Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blazier Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 970 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

I can only speak on behalf of Ms. Carnine and Ms. Hollander. This was our first year in the school with my son Michael. The level of professionalism-self awareness of student achievement was EXCELLENT. I have 3 other children and only wish that would have teachers with such compassion and driven motivation to ensure every child succeeds. These 2 teachers go way beyond normal duties to meet and exceed parent expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

I unfortunately fell into the "New School (must be good)" trap. We unfortunately suffered some of the same things I have been reading. The teachers were not very kind to communication with me or some other parents I know. We definitely noticed preference given to those who are Hispanic. After visiting the TEA web site, I see that the school is 77% and 10% white which makes sense why we are treated so badly. I am so glad we moved into a better school district. MY daughter is treated much better, and her skills are progressing much quicker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

Blazier is a great school! The principal is amazing as she keeps great communication with her students, teachers and parents. The teachers I have had the pleasure of working with have been pleasant and attentive to the children. My son is going into the 3rd grade and loves his school. I think parent involvement is evolving rapidly. They offer many evenings that parents can participate with their children in fun and learning. I have been very pleased with Blazier Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My son is in the 5th grade at Blazier and he has been here since they first opened. The school is amazing. The teachers are so inspiring and really care about the kids. The kids at Blazier are well mannered and everyone seems to know everyone else. I cannot say enough great things about the choir teacher. She is exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

My family also had a terrible experience at this school. My daughter attended for only half a year, and we broke our lease to move. Her teacher was not sending home handouts or homework. After meeting with her and the vice principal, we started to see some improvement but still were getting homework maybe once a week. My daughter's performance was actually digressing. There was kissing on the playground that was dismissed as CUTE! I truly am outraged by the experience. We were so proud to be sending our daughter to a "Texas" school yet we were more disappointed than any other school she ever attended. Where is the regulation ? And, yes, the school caters to the hispanic population. I was treated rudely by the staff which is mostly hispanic. I am all for diversity but there is not much at this school. It caters to low income families which is also the root of many of the problems. Once we moved to another school district, our experience has been like night and day. I am still in shock by the standards of my daughter's new school. Parents don't lower your expectations or let anyone tell you that you are over reacting...there are good schools out there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

My son went to this school for one LONG year, and we were very disapointed! I think I still have a headache from the experience! I have to admit that my son had a very good teacher, but she was the only one that greeted you with a smile, everyone else was very rude, and don't even think about going to the principal with a concern because she couldn't care less! Her lack of people skills is evident! First I was ignored, then I was told I was over reacting and finally one day she just told me that if I didn't like the school to move my child to a diferent school! Which is exactly what I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have been with this school since they opened doors and had really high hopes! However over the past three years it has just gone down hill. So much o that we have decided to move to another school district at the end of the year! This school's main focus is spanish speaking students and parents. Oh and lets not forget about testing. It seems like all they do is test or practice for testing. Most of the staff is rude and very unhelpful unless you speak spanish. Which we do not. And the parking is just ridiculous. Sorry to be so hard on this school but I really was hoping this school would be great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

My son loves his school. It is only his first year there and he has adapted well. His teacher has been strict (consistent), but he needs that consistency in his routine and he has thrived in her classroom. He doesn't come home with perfect behaviour but then he is not perfect. I also wonder why Blazier has such a low rating when they were recognized last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I wonder why Blazier Elementary School is rated 3 out 10 when the school was RECOGNIZED last year based on TAKS scores. Since it was only our 2nd year I would think that we deserve a higher score than 3 out of 10


Posted June 7, 2009

The year started out great. My daughter loved the school. Then came a new behavior grading system. At least three times a week, my daughter was rated very low on behavior. I was extremely surprised as she's normally well behaved. I also had a request for a parent teacher conference go ignored! I would have ranked the school a 1, but I decided a 2 was better. All the other aspects of the school are fair in my mind. But the teacher my daughter had just could not retain control of her class. My daughter got dismal marks for behavior in her class, but great marks for behavior in Music, Art, and PE. That should speak volumes. I'm sure the other teachers there aren't as bad as the one she had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I have to say that Blazier is growing and with that it is extremely important that more parents become involved with their childs education. Parents need to be informed and this year which is the second year I have seen a wealth of information being sent home to parents. Unfortunantly there is very little response from parents to many of the workshops and presentations being offered at Blazier. Next year promises to be better and I understand that the Parent Specialist will be deligently working with the community to bring resources and information for our Blazier families.


