Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Khabele School

Private | PK-12 | 475 students

We are best known for innovation & strong community.

 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $337,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 21 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted August 17, 2011

The Khabele School is a dream come true. We've created a place where students, parents, staff and administration really do live by our mission for the whole community to fall in love with learning and realize the innate talent and ability inside ourselves. The integrity with which we adhere to our overarching purpose creates impressive results: SAT scores 25% higher than average, 80% AP pass rates, and 100% of students applying to universities getting selected by 2 of their top 5 choices. We utilize a dynamic educational model that integrates the strengths of traditional and holistic education. For example, all classes utilize daily mindfulness practices. Innovative technology and software are integrated into the school's culture. Teachers use lectures, grades, and standardized tests, alongside Socratic seminars and student feedback to facilitate the highest level of learning in each class. There is considerable importance placed on learning through applying knowledge to projects and engaging the surrounding community. Every year we give students what I think is the best possible education they can receive, and yet every year we manage to top ourselves.

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2010

The school distinguishes itself by truly being unique; it is clearly not a public school experience nor is it the standard private school. It offers a distinct approach in both its teaching and its support of students. Khabele doesn't just prepare kids for more schooling, it aims at preparing them to be fulfilled and contributing human beings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

My daughter's need for academic challenges have been met through classes in which students are encouraged to think, particiapte, debate, and be involved instead of just regurgitate memorized facts. She has continued to participate in extracurricular sports, and has added leadership activities. The school is focused on being high-quality and on engaging students in their learning. Responsibility for self is a focus, and is another reason why Khabele appealed to me as a parent. Students getting ready to be away from home at college should have some practice self-monitoring in high school. Any violations of the code of conduct result in reasonable decisions that are dependent upon the severity of the violation. As an educator myself, I think Khabele has excellent leadership, an appealing vision, strong teachers, and a supportive community. It earns an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

The Khabele School is a great school for our middle school son. We were looking for an environment where he learned to love school and learning (again), where he was known individually by the teachers and students, and where he would be with both older and younger kids from diverse backgrounds. Khabele has met all of these expectations, plus provided a community where we talk about the kids current and future paths. What and how should they be learning, how to deal with conflict in a healthy, realistic way, and how to make everything relevant, not 'boring.' Sometimes I'm not sure if he's learning 'enough' compared to public schools, with their emphasis on busy work and memorization, but I do know he is learning 'how to learn' and stay curious in the learning process. I believe that discipline will serve him well throughout his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

We were lucky to find Khabele early on and enroll our daughter in 6th grade. She's a bright, curious, enthusiastic learner and has enjoyed finding like-minded peers at Khabele. The teachers and staff are incredibly supportive and encouraging. She really enjoys the advanced curriculum and all the interesting people she has discussions with daily. Khabele also REALLY embraces the creative side of the kids (music, art, dance, writing, drama) - just a super balance that has totally won our family over!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

Simply...If you're preparing your children for public high school, you might want to keep your children in public school. If you're focused on preparing your children for success in college and for a happy and self-expressed life, Khabele is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

I am a parent of a khabele middle schooler & we love it. It's amazing to have a kid this age who actually enjoys going to school every day! The academics are fine (on par with most schools we visited), but what really makes the school is the culture they've created. The teachers & administrators are passionate about what they do & bend over backwards to connect with the kids. The kids actually want to be there, and they're nice to each other. The school really stresses (& discusses) things like leadership, responsibility, generosity, sympathy, etc. -Which is so important. Of course, problems come up like they do at every school, but the school meets issues head-on, discussing them with students & parents & brainstorming solutions, instead of sweeping them under a carpet or drawing a line in the sand. I just wish Khabele was around when I was a kid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

Khabele is a microcosm of the world we live in. Unlike most private schools, the mix of intellects, interests and cultures is pleasingly diverse. Meanwhile - and exceptionally - the school is built around 'community', made up of students, teachers and parents all with the common goal of falling in love with learning. Unlike most public schools where parents are the teachers' 'enemy' or where students are met with the challenge to choose between influences of one clique or another - Khabele functions as a true family committed to everyone's success. Are there misfits, trouble makers and distractions that need to be addressed? Of course! After all the centerpiece of the community are school aged kids learning how to make better choices and function with integrity. As for me, I'd rather have my child learn these valuable lessons in a safe, committed environment. Khabele offers that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

My kids couldn't be more different from each other, but the unique educational approach at The Khabele School has had a profound, positive impact on both of them. The teachers here are so energetic, caring, involved and available. Homework is relevant and not burdensome, busy work. I most enjoy watching my kids work their way independently through Project Week - the exploration of a subject of their choosing, from finding a mentor to the final report. The project can be a failure but still be a learning success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

The Khabele School is a little known gem located in central Austin. Students are given numerous opportunities to pursue Advanced Placement and/or ACC credits if applicable (Our daughter is a junior and has 5 advanced classes.). College planning, a sense of community, and a faculty that demonstrates dedication and best practices daily make this academically challenging environment enjoyable. Most importantly, progressive onsite leadership lends a consistent and supportive framework for faculty and student collaboration. This is a school where passions are uncovered, expectations are high, and students develop into self motivated learners-committed to making the world a better place. You owe it to your family to visit Khabele and form your own opinion. We have only one regret-we wished we had found it sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

