Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 923
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
we moved from out of state and everyone from the office staff to the teachers has gone out of their way to make us feel welcome THANK YOU!!!

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Clayton is simply exceptional! My daughter only attended Kindergarten at Clayton, but it was such an amazing experience. She gained so much confidence and so much excitement about learning! The environment is so safe and nurturing. Our teacher (Beisel, LOVE her) sent almost daily email updates and the office staff are superb! The principal (Dr. Robinette) is amazing. She truly cares about each student, and knows them all by name. The parents are very involved at Clayton, which probably makes a big difference. LOVE this school!


Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
My only regret is that my child attended two years at this school. I wish she could have attended K-5 because the school is such a warm, welcoming place with some incredible teachers and a principal who interacts with the students regularly and seems to care for each and every one. This is a place where students learn, but are also nurtured and taught to be good people. A lot of it has to do with the mentality of the parents in this community, of course. But the school reinforces the good behavior. It's a little haven in Southwest Austin -- a great place to grow up.

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My son just finished 4th grade and he enjoyed his year at Clayton. He had great teachers who were very creative with games and supportive letting kids grow at their own pace. We have another kid who is now in high school and have seen many schools in several states and I have not heard of such a creative teacher anywhere. The atmosphere at the school is very friendly and not heard of any issues like bullying etc.

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
My son has been in this school since 3rd grade. Overall, the school atmosphere is very welcoming and kind. The principal is very hands on, knows every child and family. We've been lucky to get some really good teachers in all 3 grade levels. There have been some dissapointing teachers, who left a year after, so thinking, the review process may be working. If your child is above average, to gifted, there are some teachers who really work to give them differentiated instruction. They create smaller groups and give them different books to read for literature circles, give them different math packets etc. If a child is falling behind, they are called in for tutoring(i know this for math), not sure of other subjects. Wish they had more after school activities/ clubs like spelling bee/ geography bee, science club, etc. They have the Math pentathlon, that is very difficult to get in because of limited slots and gender balancing. Overall, very good school when compared to the overall AISD schools around. Overall, there is a good community feel


Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
Have had two students at Clayton, one in middle school now and one in upper elementary (started since K). They have both been challenged and supported academically very well. My middle schooler has been effectively prepared for the magnet school and does very well with peers from across Austin (coming from both public and private elementary schools). Clayton classes seem to be built around a differentiated model. In our experience, kids often have small group and station work, both with the teacher and cooperatively. This allows for tiers/levels of learning to reach different needs and levels. Effective use of technology as well. We have been very pleased overall with the campus and the dedicated faculty and staff. And might I add, the library program and Mrs. Tuttle are tops! Kids are so excited about reading.

Clayton Elementary School 2

Posted May 17, 2012
- a community member
There are some very good teachers at this school, but also some very poor teachers. The instruction seems to lack scope and sequence and the curriculum focus seems to differ from teacher to teacher. No evidence of grade level planning or cross grade level planning. My child completed the some of the same activities (down to the worksheets) in both Kindergarten and First Grade. Principal is very involved with students and makes a real effort to make each feel special. Unsure of her role as instructional lead of the campus. Teachers are often not dressed professionally. If your child is "average" not above or below, you will probably not have any issues with Clayton.

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
Have had a great experience here. Very supportive faculty and staff, lots of volunteers working in the school. In general, a great community and school for our children.


Clayton Elementary School 2

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
My child is a kindergarten student at Clayton Elementary. So far, I've been disappointed with the lack of communication from her teacher. I'm also surprised and frustrated that parent volunteers are not allowed IN the classroom.

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2012
- a parent
This is an amazing school!! I have a child in 5 th grade who has been a cardinal scince kinder back in 2006 and a second grader. Everybody who works there is nice and helpful. All the teachers that we have had are allways interested in the best for the kids and wanting them to achieve their goals. We are so lucky to live inthis community :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clayton Elementary School
7525 La Crosse Avenue, Austin, TX  78739
(512) 841-9200
Last modified Clayton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clayton Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top