Posted January 29, 2009

My six-year-old, Ethan, began kindergarten at Blazier Fall '08. Previous to Blazier, Ethan was at a Montessori Program for four years. Ethan has transitioned well in his new school environment. He likes making new friends, is flourishing in reading and writing (thanks to his amazing teacher, Ms. Sifuentes), and absolutley loves that he can ride the bus home once per week (started second semester). As a parent, I like that Blazier is extremley clean and well kept. I like that Ethan goes to PE, Music, Art, and Library each week and that he's being exposed to broader base of friends. I've come to learn and understand that your child's education is what a parent makes of it. I am very proud to have Ethan in public education in my neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I have two kids with this school and so far kids love it. They always have good feedback everytime they arrive from school. I agree from the previous parents comment that this school has a very good potential, its just lack of parents cooperation. We cannot always blame it to school or staff for our kids outcome...remember, 'PARENTS ARE THEIR FIRST TEACHERS'...it would be very nice if we parents are always involve to our kids future...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

I have just read the one star reviews from some parents and want to clarify that when recess is taken away from an entire class, that is because the entire class was not behaving at lunch - not just a few students. At Blazier, we have the WOW program which requires 20min of outside/play time on the days when students do not have physical education as their special area to ensure that students are getting some physical activity each day. This is our second year, and the first year we have had a Parent Specialist to help us expand parental participation. We, too, hope that more parents will be involved. As a new school we completed our first year as acceptable - only a few short of being recognized. Our principal has over 20 years experience as an educator, administrator and consultant.


Posted September 18, 2008

My experience has been very positive with teachers, the principal and all the personal in the school. My child loves the school. The school needs more parent participation but Blazier is a great school with great potential, I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Our family also moved out of this school district because we found the school to be unacceptable. Parents were not made welcome at the school, extracurricular activites were barely offered and the practice of denying recess to the whole class because of the behavior of a few was ridiculous. Being a new school is no excuse, especially with experienced teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

I am very upset with the 'lack of' seasoned leadership at this school. Additionally, the principal was un-responsive to phone calls and e-mails. There is a complete disconnect in communications with teachers and parents through-out this school. I'm very glad I've been able to move away and get into another school district. I'll be more careful next time I buy a house in an area that has a new and un-rated school. Those of you still involved with this school, should require immediate improvement before your children's education and development are effected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I was so disapointed with this school. My child would come home so upset because her class had their whole recess taken away from them. They would have to sit with their heads down on their tables the whole recess time because a few of the students were being loud in the cafeteria at lunch. This happened as much as three times a week. I don't think they should use recess as a discipline. The students deserve to get some fresh air and unstructured play. There are other problems I have with this school but not enough room to complain about them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I was very happy to see my child get every morning at 6:00am to get ready for school. Her teacher always kept me up dated on anything that happened at school.My child cant wait to go back to school to learn and see her friends .Give em a break it was their first year.Good luck next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

79 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

75 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

69 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education80%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male92%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female92%
Male95%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education100%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female92%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female94%
Male85%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American89%
Asian80%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female87%
Male90%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black or African American80%
Asian83%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male83%
Black or African American60%
Asian83%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingual90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female75%
Male65%
Black or African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingual78%

Math

All Students65%
Female70%
Male62%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education33%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingual66%

Writing

All Students61%
Female73%
Male50%
Black or African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingual74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female79%
Male72%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education50%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)68%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingual56%

Math

All Students73%
Female76%
Male71%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education38%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)84%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingual83%

Science

All Students77%
Female76%
Male79%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education40%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingual74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 78% 52%
White 10% 29%
Black 8% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 35%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LETICIA PENA
Fax number
  • (512) 841-8801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8601 Nuckols Crossing Road
Austin, TX 78744
Phone: (512) 841-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT