Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Khabele School

Private | PK-12 | 475 students

We are best known for innovation & strong community.

 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $337,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 21 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted August 17, 2011

The Khabele School is a dream come true. We've created a place where students, parents, staff and administration really do live by our mission for the whole community to fall in love with learning and realize the innate talent and ability inside ourselves. The integrity with which we adhere to our overarching purpose creates impressive results: SAT scores 25% higher than average, 80% AP pass rates, and 100% of students applying to universities getting selected by 2 of their top 5 choices. We utilize a dynamic educational model that integrates the strengths of traditional and holistic education. For example, all classes utilize daily mindfulness practices. Innovative technology and software are integrated into the school's culture. Teachers use lectures, grades, and standardized tests, alongside Socratic seminars and student feedback to facilitate the highest level of learning in each class. There is considerable importance placed on learning through applying knowledge to projects and engaging the surrounding community. Every year we give students what I think is the best possible education they can receive, and yet every year we manage to top ourselves.

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2008

The life lessons and learning experiences we want for our children are not bound by the classroom. The Khabele School is focused and intentional about instilling every student with a life-long love of learning, and developing not only the mind, but also self-esteem and leadership qualities. They strive constantly to build a community, not just a school, and they are firmly fixed on the future, not struggling to keep an iron grip on the past. And when problems do arise (which, of course they will), issues are discussed openly with parents and students, and solutions are reached together. It is, in short, a most refreshing change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

Khabele is the best thing that has ever happened to either of my teenagers and to my family. The atmosphere the Khabeles have created of openness, love of learning, and trust has inspired our children to work hard, stay away from drugs and alcohol, and value others' differences. Each teacher is so dynamic and passionate about his or her work and that passion affects the students dramatically. As is the case with any high school, issues bubble up, and the healthy direct approach to dealing with problems has been a great model for our kids--there's been a palpable change in the climate of our household since they've been attending Khabele. I am so grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

Our son is on his 4th year at Khabele. This school achieves the impossible: Students actually enjoy learning and take on responsibility. The school strives for excellence in academics and social awareness. Students are taught to become responsible, empathetic citizens of the world. Contrary to another comment here, they also have among the very strictest anti-drug codes in existence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

This school is amazing. It's what we've been looking for for so many years. It's a supportive, safe, wholesome, progressive, intelligent, loving, innovative, creative, modern, technologically forward environment. My son has never been happier. I am delighted with this school, I can't imagine a better environment for my son. Watching him blossom is like a dream come true. He has some wonderful friends and comes home with wonderful ideas. He loves school. The teachers are so caring and so professional, the staff is so dedicated. I highly recommend this school if you are looking for a genuine, loving and truly modern school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

This is the most amazing and unique school in Austin, and probably in Texas or the U.S. The blend of academics and community helps teach students how to treat others with respect, dignity and honesty. There is a great emphasis on becoming a person who loves learning, which is antithetical to most public school programs. There are opportunities for diverse, multicultural learning in ways that would never occur in a large, faceless public school. Khabele is a gem that we are lucky to have found in the heart of Austin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

As a researcher & lifelong educator , I have strong ideas about what kind of educational experience I prefer my children have. When our oldest child completed elementary school, my husband and I looked for a place that would offer a balance between academic structure and opportunities for self-directed learning. We sought a place that was diverse, inclusive, challenging, values-based, calm, focused, and engaging. We found all that at the Khabele School. Over the past four years, our children have flourished at the school and we feel fortunate to be a part of a learning community. We know our children's friends AND their families; we are in close contact with the school's teachers and administrators. We are grateful for the high level of communication and engagement. The students learn not just their academic material, but also how to lead, how to serve, and how to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

The public high school that our older children attended seemed to have labels like 'kicker,' 'gangsta,' 'brainiac,' 'jock,' 'geek,' or 'stoner' for most of the students, with compulsory membership in corresponding social groups; and an academic regimen that equated scholarship with memorization of data without regard for its relevance. Investigating the Khabele School as an alternative for our youngest, I trotted out my own labels, like 'new age,' 'politically correct,' and 'ingenuous,' until I visited the campus and attended classes and student body functions. I was impressed. As far as I can see, everyone likes to be there, because everyone is recognized and appreciated as a complete person, continually encouraged, supported, and celebrated as they develop in mind, body, spirit, and personal integrity. It's school policy. It's real. Go see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

I had to pull my child out of the school because of the great drug culture and lack of discipline shown in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Something magical is happening here. This is a school that really cares for kids. From the talented team of Moya and Khotso Khabele through the ranks of the dedicated teachers, this is a place that shows a respect to the students that allows them to blossom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

The caring environment and the committed faculty at The Khabele School have helped our daughter find a comfortable place where she can really learn. Her enthusiasm then rubs off on the rest of the family. Her increased interest in learning has made her happier with herself, and with everyone else. Each student receives a level of attention that could never be duplicated in the public school system. The reliance on students for leadership gives each student a chance to shine. Academically the school is good, allowing each student to learn at her own pace, and training the best older students as teaching assistants. Students work closely with parents and faculty in leadership roles. Great arts opportunities, including world music, creative writing, art, and choir. Many students take aikido. Other sports include track & soccer. Parental involvement is pretty intensive, including parent training sessions
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

My son went to Khabele School from 8th through 12th grade. I would highly recommend this school to any child who learns faster with individualized academics and a smaller student/teacher ratio. My son graduated from the school feeling very good about himself, his accomplishments and his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 31%
Black 3% 13%
Hispanic 3% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Khotso Khabele
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • TAAP
Fax number
  • (512) 322-0987

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Gardening
  • Literary magazine
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • The Khabele School serves early childhood through 12th grade beginning with a Montessori foundation and progressing to an International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme. We serve children on three campuses in Austin, and our motto is "A Community for a Peaceful World."
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
100
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
200

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Need based only for middle and high school spots

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Rio Grande Street
Austin, TX 78701
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 480-8142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT