Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The Khabele School, founded in 2001, is an independent day school serving more than 500 students and their families from 18 months old through 12th grade across three campuses in Austin, Texas. Khabele is Austin s only Montessori and International Baccalaureate school. Across the entire school, we purposely nurture a culture and learning environment founded in authenticity, character development, conflict resolution, and mindfulness. Our vision is to cultivate learning communities in which each and every student, parent, and staff member falls in love with learning, realizes their profound beauty, and lives with courage and authenticity. Our mission is to provide an effective, transformational, and community-oriented educational experience for children ages 18 months through high school.
November 11, 2014

5 stars
Based on 71 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

73 reviews of this school


The Khabele School 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in her second year at the Middle School at Khabele, and it's been a fantastic experience for our whole family. She's always been a good student, but she was bored and unhappy with the institutional, one-size-fits-all education in her large, public elementary. She is flourishing at Khabele and loves school for the first time ever. She calls it her second home. Teachers and students have warm, sincere relationships, and teachers are allowed room to be creative and to change things up based on their students' needs. Also, the feeling of community among students, teachers, staff, and parents is phenomenal. Students are appreciated for their uniqueness and are nurtured, both academically and emotionally. Khabele really does deliver the total package of academic strength combined with focus on the social and emotional needs of middle and high school students. I am thankful that we discovered The Khabele School.

The Khabele School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2014
- a school leader
The Khabele School, founded in 2001, is an independent day school serving more than 500 students and their families from 18 months old through 12th grade across three campuses in Austin, Texas. Khabele is Austin s only Montessori and International Baccalaureate school. Across the entire school, we purposely nurture a culture and learning environment founded in authenticity, character development, conflict resolution, and mindfulness. Our vision is to cultivate learning communities in which each and every student, parent, and staff member falls in love with learning, realizes their profound beauty, and lives with courage and authenticity. Our mission is to provide an effective, transformational, and community-oriented educational experience for children ages 18 months through high school.


The Khabele School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a community member
Khabele's staffs are great and friendly. They always listen to their students' opinion in class and attempt to improve the classes every year.

The Khabele School 3

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
real learning academy.it has its ups and downs not bad but not extremely good. I dont feel as though my child the best here but it is better than his district school.

The Khabele School 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
The Kkabele School is what education should be; the amazing and talented teachers ignite the fires of curiosity. Students are given the opportunity to explore and dig deep in an environment that is safe, rich, open and fully supported. Resulting in an education that creates a desire to learn for learnings sake. We took a giant leap of faith and moved to Austin so that our daughter could attend Khabele and it has proved to be one of the best decisions that we have ever made.


The Khabele School 5

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Khabele for two years and love it. Our son is a musician and I cannot imagine another school where is passion would be better cultivated.

The Khabele School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
My kids have been going to Khabele for 2 years and the teachers and community are awesome. Khabele is a non-profit secular, Montessori based preschool and elementary. I think some of the most valuable things taught to my kids are emotional intelligence and principles of peaceful living.

The Khabele School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
We are new to the Khabele School--our daughter started in an early elementary classroom there five weeks into the school year--and we could not be happier with our experience. We were seeking a learning environment where our child could master skills at her own pace and where she would be encouraged to think deeply about the things that interest her. Her guides made her transition to school easy; with love, kindness and grace they welcomed her into their classroom. She comes home from school each day excited about her work. The Khabele School's emphasis on global learning and peace education is a perfect match for our family ethos. We look forward to being a Khabele family for years to come.


The Khabele School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
Khabele is a place where I am confident and happy to send my children everyday. Everyone is appreciated and respected for their individualism. The children are given trust and taught to respect this trust. Most kids take this trust and learn how to optimize and build upon their goals, talents and passions. It is something that gives the kids great confidence, maturity and willingness to reach for extraordinary things. I can't say enough about the unique, enriching, powerful experience that my children are living and learning each day at Khabele!!

The Khabele School 5

Posted September 16, 2012
- a parent
Our son graduated from Khabele a year ago (May 2011) and was very well-prepared for university. He is in his second year (17-year-old sophomore) at UT Austin majoring in Plan II Honors Degree Program as well as Dean's Scholars Honors Degree Program (Physics) with an almost 4.0 GPA in his university work. He enjoyed Khabele from 6th-12th grade and as parents, so did we. It's a great school and community. Go Khabele Class of 2011! It's a great school for a wide variety of young people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Khabele School
801 Rio Grande Street, Austin, TX  78701
(512) 480-8142
Last modified The Khabele School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Khabele School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. Top