Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blazier Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Tyson, Mrs. Reiser and Mrs. Valdez-Gaynor have all been very supportive of our children and helped them to grow and mature. They've been great with calming this nervous parent down too. I think the proof is in how much my kids have loved their teachers over the years.

Blazier Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
We have had great teachers so far. I wish the class sizes could be smaller, but we have never had a situation where we felt like a teacher didn't understand our child. All of the teachers Have had a great understanding of what areas our children needed to work on and how to play up strengths.


Blazier Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
My children do not receive an overwhelming amount of homework. Both children read 20 to 30 minutes at night and any other homework (excluding special projects) can be completed in about 10 to 15 min of dedicated time. This is perfect for us.

Blazier Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
They have a strong Anti bullying stance and campaign throughout the year to maintain a calm, caring, thoughtful environment for learning.

Blazier Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
We've been going to this school for the past three years and have had great experiences throughout. Both of my children are in the Dual language program. The PTA does a great job putting together "donuts for dads", muffins for moms", school carnivals, movie nights and dances. My son's teachers have all been great at recognizing his strengths and really worked to keep him challenged. All of the teachers we've had so far have done a great job keeping us in the loop regarding performance, they've all been incredibly accessible and open to any questions we may have had. They have also provided us with multiple opportunities to participate in class activities with our children. Shout out to Mrs. Tyson, Mrs. Reiser and Mrs Valdez-Gaynor! We feel so lucky to have had you teach our children!


Blazier Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
I can only speak on behalf of Ms. Carnine and Ms. Hollander. This was our first year in the school with my son Michael. The level of professionalism-self awareness of student achievement was EXCELLENT. I have 3 other children and only wish that would have teachers with such compassion and driven motivation to ensure every child succeeds. These 2 teachers go way beyond normal duties to meet and exceed parent expectations.

Blazier Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
I unfortunately fell into the "New School (must be good)" trap. We unfortunately suffered some of the same things I have been reading. The teachers were not very kind to communication with me or some other parents I know. We definitely noticed preference given to those who are Hispanic. After visiting the TEA web site, I see that the school is 77% and 10% white which makes sense why we are treated so badly. I am so glad we moved into a better school district. MY daughter is treated much better, and her skills are progressing much quicker.

Blazier Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
Blazier is a great school! The principal is amazing as she keeps great communication with her students, teachers and parents. The teachers I have had the pleasure of working with have been pleasant and attentive to the children. My son is going into the 3rd grade and loves his school. I think parent involvement is evolving rapidly. They offer many evenings that parents can participate with their children in fun and learning. I have been very pleased with Blazier Elementary.


Blazier Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
My son is in the 5th grade at Blazier and he has been here since they first opened. The school is amazing. The teachers are so inspiring and really care about the kids. The kids at Blazier are well mannered and everyone seems to know everyone else. I cannot say enough great things about the choir teacher. She is exceptional!

Blazier Elementary School 1

Posted March 03, 2011
- a parent
My family also had a terrible experience at this school. My daughter attended for only half a year, and we broke our lease to move. Her teacher was not sending home handouts or homework. After meeting with her and the vice principal, we started to see some improvement but still were getting homework maybe once a week. My daughter's performance was actually digressing. There was kissing on the playground that was dismissed as CUTE! I truly am outraged by the experience. We were so proud to be sending our daughter to a "Texas" school yet we were more disappointed than any other school she ever attended. Where is the regulation ? And, yes, the school caters to the hispanic population. I was treated rudely by the staff which is mostly hispanic. I am all for diversity but there is not much at this school. It caters to low income families which is also the root of many of the problems. Once we moved to another school district, our experience has been like night and day. I am still in shock by the standards of my daughter's new school. Parents don't lower your expectations or let anyone tell you that you are over reacting...there are good schools out there!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blazier Elementary School
8601 Nuckols Crossing Road, Austin, TX  78744
(512) 841-8800
Last modified Blazier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blazier Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top