Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gorzycki Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1264 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

My son is finishing 7th grade at Gorzycki. We have been extremely pleased with the school overall. Communication between teachers and parents is very well done. Communication between the school and parents is also well done. The band program is extraordinary. The band teachers teach with dedication and excellence, while genuinely caring for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

Huge disappointment. The average class size is 27 students. Teaching strategies consist of "warm-ups" (teach yourself), worksheet packets and electronic worksheets such as Achieve 3000 and Think Through Math. Class periods are brief (42 minutes), and a lot of work is sent home for parents to go over with their children. On a positive note, the campus appears clean and safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

We struggled with whether to send our child to a magnet or the local junior high. In the end, we chose the latter and are so thankful we did! Gorzycki is truly a great school with an amazing Fine Arts program, accelerated math classes, and challenging pre-AP core classes. My only complaint is that classes are short and class sizes are large, but that is an inherent problem with Texas public schools and the only way to make classes longer is to cut other programs which I personally am not in favor of. In my opinion, curriculum should extend to the home and it s up to the parents to enforce homework and enrich it by exposing their children to other education experiences through books, travels and even games. As for Gorzycki, you couldn t ask for a better school or find teachers who care more. It is a safe place for children to make their transition from elementary to high school and gain confidence as they do so. I will also add that the principal and counselors are very accessible via email or a phone call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

Gorzycki Middle school - very disappointing. We moved to the area and our daughter had to attend this school. The politics amongst the parents makes you the parent feel like you yourself are back in middle school. A group of us parents can't get over this. And this is supposed to be a better school?? The other school we went to was much, much better, again VERY disappointing.


Posted September 30, 2013

I am a student who loves to learn, i enjoy reading writing and science most. While i was here the teachers treated me poorly because i have a 504 for reduced distraction environments. The students bullied me and even though i told an adult no one cared. I think the staff are very rude to me too, a teacher at lunch took my spot while i went in the lunch line and when i came back i had to sit near a mean group of girls and the teacher did NOT care whatsoever. My math teacher in 6th grade did not have any motivation to help me in this subject at all (i struggle in math) i went to tutoring and no one helped me even when i asked. Though i was happy Duke university looked at me and i was chosen to take the SAT the teachers,peers, and staff were very unsupportive. In PE i cannot participate due to an injury and i get teased a lot for that. I talked to my coach, assistant principal, and counselor and all denied me help.I think if you are uptight and amazing at everything, have a good social life, and don't like help this is a good school for you. I feel very strongly about this. Please take this into consideration while choosing schools, best regards,a student who cares about your leaning.


Posted July 28, 2013

my school is cowan elemantary school it is a great school with activites to have fun and learn ! we have plays in almost every grade ! in 5th grade we go on a 3 day 2 night field trip to mckinny roughs. we go to the alamo in fourth grade . we go to sea world in second grade! our teachers are great. they make sure the children are having fun and doing their work.this is a great school!


Posted July 20, 2013

I attended Gorzycki for 6 and 7th grades. I think out of all middle schools in Austin, or at least South Austin, Gorzycki is one of the best. The teachers are very nice and the homework load isn't too bad. My all time favorite teacher in this school is Mr. Sindt, he teaches 7 or 8th grade math, AP and regular. He is so funny and makes the whole class laugh. The projects that he gave us were really cool and fun! That goes for all the teachers, though. Over all its a very good school, but some of the students can be a little snooty and mean, but that may have just been my experience. I didn't notice a huge problem with bullying or bullying at all and my friends and I never had a problem with anyone. The only reason I didn't come back for 8th grade is because Gorzycki just wasn't a good fit for me, if i was a different person then i would be over joyed to come back to school.


Posted March 6, 2013

I have had children attending Gorzycki (GMS) since it opened, and have nothing but positive things to say about the teachers and the staff. My children have been challenged thru Pre-AP classes, and teachers are available for before and after school tutoring when needed. They are prompt to return calls or emails. The counselors are also readily available. When had an issue our 2nd year with a child being bullied - the principal and AP stepped in immediately and took care of the situation. Standardized test scores are some of the very top in the district!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

I would NOT recommend this school. My son came to Gorzycki as a straight A student missing only 1 TAKS question in the fifth grade. After 1 year at the school he was demotivated. As a parent I considered moving him but decided he needed to learn to deal with all kinds of people. We just started seventh grade and are having similar problems. Teachers who give poor grades because the student did not do exactly what they wanted. Identical work product turned in as a group assignement; one student got a 50 the other got a 100. Honor students making a 40 on a Science quiz. The previous year my son turned in an assignment that was 9 out of 12 grades for the six weeks but the only information he received back was the grade, no comments or how he could have done better. What are we teaching with a grade and no feedback? Horrible experience, I'm shopping for private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!! i love EVERY teacher and I'm getting so smart! Thank you so much Gorzycki!!!


Posted June 7, 2012

The school is beautiful, it has new technology, and a good principal, but one of the counselors was amazingly unhelpful and discourteous. It also lacks in high academic standards. My child attended from 6th through 8th grade, took all pre-AP courses and was not challenged at all, and in fact was sent home with coloring packets in Science and Social Studies and would get points off if something was the "wrong" color. She learned everything she needed to know in excellent elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

I do not agree with the previous review. My son is an 8th grader. Which means that his group is the first 6th graders graduating this year. This means that we are the first batch completing all the 3 years in this middle school. My experience here was amazing. Great teachers, parents, students vice principal and principal. When I look forward to high school, I do know we will be missing this environment a LOT. The teachers are very supportive and respond to your message the same day. All the teachers are excellent. My son never wants to miss a day. All the appointments are scheduled after school so we do not miss any homework. It needs a great teacher to change a child's life and these teachers have that potential. The algebra teacher is amazing and very motivating. My son just loves attending her class. He looks forward to that class every day. Hats off to the TEACHERS of GORZYCKI!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

It has a beautiful, new facility and a strong fine arts department. However, old fashioned, outdated teaching which relies on parents to do most of the teaching at home is the norm. Students have eight 42 minutes classes per day that do not allow for in depth, thorough teaching. Electives are limited and they should have block scheduling like most modern day middle school models. The school has great parent involvement and high achieving kids. However, there are little or no programs in place for struggling kids. Systems are still not in place after three years. Things are very disorganized for basic things like registration. There is a weak understanding and implementation of differientiated curriculum. Teaching teams do not communicate with parents or each other. This school has the potential to be great. It just isn't there yet. Test scores are high because of the excellent elementary feeder schools for this middle school and most students have educated parents and the means to help their kids or hire tutors. I would say that it is an average middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

330 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

330 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

345 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

345 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

340 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

258 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

257 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

255 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

255 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian95%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education82%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education71%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education95%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female93%
Male97%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education82%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education91%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education83%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education94%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education74%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian96%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education71%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian96%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education72%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education89%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education76%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male89%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education79%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education85%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education64%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • This school did not receive a rating in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 29%
Hispanic 26% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • VICKIE BAUERLE
Fax number
  • (512) 841-8601

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7412 West Slaughter Lane
Austin, TX 78749
Phone: (512) 841-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Veritas Academy
Austin, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT