Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rutledge Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
They have a strong leadership/ethics program called Leader-In-Me, which is based on Stephen Covey's "7 Habits of Highly Effective People"

Rutledge Elementary School 4

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
When my elder kiddo went to Rutledge, the rating was 9 or so, With my younger kiddo, I see the ratings dropping, and now (Sep 2015), I see the rating is 7. Couple of things I can think of : 1. The principal who left end of last year, may not have been that academically focused. He was good in fund raising etc. The new principal seems more academically focused, so we should see better ratings soon. 2. Rutledge was an early adopter in Stephen Covey's Leader-In-Me program, and kids may have spent lot of time on that. I am impressed when my young one uses principles like"First Things First" or "Think Win-Win" during real life situations. So, I am not saying we should cut back on the Leader-In-Me; what I am saying is that the academic rating that is shown on Greatschools may not tell the whole story, and may be the Leader-In-Me kids will be better citizens/leaders of tomorrow than those 9 and 10 rated school's kids who didn't spend this much time on leadership programs.


Rutledge Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2015
- a teacher
As a parent and teacher, we have always loved our time at Rutledge. The teachers, parents and principal are all very involved and provide a great environment for the kids to thrive. Leander ISD does not create a crazy competitive environment that causes children to hate school and burnout, instead its a right balance of fun and education

Rutledge Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
Rutledge is a great school and we've had our kids here for almost 4 years. The staff and students are great and make for an enriching environment. Its really sad to see Rutledge rated as a 7 in Great Schools, mainly because the ratings are derived from the STAAR tests and if you have a bunch of kids that are bad test takers, it really drops the rating of the school. Its really unfortunate that a school of this quality has to be measured by a single test.

Rutledge Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a teacher
The new principal The Leader In Me The faculty teamwork Special Ed programs Clean and well kept facility Diverse population


Rutledge Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a teacher
Inclusion/mainstreaming of students With special needs fosters a respectful and caring attitude among other students and staff.

Rutledge Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a teacher
The Leader in Me Strong administration Faculty commitment to educate, not simply teach to the test

Rutledge Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2015
- a community member
This the worst school you can ever get your kids to. They really don't care about your kid. They hire teachers who lack compassion. They are not welcoming for new kids. If your kid is good enough and know what they think he/ she was supposed to know and generally nice kid, he will e left by himself. My kid has been ignored because he is well behaved and knows all his stuff. Even if you go and talk to the trencher or the principal, they will do nothing to help your kid succeed. They lack the tools and knowladge. My kid didn't learn a thing since he started going to rutledge elementary, horibble and terrible school.


Rutledge Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Extremely disappointing and an average school. We took our kid out of the mediocrity. No care is taken for k8ds who are academically advanced and their PACE Maths and English program is unsatisfactory.

Rutledge Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
We are in our 4th year at Rutledge and love it! The teachers and administration have a passion for teaching and ensuring our children receive the best overall learning experience. Avery Ranch offers a very tight knit community and this definitely spills over into the school and the parent involvement. There is a very active PTA that takes pride in doing all they can to add value to the school. The building is always very clean and well cares for. Our family is very pleased with the experience this school is offering our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rutledge Elementary School
11501 Staked Plains Drive, Austin, TX  78717
(512) 570-6500
Last modified Rutledge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rutledge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top