Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Episcopal School of AU

Private | K-8 | 476 students

Trinity is a independent day school in the Episcopal tradition.

 
 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $521,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2011

This is my 8th year as a Trinity parent. In that time, there have been 4 Heads of School (5 if you count an interim) and 4 Heads of the Middle School. There has been a similarly alarming faculty turnover during that time period, as well. The lower school has had consistent leadership and is a program that I would recommend without hesitation. The Middle School however, seems to change directions, missions and goals from year to year. Decisions are made, and then reversed repeatedly. The teachers are caring and strong, but the leadership is alternately weak and indecisive and then capriciously inflexible. Similar inconsistencies in curriculum decisions have caused Trinity students to be at a disadvantage when they get to high school. One high school had to create a remedial summer math program last year for incoming freshmen who were Trinity graduates because their knowledge was so incomplete. Discipline issues are also dealt with inconsistently and bullying is a serious, unaddressed issue. Gifted students are treated as a burden and are not academically challenged, while much more understanding and flexibility are given to kids with learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

Stellar academic program that addresses the needs of each child, high quality and committed teachers, administration that listens. This is our second year at Trinity and we feel like the teachers, administration and board all honor each child, academically, emotionally, spiritually, and physically. As a parent from a non-traditional family, I know that Trinity honors equality/inclusion/diversity and parents are actively involved in school programs and activities. I highly recommend Trinity, where all children and families are honored!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

Best middle school education in area. Teachers VERY avail. to meet with students and parents. Individual attention. Grads exceptionally well prepared for toughest high schools. But, there's an "in" group, which trickles down to the kids' relationships with each other. Founders' sense of "ownership" is understandable, but they are so homogeneous their control can stifle diversity and flexibility. Admin is too rigidly "rules" oriented, shows lacks of judgment and sense of humor in situations calling for both. Some non-"in" group kids get labeled troublemakers, a self-fulfilling prophecy. Admin needs to work on flexibility and developing the wisdom the task calls for. It's a tough assignment: steer a course between the Board (who criticized the well-liked former middle school head as "not consistent" in discipline, implicitly demanding more rules enforcement)and middle schoolers who need mix of firmness and understanding. My ex and I have sent one of each gender. For us, the academic preparation trumps the things that we don't like. Could be close to perfect if its board and admin could exhibit more wisdom, less rigidity, and embrace more diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Trinity honors each child, each day! My children have attended Trinity since kindergarten and both are thriving. In addition to the excellent faculty and staff, the curriculum is innovative and exciting. My children are excited about learning and love to go to school! Trinity honors each child academically, spiritually, physically and emotionally. Trinity Episcopal School is simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

This is my 11th year as a Trinity parent, and I cannot say enough great things about the school. They truly live their core values (academic excellence, Christian environment, diversity, family commitment), and the result is students who are confident, engaged, and fully prepared for high school. We love Trinity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Trinity has many excellent, dedicated teachers and lots of resources; except for the constant changes in the math program, we were happy with the instruction. The student body, however, is homogeneous, rigid, and and can be exclusionary and ego-shattering for many children. Particularly in the older grades, too few kids offer little social flexibility. We also found the transition from lower to middle school (in terms of after-school time commitments and responsibilities) to be early and very abrupt. Administration listened to parental concerns, but did little to address them, perhaps because there has been much leadership turnover the past several years. If your kid is highly socially savvy and has no learning issues, Trinity can be a good choice; otherwise, proceed with caution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Trinity fluidly balances its nurturing, spiritual commitment with rigorous, creative, science-based, individualized academics. The teachers are deeply committed and energetic. And they practice their commitment to the family by not loading my son down with homework, so that he can have a relaxing afternoon. The daily chapel does a wonderful job of getting my second grader to have a moment at the beginning of each day to focus and, as he says, if he is having a hard morning, it always makes him feel better. Chapel also has done a beautiful job of framing all the moments in life, whether they be holidays or elections, in a way that the children feel a part of it, empowered and supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