Khabele School offers a rich and diverse culture. Students are challanged to to be compassionate, kind, and supportive of one another. I do not know of another school that supports personal growth and honors diversity like Khablele. If you want a well rounded child who feels connected to the diverse world around them and also feels a level of acceptance and comfort with their inner self send them to Khablele!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

Our daughter is a Khabele graduate ('09) and a freshman at the prestigious Smith College. While at St. Stephen's,one of the 'best' college prep schools in Texas,she was paralyzed with the crushing 'busy work' most people believe is crucial to college success.At Khabele,the workload was challenging but not overwhelming...giving her the chance to fall in love with learning. And,boy, did it work! At Khabele,she learned how to nurture her own self esteem and confidence and she even developed a student mentorship program, became a student teacher, and founded the theater program...all of which earned her their Freedom Award for Leadership Excellence. Using those same skills in college,she makes good grades,is a senator of her dorm and has earned a weekly column in the school paper all.We never dreamed she would attend an Ivy League school! We are forever grateful to Khabele for preparing her so well for college and for life. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

We live in Eanes ISD and after experiencing that district we enrolled our student in Khabele. Five years later, we know it was the right decision. Love Khabele's philosophy, small classes and flexible curriculum. It's a great school for highly gifted students. Eanes ISD did not meet my child's needs because the classes are large, the curriculum is set at grade level (not good for gifted students), and the emphasis is ... football. Khabele is a school that inspires children to learn and grow not only academically but in character and responsibility as well. Further, our child just scored mega-high on the SAT and I know that score reflects not only his high intellectual ability but also his love of learning and his love of school as a result of attending Khabele.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

I am a Khabele graduate who is still reaping the benefits of my Khabele education. Because of the Khabele School I not only improved my leadership skills and understanding of community, I was also able to excel in academic ways not allowed in many other learning environments. Khabele pushes students to work at their personal best, not a preordained best , which allowed me a deeper exploration of many of my passions. I now attend Reed College, (the school with the second highest number of Rhodes scholars from a liberal arts college, and the school with the second highest number of graduates who go on to receive PHDs). I also am a Gates Millinum Scholar, a program with a 5% acceptance rate (that s twice as difficult as it is to get into Harvard) that provides a full scholarship to college; they also flew me to LA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

this school is the bomb, Im a senior there and what other people say about it being a druggie school are stereotyping the kids into one group. my grades and my mood have improved ten fold compared to my other education at other schools like westlake and st andrews. if you want your kids to be comfortable with themselves and to find who they really are instead of blending into the crowd, send them to khabele. in my opinion, if you want your kid to not enjoy life as much as they should, send them somewhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2009

The promise of the school and the reality of the school are not in sync. They do a wonderful job of pitching the culture and values and there are a number of parents who cling to these ideals, but the day to day reality does not live up to these lofty goals. The concept is a great one, and as a smaller institution (under 50 kids), was probably attainable. Now pushing 200 students, the real issues of faculty quality control, consistent application of policies, equitable treatment of all students, etc. are not sustainable. My children were in public schools, then at Khabele, and then back to public schools. Without exception, they are behind their classmates in almost every subject. Khabele does a great job of helping troubled students regain their sense of self and restore their self-esteem. College prep? No! Kids who are centered? No! Kids with emotional needs. Consider it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

With only the last two months of 6th grade under his belt at Khabele, my son is in love with school for the first time. The well-behaved child lost in the public school system will thrive at Khabele. While the school encourages strong academics, greater emphasis is put on personal responsibility. There is zero tolerance for bullying and teasing, and the kids respond. The kids who are gentle, playful and respectful call themselves 'Khabele Kids.' Every family has a compelling story about why their children now go to Khabele.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Middle School is small and easygoing; my child will attend high school here as well. Caring teachers and happy kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

The Khabele School is a fertile place for learning and growing. Our daughter has flourished here. As a former AISD teacher, I was very impressed with the students desire to go to school and the enjoyment obvious on their faces! To be sure, the student must do his/her part. I am very thankful for the 'community ' and recommend you check it out! Tommy Joaquin Hancock
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

The Khabele School has consistently impressed and delighted us. From the mission, to the vision, to the curriculum, to the teachers, we have been very excited and pleased with the school. Most importantly, our daughter Emma wants to be the first to arrive at school in the morning and the last to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

Khabele offers an unparalleled combination of an academic and social environment that is full of caring, creative professionals and compassionate, bright and empathetic teenagers. The teachers are role models and guides; supportive and enthusiastic as they pass on their knowledge and life experiences in a way that is thought provoking and inspiring. The work, while not overwhelming, is challenging and rigorous. Since my son started Khabele, our family has been stress free concerning his emotional, physical, spiritual, and intellectual well being. Here, he is safe. If you are looking for an intimate academic setting for your student and you enjoy meeting great people, attending inventive, fun school wide events, thought provoking workshops, excellent communication between parents,teachers and administration, Powerschool, community service, student retreats, global travel, Princeton Review Prep, a comprehensive arts program, outdoor performances, national competitions, international guest speakers and a beautiful campus, this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 31%
Black 3% 13%
Hispanic 3% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Khotso Khabele
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • TAAP
Fax number
  • (512) 322-0987

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Gardening
  • Literary magazine
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • The Khabele School serves early childhood through 12th grade beginning with a Montessori foundation and progressing to an International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. We serve children on three campuses in Austin, and our motto is "A Community for a Peaceful World."
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
100
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
200

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Need based only for middle and high school spots

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Rio Grande Street
Austin, TX 78701
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 480-8142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT