Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
65 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


AHB Community School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The Beta teachers are amazing! I would like to thank them for making my son feel confident, both academically and socially. The projects this year were interesting and fun, and we as parents always felt informed about what was happening in the classroom. Thank you for caring so much, working so hard and always putting the kids' interests first!

AHB Community School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
We are finishing our third year at AHB. My children truly love going to school. We have a small community led by wonderful teachers and involved parents. I love that my kids get to experience learning in a fun way - by completing projects, interacting with their peers and exploring their surroundings. The teachers incorporate art and music into their lessons, but still have high academic standards (without testing and the pressure of grades).


AHB Community School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
We are truly amazed by the teachers at each level! They are calm, organized, and bring out the best in their kids.

AHB Community School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The Alpha class has had a set of class agreements posted on the wall all year, which was "signed" (with a hand print) by all the students and the two teachers. It advocates respect, fairness, and appreciation. The kids – who are only 5-7 – gently remind each other when one of them "forgets" one or more of their rules!

AHB Community School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
We are astounded by the progress our son has made during his first year in Alpha. His teachers, Ms. Kim and Ms. Eliza, are absolute treasures. They are not only helping the kids learn to be academically proficient and creative, but also wise enough to know how much social guidance to provide as they grow into confident, yet respectful and empathetic people. We are glad that this is the "normal" that our little guy spends his day experiencing, just like the environment we try to create in our home. We feel so lucky to have found AHB, and plan to continue for many years to come.


AHB Community School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are top-notch and the school's methodology is exactly what we have been looking for. We value the whole-child education experience, and the creative, project-based curriculum.

AHB Community School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The Alpha and Beta teachers have been wonderful guides for my children this year. I can't thank them enough.

AHB Community School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This school has been amazing for my 7 and 8 year olds. They have flourished scholastically an grown emotionally. They have not had one single day where they were not ecstatic to go to school. My son wants playdates with his teachers, if that's any indication! I can not say enough great things about AHB, their staff, their community, and their methods.


AHB Community School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is finishing her first year here and I could write a book about how happy we are. I am not a board member padding the reviews. Even if I was, the board is all parents with the exceptions of the exec director and a teacher rep. It is her first year at a formal school of any kind and she is reading at a second grade level (she is 6), never has said she doesn't wAnt to go to school and even gets upset at having to take a sick day. Loving and devoted teachers, parents and staff, stimulating classrooms, family friendly schedule, community spirit. Love it.

AHB Community School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
Our children have flourished at AHB. I don't know what we like best--that our children love going to school everyday, the 9:1 student-teacher ratio, the 2 full-time teachers per classroom, the teachers' ability to challenge our children (who are above grade level), or the extra time we get to enjoy our children and direct their education. The reasonable tuition doesn't hurt either. For those unfamiliar with the school, AHB is a secular school/homeschool hybrid. The school week runs 3 to 4 days a week depending on age, and teachers send home the materials needed for home study weekly. The school is academically strong--reading and writing are emphasized, science is incorporated from kinder onward, and the math program keeps my children excited about numbers (and working above grade level). There was an executive director change-up at the school this year which upset some parents; however, a new ED is now in place. FWIW, our family is not on the parent-run board.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

AHB Community School
4001 Speedway Ave, Austin, TX  78751
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (512) 299-5487
Last modified AHB Community School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top