As the parent of a Trinity alumni, I can not say enough good things about Trinity. My child was well prepared for high school and is thriving, thanks to the firm academic foundation Trinity provided. Trinity is the best k -8 school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I have 2 children that attend Trinity Episcopal School and I continue to be impressed with it. My children look forward to school each and every day. The faculty and staff work hard to create a challenging yet nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

We have 3 children that attend Trinity. My children have gained great confidence in their school work, friendships and extracurricular activities by attending this amazing school. The faculty and staff at Trinity celebrate each child s victories, no matter how large or small. They also successfully provide a safe environment for children to take on challenges that may not always end in success. No question is a bad question. Trinity encourages each child to be themselves, find their strengths and work on their weaknesses in such a positive way. Every day our kids get into the car after school with smiles on their faces and lots of stories to tell about their day. What more could a parent ask for? They love their school, their friends and the teachers. They are genuinely excited to learn and be a part of the community. We are so fortunate to have the opportunity to be a part of such a special school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

Trinity just keeps getting stronger. Their math, reading and writing programs are excellent and innovative. The teachers are caring and talented, and the staff works hard to create an atmosphere that's both challenging and nurturing. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

My daughter has been at Trinity for the past 5 years. It has been an all around wonderful experience for our family. The faculty is excellent, especially in the middle school. Opportunities for parents and students to get involved are numerous. There is a warm and welcoming feel that permeates the school. Each child is nurtured and encouraged to work towards realizing their full potential. Most graduates are accepted to their first choice high school and I hear from their parents that they are very well prepared. We have an excellent placement coordinator that works with both students and parents throughout the process. Homework is manageable but consistent, teaching good time management skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

I attended Trinity Episcopal School from the Day it first opened all they way through eight grade. I believe that yes it prepared me for high school, but after going to a great public school for high school. I realized that the small social world is horrible. The whole school is filled with stuck up family's that control the school with their money. Everything about the school is about money. Some of the teachers are great, but all this diversity crap you here about 'we include everyone' the only reason they include everyone is so they can stay accredited and not hurt their image. For a long time I loved Trinity until I realized how screwed up it really is, and how it is nothing like the real world. If you want the private school experience I strongly recommend trying Saint Stephan's or Saint Andrews over trinity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2008

I graduated last year. My middle school years were especially turbulent, with few teachers that actually cared about me or their subject matter. The faculty and Head of Schools (Lower, Middle, and both) rotated around almost every year with drastic changes for each one many students simply stopped caring. It was a bad experience for me, and I am so happy in my new school now that I can look back and ask: I actually went through that?
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

Trinity is a great school. We especially liked the athletic program. I can only speak for the middle school which was very well rounded. Ms. P is an outstanding, caring, compassionate, wonderful teacher. My only complaint is the same complaint I have with most schools in that they give too much homework. There is no evidence to support homework provides academic benefits or promotes good work habits. The better the teacher the less the homework......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

Trinity is a great school. It has a wonderful, nurturing environment that allows kids to be and become comfortable with who they are. It has rigorous academics; however, there is a balance with allowing family time. It has a diverse student population and great athletic teams. The arts program is one of the finest in the city. Kids come first at Trinity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2005

My children have attended Trinity Episopal School for the past three years. This school has wonderful, highly qualified faculty who are interested in the overall success of the students. The curriculum improves each year as well. The school environment helps foster respect, leadership, and academic achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

I worked at Trinity Episcopal School in Austin, before my kids were born. I was warmly welcomed, as all are, no matter what your religion. The community is a very friendly one and aims at being diverse. The curriculum is innovative as well as traditional, and the children that attend Trinity excel in so many areas. The arts are highly valued at Trinity and they just completed construction on their own arts building. Trinity Episcopal is a private school and expensive, but worth it, if you can afford it. There are scholarships available. I loved working at Trinity and would highly recommend it to parents moving to the Austin area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 31%
Hispanic 8% 51%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Pat Adams
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
Fax number
  • (512) 472-2337

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 Bee Cave Road
Austin, TX 78746
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 472-9525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT