Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gorzycki Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
I know they receive a lot less homework than many schools, but I think ALL schools give too much homework these days.

Gorzycki Middle School 5

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
Yes, the classes are big. It's a big school. That is partially because it is such a great school that people are desperate to move into the neighborhood (ask any realtor about that) or get a transfer for their child. After being accepted to Kealing, my daughter made the choice to go to Gorzycki instead - and she tells me often how happy she is that she made the right decision. She's in 8th grade this year, and yes she has had a couple of teachers which she didn't love, but only one teacher out of 8 each year is a pretty good record. We have not experienced any bullying or other inappropriate behavior. Yes, they are middle schoolers and they have their issues, but the staff at GMS does a good job of keeping them in check. I can tell you that if you don't like this school, please consider transferring your child to a different school - there are A LOT of people waiting to get transfers into GMS and they will happily and eagerly take your child's spot.


Gorzycki Middle School 3

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
Classes are big, students do very little in depth writing or reading. The student are from well educated families so they are smart in general, but there is not much rigor here. And it's getting very crowded. The fine arts programs and athletics are solid, but as the school grows and grows, only the top kids will get to participate at any level of sports.

Gorzycki Middle School 1

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
Not what you expect from a top rated school... Too many kids in classes(27-29), not enough challenge for my honor student (seriously, generic worksheets???) who is in AP classes. Definitely a disappointment, we are looking into private schools.

Gorzycki Middle School 1

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Homework is a major issue Gorzycki can work on. He does not learn anything from it; he learns no skills he will use later in life or currently. The worksheets are straight from a book and no effort is made for homework help when I request tortoring sessions.Even the art class is very text-book-encouraging too. Projects are also from a website and very painstaking to get the correct supplies for. No creative notion is made in any classwork, homework, or some projects.(ex. i-search project) Simply terrible! My child is becoming a drone!


Gorzycki Middle School 4

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
We are new to TX and I must say I was overwhelmed with moving, adjusting kids to school etc....the registration process was easy, staff was nice, teachers have been wonderful, the electives there are amazing such variety, my son has never been so happy with a school! I do think the parent portal and cloud stuff is ridiculous and too hard to access. So far I am very impressed with AISD and Gorzycki.

Gorzycki Middle School 4

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
My son is finishing 7th grade at Gorzycki. We have been extremely pleased with the school overall. Communication between teachers and parents is very well done. Communication between the school and parents is also well done. The band program is extraordinary. The band teachers teach with dedication and excellence, while genuinely caring for the students.

Gorzycki Middle School 1

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
Huge disappointment. The average class size is 27 students. Teaching strategies consist of "warm-ups" (teach yourself), worksheet packets and electronic worksheets such as Achieve 3000 and Think Through Math. Class periods are brief (42 minutes), and a lot of work is sent home for parents to go over with their children. On a positive note, the campus appears clean and safe.


Gorzycki Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
We struggled with whether to send our child to a magnet or the local junior high. In the end, we chose the latter and are so thankful we did! Gorzycki is truly a great school with an amazing Fine Arts program, accelerated math classes, and challenging pre-AP core classes. My only complaint is that classes are short and class sizes are large, but that is an inherent problem with Texas public schools and the only way to make classes longer is to cut other programs which I personally am not in favor of. In my opinion, curriculum should extend to the home and it s up to the parents to enforce homework and enrich it by exposing their children to other education experiences through books, travels and even games. As for Gorzycki, you couldn t ask for a better school or find teachers who care more. It is a safe place for children to make their transition from elementary to high school and gain confidence as they do so. I will also add that the principal and counselors are very accessible via email or a phone call.

Gorzycki Middle School 2

Posted November 15, 2013
- a community member
Gorzycki Middle school - very disappointing. We moved to the area and our daughter had to attend this school. The politics amongst the parents makes you the parent feel like you yourself are back in middle school. A group of us parents can't get over this. And this is supposed to be a better school?? The other school we went to was much, much better, again VERY disappointing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gorzycki Middle School
7412 West Slaughter Lane, Austin, TX  78749
(512) 841-8600
Last modified Gorzycki Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gorzycki Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top