Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 628
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harmony School of Excellence - Austin 5

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
We've found the school to really work with us and to be flexible and positive.

Harmony School of Excellence - Austin
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
I have a gifted child in special ed and the teachers have all been flexible and supportive of him. After years of battling with AISD we've found a great home at Harmony.


Harmony School of Excellence - Austin
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely, no doubt. There are award ceremonies for different academic programs that children have stuck through....and excellence is recognized. Academics are highlighted more than other activities which helps students focus and feel supported in an environment that values persistence and achievement. They do also offer cultural and artistic extracurricular activities as well, to produce well-rounded students.

Harmony School of Excellence - Austin
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
The leadership at the school inspires respect but also inspires ambition on the part of the students because there are so many fun science/technology projects that students can explore and trips that older students go on, so students realize it's in their best interest to do their best and respect the school and teachers.

Harmony School of Excellence - Austin
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
As a charter school the classes tend to be smaller but even when the school hallways and multi-purpose rooms are crowded there's a strong sense of family. The school goes from lower grades through high school, so teachers know all the kids for years and intervene and work with all the kids if there is bullying. The Dean of Discipline there knows how to provide clear structure and expectations while working to aid and support children that are struggling. There is a great network of counselors and resource teachers.


Harmony School of Excellence - Austin
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2015
- a parent
These concepts are not just worksheet keywords at Harmony....their teachers are high quality, encouraging diligence and thinking outside the box. Children are challenged but also shown respect. Subsequently these values emerge naturally in this supportive environment.

Harmony School of Excellence - Austin 1

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD HERE! This school is not interested in your child's education. Ali Sarioglu is a prime example of what is wrong with this school. The Harmony School of Excellence Austin seems to be a sham for immigrating people here from Turkey, most do not have a teaching background and are unable to communicate with parents. Take the time to find a reputable charter school for your child.

Harmony School of Excellence - Austin 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
We are VERY pleased with Harmony School of Excellence. Students are expected to be respectful of themselves and others, teachers are very dedicated and the administration obviously wants all kids to succeed. This is only this school's 2nd year and their performance is awesome! 1


Harmony School of Excellence - Austin 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
My wife transferred our daughter 7th grader from Bailey to HSE-Austin, I have to be honest, I thought that move was a mistake, She has been there now for almost an academic year, and her school work have been great, She loves the small environment and flourishes with it, She misses extra curricular activities not available, and above all misses the BAND where she plays the Tuber. We are considering applying for our other too kids to go there from Baranoff, FYI, Baranoff is a solid school. The teachers actually did home visits to their students which I find awesome considering I am from Nigeria. What I would love to see is more parental role and or involvement that can benefit the school and kids at large.

Harmony School of Excellence - Austin 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a parent
We started both our children (Kinder & 5th grade) this year after many years at a private school. The principals & deans are very engaging with the kids and parents. Our 5th grader loves it - challenges and successes all. There is focus on AR Reading to get the kids motivated to read. Science is advanced and students doing labs at least once a week - we did not get this at all in our previous school. For any kids benchmarked below, there is after school tutoring (free). They want all kids to succeed. While this is only their 2nd year in operation, it is amazing what they are accomplishing! I also appreciate how they keep me, as a parent, up to date on grades (posted online as assignments are graded). Harmony is also focused on the student as a person with character and discipline systems in place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harmony School of Excellence - Austin
2100 E St Elmo Rd, Austin, TX  78744
(512) 693-0000
Last modified Harmony School of Excellence - Austin is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harmony School of Excellence - Austin Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top