Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 476
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
I would encourage any parent of a prospective student to get the facts on things such as standardized test scores, not just the mean or median compared against all schools or private schools, but also the standard deviations to get a feel for how well students do at both ends of the distribution. My personal experience is that Trinity prepares its students well for standardized tests. For example, my daughter and many of her friends did well enough on the SAT (as 7th graders) to qualify for various Duke TIP programs. Again, this is one observation. On the issue of textbooks (or the lack thereof), I would not judge the quality of the education based on the use of a textbook. Many of my daughter's teachers create their own material and follow the approach of encouraging students to discover and problem solve the specific topics/issues being studied in class. For example, instead of relying on a textbook to teach geometry of circles (e.g., area, circumference, pi, etc..), our daughter's teacher assigned the students homework to "prove" (empirically) that pi=3.14...I doubt she would have had the same level of enthusiasm for pi, if she were simply told its value
2 people found this helpful

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a community member
I attended Trinity since kindergarten and it was the best decision I have ever made. The curriculum can suit both advanced and struggling students. Every teacher cares for their students individually, on both an academic and personal level. Trinity offers an incredible environment and community to learn in.


Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted March 02, 2014
- a community member
Awful--administrators are exceptionally pretentious. Don't know how to work with kids that don't fit the mold. Spend those dollars elsewhere--lower school administrator is particularly abrasive and obnoxious.
14 people found this helpful

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
Pretentious. Huge disappointment. Administrators are outright rude and dismissive. We felt this was an unhealthy environment and chose to leave. This is not a premium school where seats are coveted. We took our kids and money to a far superior school across town. I'm glad we didn't settle.
14 people found this helpful

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent of a current 4th Grader at Trinity. Most of the recent negative posts are from a handful of parents who did not get their way last year. These parents wanted a traditional approach to education, read the text book, and recite back the information on the test. Trinity doesn t believe in this type of education; rightfully so because it doesn't result in students who can think for themselves. When Trinity refused to change its educational philosophy to please a small group of parents, these parents became anger, and did not re-enroll their children in 2013-14. It's nice to hear their kids are doing well in public school; it is interesting these parents don't see a connection between their child's Trinity education and their child s current public school success. Trinity teachers do not teach "the test", Math is not taught in traditional fashion, homework reinforces classroom learning, it doesn't do the teaching. Trinity educates individuals, resulting in students able to think for themselves, find more than one way to solve problems, work collaboratively with others and confidently alone. Trinity isn't perfect but for us it s a close as you can get!
1 person found this helpful


Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Before you jump into this school, ask who writes the curriculum and don't fall for the fancy answer you will probably get. Ask why there are no text books. We were told our child may have a learning disability when really it was not our child at all, but the fact that there is no curriculum that has been tested and known to work so our children are the guinea pigs. It is truly sad how much our child's self esteem was shattered. Our child felt stupid and now in Eanes has a 100 in every class except one and has a 91 in that class. The social situation is also terrible at Trinity. This school was so disappointing I can't even explain. They can get you in there with all the bells and whistles but ask why so many families left last year and many more are leaving this year. And the families that left, no one bothered to even ask why.
3 people found this helpful

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Trinity is a special school! As a new family, we have felt so welcomed and supported in our transition. We chose Trinity for its outstanding reputation in delivering exemplary K-8 education. It is the right balance of academic rigor and nurturing communal supports where our children feel valued and encouraged. It has a well-integrated curriculum, with many opportunities for children to shine. The caring community of teachers and administrators genuinely care about each child and are accessible, professional and compassionate. Trinity is an authentic school community where every student can evolve in becoming their best selves. There is comfort in knowing each day is filled with inquiry, creative problem solving and varied opportunities. Every parent wants to give their children the best education possible Trinity fulfills this within a community of experienced and innovative faculty and staff. We look forward to many years of great possibilities on our Trinity journey.

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Trinity administrators are unnecessarily arrogant - a complete turnoff. Teachers are generally good, though we haven't been around long enough to fully ascertain. We heard there is high turnover among teaching staff. Facilities feel cramped. We pulled our child out in a hurry. Interestingly, when later taking the entrance exam at a competitive school across town, our child saw a few Trinity classmates taking that exam too. We suppose those families are aiming to leave as well. Apparently, there are plenty of us willing to give up the one-time facility fee to get out! Be careful what you wish for.
2 people found this helpful


Trinity Episcopal School of AU 1

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Trinity is not at all what it looks like from the outside. There is very little substance behind the hype and promise of progressiveness. Homework is minimal and most kids need tutoring just to catch up with the basics. There is very little testing, (and the tests are not graded or returned for children to see) The report cards grade with only 1's, 2's or 3's through 4th grade and switch to letter grades in middle school. All subjects - except maybe art - emphasize a collaborative approach above independent work - kids are always in the halls - sitting around "talking". If you walk through the campus - 80% of the time you will see a chaotic mess of kids who are working (or not) on different tasks. The standardized test scores are substandard - which is not a surprise - seeing how many holes I have seen in my child's education. I would strongly encourage a close look at what this school really has to offer instead of what they say they offer. And also note the string of positive reviews that will undoubtedly follow this one - most likely from staff or parents who were asked to write by the staff - who are in a panic from the mass exit that just left the school last year.
1 person found this helpful

Trinity Episcopal School of AU 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a teacher
I am extremely grateful to work as a teacher in a school where learning is the priority. Even though Trinity students take standardized tests and generally perform very well in all subjects, the school's program is not based on test objectives. Teachers teach so that students form a complete picture of the ideas. Teachers are respected for their teaching and encouraged to continue their growth. The administration of the school invests heavily in professional development for its faculty. I have been able to learn from some of the most respected professionals in the field while teaching at Trinity. The vast majority of parents are also very supportive. They understand that Trinity is preparing its students for a competitive, global world. They also know this preparation means school has to be different than it was for them. Best of all, my students are always excited about learning and are never afraid of challenges.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trinity Episcopal School of AU
3901 Bee Cave Road, Austin, TX  78746
(512) 472-9525
Last modified Trinity Episcopal School of AU is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Trinity Episcopal School of AU Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top