Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grandview Hills Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
I want to thank Brenda who works in the office. She clearly loves the school, loves the kids, and makes an effort to get to know all of the students and their parents. Thank you Brenda!

Grandview Hills Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
The students from GVHE are far kinder and more compassionate than the students I have met from the other feeder school once you get to the middle school level.


Grandview Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
The IB program and the IB attitudes have been carried home by my kids. I think the program is wonderful.

Grandview Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Both of my children have attended GVHE since kindergarten. My oldest is now at Four Points Middle School. Both of my children are high achieving students and are in the PACE/QUEST programs of the district. GVHE is an IB school, and the smallest elementary in the district. The social/emotional intelligence IB has taught my kids far outweighs any program I experienced as a student myself. And I can see in the middle school that the GVHE kids come in as more understanding and empathetic kids than the kids from the other feeder elementary. The academic rigor is far beyond what I learned in Texas public schools as an advanced student myself (I attended both public and private elementary schools and taught middle school in Texas) and my middle schooler has had no trouble adjusting to the expectations of 6th grade advanced coursework. All schools should have the learning environment that GVHE provides its students. I LOVE this school.

Grandview Hills Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
As an educator myself, I have been involved in many different schools over the past 20 years. Both of my children have attended this school and I have been thrilled with the level of rigor, with the teachers, and both sets of administration. IB places others at the forefront of my children's minds rather than solely looking at our small community. I appreciate the diversity and am pleased with the values that my children are learning.


Grandview Hills Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
We have two children at this school and have had an excellent experience, particularly since Jennifer Andjelic (formerly Farley) took over. From time to time, I've had concerns in the classroom, as is expected, and I've always received courteous feedback and swift action to those concerns. One of my children has been identified as a top performer (Quest and PACE) and our other child has a unique learning style and struggled for a few years. Both children have received the education they need with just a few minor bumps in the road. There are many extraordinary teachers at GHE, the counselor is top-notch, the PE team is incredible, the parent volunteers and PTA are very involved, and the administrators care about educating the whole child. Additionally, children at GHE can participate is low-cost, PTA-sponsored enrichment programs after school, like Garden Club (did I mention there is a school garden?!?), Running Club, Math Pentathlon, Robotics, FLL, Yearbook Club, and Chess Club! The school is outstanding!

Grandview Hills Elementary School 3

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
My third child attends this school and we have been there since it opened. It goes down academically every year and the ratings are getting worse. I blame the administration. Before this principle got here there was more concern for virtually everything. Mediocrity is completely encouraged. I have always tried to support this school but like many more before me I plan to take my child elsewhere once grades count. Also the lack of administrative problem solving ability is appalling and frankly the principle is just rude. My kids have all been top performers and this so so school isn't cutting it anymore. It's too bad it used to be really good now it's pretty much what you'd expect of a public school. Very disappointing.

Grandview Hills Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
The speech therapist and Reading Specialist are fantastic. They have my youngest almost caught up to grade level.


Grandview Hills Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Between snarky emails, unprofessional dress and behavior, the teachers are the worst I have ever encountered.

Grandview Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
What is fair about asking the student to show that they can perform before moving them up and then when they do perform, hold them back? How does that teach fairness or integrity?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grandview Hills Elementary School
12024 Vista Parke Drive, Austin, TX  78726
(512) 570-6800
Last modified Grandview Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grandview Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top