Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rawson-Saunders-Austin Area School For Dyslexics

Private | 1-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $460,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Great School For building broken self esteem, and showing your kid how smart they are. The teachers are dedicated and interesting and truly understand how to teach their students. The Head of School is a brilliant, creative, experienced educator, completely committed to her students success. They offer a diverse elective choice and engaging classes. Parent involvement is voluntary and available for those who are interested in the PA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

This is the best school in Austin for children with severe dyslexia. The entire school is geared towards dyslexic learners: everything from the daily schedule, binder system to organize material, physical education, music, art and drama works together to boost the skills that dyslexics lack and build upon the the very real strengths of dyslexic students. We have found the math program (Singapore Math) to be exceptionally strong as well as the drama and art program. The school is expensive and the administration sometimes opaque but they are making great strides in improving communication with parents. For truly dyslexic children the school offers a therapeutic environment that is not available anywhere else. Classes are small and the teachers and CALTs are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

I cannot imagine teaching anywhere else. We have amazing leadership in our administration, who always makes decisions based on what is best for our students. I have seen the heart if this school from behind the scenes, and can say with confidence that every staff member works tirelessly to ensure that students reach their full potential. Not only that, but we truly believe that the potential of our students, often not recognized in other settings, is very high. So we provide them with a rigorous, challenging curriculum that DOES follow and even exceed state standards. Our academic program is held accountable by accrediting agencies, one of which recently award us with the highest possible rating. We meet kids where they are and are not limited by state regulations or bureaucracy. I am so proud to work in an environment where we are able to implement researched based methods in a caring, stimulating environment. I see students' lives changed every year as they receive the education they deserve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2012

Carefully read the negative comments; I wish I had. Rawson-Saunders is meant for children who cannot read. If your child can read but requires some help, then hire a private Academic Language Therapist. I fell for the choreographed song and dance routine that lures in desperate parents. I was told that my bright child would be challenged, that the curriculum is individualized and that he would be taught in a creative way. Not true. The curriculum in all subjects, especially math and writing, does not meet state standards. My child wrote very little and seemed to do a lot of coloring and fill in the blank worksheets. He was desperately bored because the pace of instruction moved at the pace of the slowest learner. Expect few classroom updates, newsletters and very little returned work. Any concerns about curiculum are diverted by the school leadership which is defensive and quick to try to cover up concerns. I forfeited thousands of dollars of tuition money and have not looked back. My child's ALT instruction was the only bright spot in this experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

This may be the right school for your child. But be aware that they do NOT adhere to standards (TEKS) and there is zero accountability. I used to think of testing as a problem, but now realize what can happen when there is no standard and no accountability. Unlike special education or 504 in public schools, you as a parent have no safeguards, no voice, no recourse. Major educational decisions were made without consulting or even informing us. Questions about these decisions were not taken kindly. Our only recourse was to withdraw but that still cost us a full-year's tuition. There are definitely some strengths, especially in reading and language arts. Do NOT expect a rigorous academic program and high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

My child attended RawsonSaunders grades 2-5. She arrived unable to read or even recite the alphabet. She now reads above grade level and LIKES to read!. Her confidence soared once she began attending this school - it's very powerful to be around people just like you (not only are the students dyslexic, but many of the teachers are, too) and to be taught in a way you can learn. So not only did she receive a fantastic education, she had a revolution in her feelings of self-worth and competence. This is something a child who is put into special ed classes/dyslexia tutoring in public school simply will not experience. When we first arrived, the existing principal was a very "reading" oriented educator/administrator. thus other subjects (math, science) were severely underemphasized. With the "new" (now beginning year 3) principal, the science/math portion is being strongly emphasized, and it is really coming along. The teachers, to a woman/man, are FANTASTIC. The only drawback to the school is its small size - about 100 students. That means limited social choices for children's friendships and non-academic school activities. My daughter's experience here: PRICELESS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

Rawson-Saunders has a very impressive, creative, dedicated staff, and I'm proud to be associated with everyone involved with the school! The new math program and extracurricular offerings are stellar. Of course, the school continues to do an excellent job of teaching dyslexic students to read in a way that they can learn best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2011

I can and do appreciate the drive towards providing specialized services for dyslexic children. This school does a great job at working with children to build their confidence in reading. What they don't do well is building their capabilities in other areas like Math. In addition, the leadership does not feel comfortable when questions are asked about the curriculum and can get passive agressive or defensive. My experience was not the best. The school says they are accepting of diversity, however, they have an attitude that some children are being done a favor by being allowed to attend. The school lacks cultural diversity in student poplulation and teachers which fuels a bit of remarkable ignorance since dyslexia is a learning difference/disability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

Our son attended Rawson-Saunders from 2nd through 5th grades and received an outstanding, well-rounded education. With daily, individualized academic language therapy, he made tremendous strides in his ability to read and write.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

Love working here! The best staff in the state of Texas.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2008

Rawson-Saunders exceeds expectations for dyslexic students. Worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 31%
Hispanic 11% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (512) 476-1132

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2614 Exposition Boulevard
Austin, TX 78703
Phone: (512) 476-8382

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





ACE Academy
Austin, TX


TNS Academy
Austin, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT