhood kids are doing, or friends might have, but mediocrity is always easier, isn't it? I would recommend HFCS to anyone considering private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

Academics are strong, especially in the middle school. Students can achieve as much as they can and will be pushed. Excellent programs in music, theater, and language. Sports teams are decent (especially good in soccer), but the school does not obsess over them. Holy Family won the State Championship in PSIA - a wide-ranging academic competition involving over 100 private schools around the state. Principal is very forward looking, and willing to try new programs. Accessibility and commitment of the teachers is absolutely outstanding. It is a very nice community, devoted to educating all aspects of our children. We're very happy with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

I attended Holy Family for 6 years and loved it. Not only do I think it effectively prepared me for high school (all honors classes) I think it also taught me valuable life lessons. I still keep in touch with my former teachers. I know that regardless of the situation I can always go back and ask questions from some of the best teachers I ever had!


Posted November 20, 2011

the school is amazing, the teachers are supportive, there are pracitcally no bullies, and the soccer team is the best in the AIPL


Posted June 4, 2011

We are so blessed to be able to be a part of the Holy Family community! The school nurtures my children and challenges them in many ways. I have children in both the elementary and middle schools and am happy with both! My children have very high test scores and find the academics challenging and creative. I will recommend Holy Family to anyone expressing interest in private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

It's a great elementary school, but by the time your kids hit middle school, forget it. They ask for way too much, with up to 5 hours of homework each night. The teachers do not communicate with each other and do not know how to teach properly and connect with students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school has high academic standards, teaches Catholic doctrine and provides a very caring atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

We are very impressed with the teachers and academics in the middle school. They really care and motivate your child to work to his potential. It was our child's first year at Holy Family this year. The school feels safe and comfortable as compared to the large over crowded public school we were attending. We are so happy with our experience we enrolled our two younger children for next year. Dr. Wagner is an experienced principal with a vision for the school's successful future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

We have been at the school for 6 yrs & are very happy. The registration did go up dramtically, that being said, we are less expensive than most private schools. With the addition of Dr. Wagner this yr (our new principal) we have seen a lot of change & look forward to seeing what is in store for us next year!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

My child just joined the School and already I am thinking of taking her out. No matter how much I try I cannot make a connection with the Teacher. The academics is also not great in this School. If your child is gifted and talented it is important to find another private school. I wanted a catholic school education for my child but I feel this makes kids so closed to other religions. It is important to be able to interact with people of all religions. Nothing great about this School. Just waiting to get out! a parent Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Wow! This school is changing, and changing fast! Enroll your child now before there is another 2 year waiting list! I have to agree with the review before mine. Tour the school today! Middle school is finally getting some discipline as well! They are all becoming little angels. And can't wait till next year when there are lots of new changes and new teacher's and a Dominican Nun! This school is rising up, up, up, to the top! Trust me!! The principle has to be the best one ever! And she has a plan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

We've been at Holy Family 4 years, and each year the focus seems to be more about serving an elite group of families and not the masses. This has become apparent in the fact that 12% of the students are on financial aid, and that those with enough money to donate can get their own personal parking spaces. It is seen in the little things like certain children's photos who are included in the school Christmas card and on school publications. Every year tuition is raised and this year an 80.00 increase to the registration fee is being charged. They are slowly 'pricing' out families who can not get financial aid but are barely making it to give their children a 'Catholic' education. The new principal rarely comes out of her office and seems more withdrawn than the former principal who was always visible. Not sure how long we will stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

My child just joined the School and already I am thinking of taking her out. No matter how much I try I cannot make a connection with the Teacher. The academics is also not great in this School. If your child is gifted and talented it is important to find another private school. I wanted a catholic school education for my child but I feel this makes kids so closed to other religions. It is important to be able to interact with people of all religions. Nothing great about this School. Just waiting to get out! a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

Just go there and you'll see. kids who need more help will fail . No one wants to help them .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

My child just joined the School and already I am thinking of taking her out. No matter how much I try I cannot make a connection with the Teacher. The academics is also not great in this School. If your child is gifted and talented it is important to find another private school. I wanted a catholic school education for my child but I feel this makes kids so closed to other religions. It is important to be able to interact with people of all religions. Nothing great about this School. Just waiting to get out! a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Almost all of these reveiws have been writen a long time ago and now in 2008 the school has changed dramaticly! With the new principle Dr. Wagner. I saw that most of the reviews are if your child falls behide thats it. Well thats tottaly wrong now. Teachers do as much as they can to help the children reach there leavel of academic sucess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

We are blessed being part of Holy Family Catholic School, this is our 2nd year. Now joining our 3rd grader, daughter. My son, was a preschooler last year, my daughter had always been into a public school. What I like the most of the school is the dicipline, how religion is thaught, how we are all treated as family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

This school treat kids as ' if you fall behind , oh well'. So if you child has trouble with a subject , it's too bad. But they will still ask constantly for money all year round. The campus is nice. I for one am leaving holy family after this year. They do teach religion and are passionate about it but the education is not as good as most public schools. If you do your research you will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

This in an exceptional school! The principal, Mrs. Turner, runs a tight ship and is as sharp as a tack. The academic standards are high but it's also a nurturing environment. I like the fact that Spanish is taught from Pre-K on up unlike most schools who don't start foreign languages until middle school. The campus is a beautiful 20 acres and routinely deer can be spotted. Because we moved out of state during the middle of the school year we had to put our kids in public school for a semester. Even though they are in one of the best public schools (rated 9 out of a possible 10) it doesn't hold a candle to the private school education they received at Holy Family. We are looking into private schools for the Fall but Holy Family has set a very high standard. This school is worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

Our child bloomed at Holy Family. Her teacher was fun, inspired her to do her best, and inspired a love of reading. She never liked to read before third grade and now she reads all the time!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 31%
Hispanic 29% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC,NCEA
Fax number
  • (512) 246-4454

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Austin
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9400 Neenah Avenue
Austin, TX 78717
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 246-4455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






El Daep
Austin, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT