Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
80 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Griffin School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Open, welcoming staff celebrating all children's unique personalities and learning styles. Definitely a great place "to be yourself"!

The Griffin School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Small classes, very supportive teachers, wonderful school culture, excellent learning.


The Griffin School 5

Posted September 26, 2009
- a parent
Our son spent his last two years at Griffin and thrived! The teachers provide individual attention and the atmosphere promotes the love of learning, individual and community responsibility, and mutual respect. Our son is thriving now in college as well!

The Griffin School
no rating

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
Our daughter is our second child to go through this incredible program that's not only unique, but outstanding in academic and personal growth. She has attended the full four years here and mostly is exactly who she was when she was younger-curious, playful, undaunted, and encouraged. This is what makes this school so unique. Unlike most schools, by the time your child gets through their typical school, they are someone you don't know anymore. This school nutures your true self, often who you were at an early age before society conforms and changes you into a clone to capitalism, etc. 'It's the best place to be yourself' in high school. Now if we could get the public schools to adopt their approach from k-12! We are about to enter our third child to the program. It's private, but they offer financial aid and it's worth it.

The Griffin School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
My son is very bright, creative, and was alienated at our local public high school where the emphasis is on sports and grades. At Griffin, he was respected and liked for who he is, not who he might be if he were utterly transformed. The teachers knew what he was doing and not doing, and they expected him to do his best and helped him when he wasn't. The essay he wrote for his college application had to do with his discovery of math when he started Griffin and began working with the wonderful math teacher there. Griffin is a place that actually likes and celebrates the energy and imaginaton of adolescents, while providing reasonable boundaries. I'd recommend it highly.


The Griffin School 5

Posted February 08, 2009
- a parent
Our daughter is another transplant from a one-track private school into the rich academic and artistic loam of The Griffin School. She's happy and engaged again. I think immediately of words and phrases such as; thrive, flourish, grow in your own skin and joyful creativity. If you've watched your kid wilting at school, take a look at this place. It's small and under most radars, but I have never heard anything but praise and respect from parents and those who otherwise come into contact with Griffin students.

The Griffin School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
My daughter went to Griffin for all four years. She is a quiet girl and found the large public high school intimidating and wasn't learning. She ended up graduating top of her class at Griffin and got an academic scholarship to Beloit College. She participated in many more school committees and activities than she would have been able to at public school

The Griffin School 5

Posted February 04, 2009
- a community member
Griffin School was voted the 'Best Place to be yourself at school' by the Austin Chronicle. It is really true. The students and teachers value authenticity, community, creativity and hard work.


The Griffin School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
The Griffin School teachers, philosophy, and environment have brought out the best in our son. I'll never be able to say thank you loud enough or as many times as they deserve to hear. Due to space limitations, all I can say is that you owe it to your teen to check it out.

The Griffin School
no rating

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
Something changed when my daughter was a freshman in public high school. Her love of learning disappeared; she struggled with subjects that she was previous good at; her personality changed from carefree to constantly anxious; and her grades dropped. What I learned from her is that she needed to be engaged in personal dialogue with her teachers. She needed to know that she made a difference in her academic community. And, she wanted to be accepted as an individual, free to express her out-of-the-box personality without fear of being ostracized. These things she has found at The Griffin School. As a result, she is academically thriving, and she has become a responsible, accountable adult. Griffin has nurtured my child, prepared her for college and the real world, and taught her that she has precious gifts to share with the world. The Griffin School is simply the best high school in Austin.

Nearby schools

The Griffin School
5001 Evans Ave., Austin, TX  78751
(512) 454-5797
Last modified The Griffin School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top