Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rutledge Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 18, 2016
- a parent
So, so very grateful for Ms. Alanis for caring so much about my child's education

Rutledge Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2016
- a parent
We moved to Avery Ranch in August of 2015 and I am beyond happy that we've made the decision to send our kiddos to Rutledge. My son has formed friendships with boys who are polite, supportive, and fun! He is so much happier here than the school we came from, which is saying a lot since he had plenty of close friends there as well. The teachers are exceptional. My first grader loves her teacher, Ms. Alanis, so much, that she writes her notes all the time, telling her how much she loves her. Ms. Mahlstadt is everything I was hoping my 4th grader would have as a teacher. She's professional, is creative with her lessons, and my son just adores her!


Rutledge Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
I have seen great growth from my son with both his kindergarten and first grade teachers.

Rutledge Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
My son is in 1st grade and has daily reading and a weekly reading assignment, plus a math assignment a few times a week. Overall, this amount seems just right for a 6-7 year old.

Rutledge Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
The Leader In Me Program at Rutledge Elementary focuses on developing these programs in the students.


Rutledge Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Same as before, the Leader in Me Program at Rutledge focuses on developing this quality in students.

Rutledge Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Again, Rutledge Elementary uses the Leader In Me program, which is focuses on also developing these qualities in the students.

Rutledge Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Rutledge uses the Leader In Me program and that focuses on developing these qualities in the students.


Rutledge Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
My oldest child attends Rutledge Elementary and I strongly feel that this school should be rated a 10 and not a 7. Most of the internet sites rating schools focus solely on test scores. Rutledge is so much more than a number on a test. Rutledge uses the Leader In Me program that utilizes the 7 Habits of Happy Kids, which teaches students to be productive members of society. My son is learning strong academic skills, but he is also learning strong life skills such as how to be proactive, how to problem solve, and how to work well with others. In a time when more and more high school kids are graduating high school woefully ill prepared for college and life, I am very grateful that my son is learning strong academics, but also incredibly important qualities to help him succeed in life. Academics are extremely important, but that can only get a child so far. I am very pleased that Rutledge is our neighborhood school.

Rutledge Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
The staff is very responsive and open to communication with parents. They have been on top of learning needs with my child and proactive in finding solutions as soon as a concern arises. The use of the Leader in Me curriculum adds to an environment of acceptance and respect among students and staff. Academics are stressed, while incorporating art, music, physical activity, and creative learning styles into the mix. We have been VERY happy with our Rutledge experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rutledge Elementary School
11501 Staked Plains Drive, Austin, TX  78717
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (512) 570-6500
Last modified Rutledge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top