Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clayton Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The Principal Dr Robinett is an amazing woman, principal, and leader. My kids have been to a few elementary schools in other towns and I have never seen a principal with a level of dedication and spirit as this woman. If all schools had someone as amazing as her running them our education worries would be over. I consider my kids lucky to be in her school! I AM GREATFUL FOR HER DEDICATION!!!

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Clayton Elementary has an exceptional special needs program. Our daughter received exceptional service and outstanding support all wrapped up in a warm and caring environment. Ms. Lora Netherland and her staff are the best of the best. The principal is dedicated to providing a superior inclusion program and we are so happy that our daughter was able to spend her elementary school years there. The music teacher is amazing, the programs he coordinated were outstanding. All of the teachers embrace inclusion in a meaningful way. Thank you for the memories, they are cherished ones for our daughter and for our family.


Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
we moved from out of state and everyone from the office staff to the teachers has gone out of their way to make us feel welcome THANK YOU!!!

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Clayton is simply exceptional! My daughter only attended Kindergarten at Clayton, but it was such an amazing experience. She gained so much confidence and so much excitement about learning! The environment is so safe and nurturing. Our teacher (Beisel, LOVE her) sent almost daily email updates and the office staff are superb! The principal (Dr. Robinette) is amazing. She truly cares about each student, and knows them all by name. The parents are very involved at Clayton, which probably makes a big difference. LOVE this school!

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
My only regret is that my child attended two years at this school. I wish she could have attended K-5 because the school is such a warm, welcoming place with some incredible teachers and a principal who interacts with the students regularly and seems to care for each and every one. This is a place where students learn, but are also nurtured and taught to be good people. A lot of it has to do with the mentality of the parents in this community, of course. But the school reinforces the good behavior. It's a little haven in Southwest Austin -- a great place to grow up.


Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My son just finished 4th grade and he enjoyed his year at Clayton. He had great teachers who were very creative with games and supportive letting kids grow at their own pace. We have another kid who is now in high school and have seen many schools in several states and I have not heard of such a creative teacher anywhere. The atmosphere at the school is very friendly and not heard of any issues like bullying etc.

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
My son has been in this school since 3rd grade. Overall, the school atmosphere is very welcoming and kind. The principal is very hands on, knows every child and family. We've been lucky to get some really good teachers in all 3 grade levels. There have been some dissapointing teachers, who left a year after, so thinking, the review process may be working. If your child is above average, to gifted, there are some teachers who really work to give them differentiated instruction. They create smaller groups and give them different books to read for literature circles, give them different math packets etc. If a child is falling behind, they are called in for tutoring(i know this for math), not sure of other subjects. Wish they had more after school activities/ clubs like spelling bee/ geography bee, science club, etc. They have the Math pentathlon, that is very difficult to get in because of limited slots and gender balancing. Overall, very good school when compared to the overall AISD schools around. Overall, there is a good community feel

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
Have had two students at Clayton, one in middle school now and one in upper elementary (started since K). They have both been challenged and supported academically very well. My middle schooler has been effectively prepared for the magnet school and does very well with peers from across Austin (coming from both public and private elementary schools). Clayton classes seem to be built around a differentiated model. In our experience, kids often have small group and station work, both with the teacher and cooperatively. This allows for tiers/levels of learning to reach different needs and levels. Effective use of technology as well. We have been very pleased overall with the campus and the dedicated faculty and staff. And might I add, the library program and Mrs. Tuttle are tops! Kids are so excited about reading.


Clayton Elementary School 2

Posted May 17, 2012
- a community member
There are some very good teachers at this school, but also some very poor teachers. The instruction seems to lack scope and sequence and the curriculum focus seems to differ from teacher to teacher. No evidence of grade level planning or cross grade level planning. My child completed the some of the same activities (down to the worksheets) in both Kindergarten and First Grade. Principal is very involved with students and makes a real effort to make each feel special. Unsure of her role as instructional lead of the campus. Teachers are often not dressed professionally. If your child is "average" not above or below, you will probably not have any issues with Clayton.

Clayton Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
Have had a great experience here. Very supportive faculty and staff, lots of volunteers working in the school. In general, a great community and school for our children.

Nearby schools

Clayton Elementary School
7525 La Crosse Avenue, Austin, TX  78739
(512) 841-9200
Last modified Clayton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top