Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Austin EcoSchool

Private | K-5 | 15 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $284,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

I can't say enough great things about the Austin EcoSchool. We are beyond thrilled with the educational opportunities provided to our son throughout the school year. Our son is thriving academically and emotionally, and is excited to go to school every day. The small class sizes ensure that students get ample individual attention and allows each child to explore their own unique interests. Another benefit of the small size- there is zero bullying. Any conflicts are addressed immediately. The principal is phenomenal. She is loving yet firm, treating the students with compassion and respect, and empowers them to be good citizens. As required in a small school, the principal wears many hats. I give her the utmost respect for being an incredible educator while managing the ongoing functions of the school. The teachers are equally wonderful and invested. Our son has made meaningful connections with his teachers. There is a strong community and a great deal of parental involvement working toward keeping the EcoScool a great place. Our son has developed a deep love for learning, and has a spring in his step every morning. We feel very fortunate to have found this great little school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

Austin EcoSchool is a jewel of a school! It has a wonderful, child-centered approach to education with lots of opportunities for hands-on learning. Our daughter loves the spanish and art classes and she is especially fond of village day; where classroom learning (history, literature, drama, mathematics, composition, economics) culminates in a school-wide afternoon of enrichment where students create members of the community, construct homes and businesses, and barter for goods and services. Austin EcoSchool has some of the finest teachers to be found anywhere. They are highly qualified, experienced, certified, kind, patient and dedicated to meeting the emotional, social and academic needs of students. If you are looking for a small school with a relaxed pace, affordable tuition and a healthy focus on academic skills, you and your child(ren) will love Austin EcoSchool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

I love this school for my children. The staff is very caring and responsive to my children's needs and goals. They are quick to answer any questions I have and always follow up with me. My children love it there and were sad when school ended last year for the summer. They are more confident now in social groups, love learning, and are themselves without fear of bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

My daughter joined the school as a kindergardener this year and we couldn't be happier. All the reasons we chose EcoSchool are holding up. The student-teacher ratio is small, she gets a lot of interaction with the older kids (really positive and supportive interaction), she's advancing at her own pace and is reading at a 1st grade level and she absolutely loves going to school every day. I love that she will be part of this community for so many years and that in two more years her little sister gets to join her. I can't say enough about the supportive and nurturing environment created by the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

I took my son out of an Eanes public school after 3rd grade because anxiety over testing was killing his confidence and love of learning. During his two years at EcoSchool, he developed leadership skills, improved his writing, and engaged his brain in creative and critical ways. EcoSchool provides enrichment to all children, not just those labeled "gifted and talented." Teachers work overtime to create a beautiful, inspired learning environment that changes with their lesson plans. You might find the kids caring for baby chickadees hatching in an incubator, listening to a refugee from Uganda tell his story, or sorting through real declassified historical documents in the basement of the LBJ library while pretending to be Soviet spies. Einstein said, "He who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead; his eyes are closed." Public schools and many private schools are putting kids to sleep. EcoSchool wakes them up. My son will transition back into Eanes for middle school, but I have no doubt he will be more successful and take more responsibility for his education as a result of his EcoSchool experiences. He will never forget his time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

My daughter began school here, and at age 5 is reading and doing math at a level well above what I did. The amount of homework she is given is determined between teacher and parents, as is a lot of the rest of the teaching. They make a strong effort to get parent input on what subjects the child's education should emphasize and how much work to give. The science, math, history, etc. teachers all try to make connections between the topics so that each one reinforces the others rather than being taught in isolation. After 6 months, it is still the case that when I remind my daughter on Sunday night that she has school the next day, she gives a cheer. This school gives your child a great attitude towards learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

My children just started attending the Eco School this year and we couldn't be happier. They love the school and I can tell from the homework and discussions we are having that they are challenged and learning a great deal academically. They are excited about learning. Last night my son and daughter were discussing Texas history and what the original territories looked like at dinner. I wasn't really involved in the discussion, they were talking about it together. They are two grades apart and not in the same class but they still like to share what they are learning. It is a joy to be around. The Eco school is filled with caring teachers that respect children and their individual process and yet inspire and guide at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

We love EcoSchool! Our child is appropriately challenged without shame or coercion. When her teachers recognized her capacity for work beyond her grade level, they communicated with us and provided it to her. Mixed age classes allow her to work at the level she is capable of, and socialize with same-aged peers. I really like that she has different teachers who specialize in their subjects (rather than one teacher trying to teach everything) yet the overall well-integrated. My daughter is getting a high quality education with a homeschool feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

EcoSchool nurtures the child's love for learning, and celebrates kids' natural sense of wonder!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

If you are interested in amateur psychological assessment of your child's development rather than educational skill assessment, this is the school for you. If you are more interested in your child learning 'community development' , than reading, writing or arithmetic this is the school for you. If you are opposed to any sort of intellectual development, logical process, or accountability but love potlucks, talent shows, and kid directed learning, this is the school for you. If your kid plans on joining a commune or being a starving artist, this is the school for you. If they want to pass any sort of college exam or later transfer to public school this is not a good choice for you. My kids went to Eco school for one year and then transferred to public school, but not without a summer of private tutoring to catch them up to grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

My children have attended EcoSchool for four years and I couldn't be happier. They love school and love learning. I particularly think the mixed age classrooms are great for kids... there is a sense of family and support rather than a feeling of keeping-up, and measuring -up. They spend a lot of time listening to each other and working out their differences. Great practice for the real world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

This is a day care for school age children - not an actual school. Speak to parents of former students for more information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2009

well behind what a traditional school is teaching. No testing! Children are allowed to fall behind, teachers focus on having fun rather then teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2901 Manachaca
Austin, TX 78704
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 447-8516

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Austin Ecoschool
Austin, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT