Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clayton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 889 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 8, 2013

My only regret is that my child attended two years at this school. I wish she could have attended K-5 because the school is such a warm, welcoming place with some incredible teachers and a principal who interacts with the students regularly and seems to care for each and every one. This is a place where students learn, but are also nurtured and taught to be good people. A lot of it has to do with the mentality of the parents in this community, of course. But the school reinforces the good behavior. It's a little haven in Southwest Austin -- a great place to grow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My son just finished 4th grade and he enjoyed his year at Clayton. He had great teachers who were very creative with games and supportive letting kids grow at their own pace. We have another kid who is now in high school and have seen many schools in several states and I have not heard of such a creative teacher anywhere. The atmosphere at the school is very friendly and not heard of any issues like bullying etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

My son has been in this school since 3rd grade. Overall, the school atmosphere is very welcoming and kind. The principal is very hands on, knows every child and family. We've been lucky to get some really good teachers in all 3 grade levels. There have been some dissapointing teachers, who left a year after, so thinking, the review process may be working. If your child is above average, to gifted, there are some teachers who really work to give them differentiated instruction. They create smaller groups and give them different books to read for literature circles, give them different math packets etc. If a child is falling behind, they are called in for tutoring(i know this for math), not sure of other subjects. Wish they had more after school activities/ clubs like spelling bee/ geography bee, science club, etc. They have the Math pentathlon, that is very difficult to get in because of limited slots and gender balancing. Overall, very good school when compared to the overall AISD schools around. Overall, there is a good community feel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

Have had two students at Clayton, one in middle school now and one in upper elementary (started since K). They have both been challenged and supported academically very well. My middle schooler has been effectively prepared for the magnet school and does very well with peers from across Austin (coming from both public and private elementary schools). Clayton classes seem to be built around a differentiated model. In our experience, kids often have small group and station work, both with the teacher and cooperatively. This allows for tiers/levels of learning to reach different needs and levels. Effective use of technology as well. We have been very pleased overall with the campus and the dedicated faculty and staff. And might I add, the library program and Mrs. Tuttle are tops! Kids are so excited about reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

There are some very good teachers at this school, but also some very poor teachers. The instruction seems to lack scope and sequence and the curriculum focus seems to differ from teacher to teacher. No evidence of grade level planning or cross grade level planning. My child completed the some of the same activities (down to the worksheets) in both Kindergarten and First Grade. Principal is very involved with students and makes a real effort to make each feel special. Unsure of her role as instructional lead of the campus. Teachers are often not dressed professionally. If your child is "average" not above or below, you will probably not have any issues with Clayton.


Posted March 27, 2012

Have had a great experience here. Very supportive faculty and staff, lots of volunteers working in the school. In general, a great community and school for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

My child is a kindergarten student at Clayton Elementary. So far, I've been disappointed with the lack of communication from her teacher. I'm also surprised and frustrated that parent volunteers are not allowed IN the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

This is an amazing school!! I have a child in 5 th grade who has been a cardinal scince kinder back in 2006 and a second grader. Everybody who works there is nice and helpful. All the teachers that we have had are allways interested in the best for the kids and wanting them to achieve their goals. We are so lucky to live inthis community :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

Under the leadership of Dr. Robinette, this school is so amazing. She knows EVERY child's name and greets them daily in the hallways, at drop off, at pick up, and in the class. She is very hands-on. The librarian is amazing too. She keeps a wonderful selection of books and creates lots of fun ways to get them all the kids reading. If we were not moving, I would be thrilled and honored to keep all of my children there until the end of 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Clayton teachers and staff have been wonderfully supportive of our family, both our high-achieving son who needs to be challenged academically and for our daughter who is struggling with some attention and focus issues. Clayton demands high academic and behavior standards and has a very involved parent community. We have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

Our family loves the school and our children have gotten a great education at Clayton. In a school of almost 1000 students, not only are kids' needs met in the classroom, the administrative and counseling staff take extra interest in each child. As Cardinals, we feel a part of the Clayton community and enjoy the learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

I have two children at Clayton and have been very pleased so far. The administration and faculty really do care about the children as individuals, and despite the overcrowding, they make each child feel special. Parents are always welcome at school. Teachers are willing to accommodate individual learning differences, and they succeed in reaching students of all kinds. When my kids leave Clayton, they will be well prepared for what lies ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

We love Clayton! Mrs. Kruger (K) has been the most fantastic teacher we could ever have hoped to get - we wish we could have her every year :-) Clayton has been overwhelmed with kids this past year, but never skipped a beat from my perspective! Makes me want to go back to elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

My two girls both love being part of Clayton. The teachers and administration are dedicated and caring. With 1000 students at the school, it amazes me that the principal knows all of the children by name - and many of their siblings (school age or not). The sense of community is incredible. We can from a private school and were anxious about joining such a large school, but those anxieties have been erased. It is a cooperative, supportive, non-competitive environment and I believe the children can sense that and they definitely benefit from it. The other surprise was the level of differentiation and overall student achievement. We are lucky to be surrounded by motivated, bright students with teachers that want them to continue to grow and reach their potentials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

We were extremely disappointed in Clayton elementary. Promises made by the Principal and other Administrative staff with regards to our child's needs were not met and the lack of attention was disappointing. The classroom and school environment seemed to be disorganized and chaotic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

My two children love being Cardinals. Clayton is a large school but still very family oriented and high achieving. Lots of activities, volunteering, extracurricular options (Math Pentathlon, Volleyball, Robotics, Choir, Scouts, etc.) The place feels welcoming and like home. Anyone can get invloved easily. Also, great librarian and library program. Knight Readers for excellence this year. Last year, they were Reading Rangers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

Absolutely wonderful! The administration is not only forward thinking and innovative but they are warm and caring. The teachers are also great.. I have three children in school and for the past two years have been pleased with the level of learning, home-work, extra-curricular activities etc. As a new school, there are definitely areas of improvement but most in items needed for the school library books, texts books, computer and other media. Overall it is just a great place for our children to begin their academic careers. And Dr. Robinet is one of the greatest and most personable people I have ever met. She truly cares for each and every child what a wonderful role model!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

The admin. and the school as a whole are excellent. Clayton missed the Exemplary rating only by 3 students. Guidance counselor is wonderful. It's a young school, & some of the teachers are yet to catch up to the vision of the administration. I have been surprised at the lack of knowledge of my child's K and 1st teachers wrt alternative learning styles, motor delays and learning disabilities. The K teacher just didn't 'get' my child & didn't make an effort to understand her. The 1st grade teacher gets an 'A' for effort but doesn't fully understand how to accomodate a child with disabilities. I love the school's positive atmosphere, care for each child, vision, etc., but this particular aspect has been disappointing. Still, despite a possible move in the future, I would do my best to keep my child at Clayton. The principal/ass. prin are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

Mrs. Kietlinski is the best Kindergarden teacher. My son has learned so much from her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

The administrators and faculty at Clayton are absolutely fantastic and have a warm and caring child-focused philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

133 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

134 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

134 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

134 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

132 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

125 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education85%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education77%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education80%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education83%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian96%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education50%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education57%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian96%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education69%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian91%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education69%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education71%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 31%
Hispanic 14% 50%
Asian 10% 3%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7525 La Crosse Ave
Austin, TX 78739
Phone: (512) 841-9200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT