Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-6
Public charter
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 323
Before care: No
After care: Yes

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The East Austin College Prep Acade 1

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
This is a BAD SCHOOL,my child didn't make it to the end of the year and this is why. The teachers are very unorganized, they assign homework to the students but don't grade ANY thing. I had no idea what kind of grades my child was making. They are also rude. I had a 2nd grader there who has ADHD & the teachers would ask, in front of other students and staff if my child was on medicine, even suggesting I put my child on drugs to satisfy them. How rude! They made no 504 accommodations, which is required by law of ADHD kids. Event taking recess away, which is not a good way to punish an ADHD kid. My child was constantly complaining about getting beat up at school. The kids that go there were rude to my child, and nothing was done. Teachers seem to have good intentions, but can't seem to control their classrooms, which are tiny and overcrowded. My child wasn't learning there. They also don't have an art class, and the library is pathetic. When I went to withdraw my child, the women who work the office seemed mad that I was doing so. One even rolled her eyes when I told her about my child saying they were always getting beat up. Not a good school at all..

The East Austin College Prep Acade 1

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
This review is of the Jain Lane campus. Many of the students are academically behind. This year there has been a decided downturn as the principal mentioned in earlier reviews was fired. They have promoted a special ed teacher as interim and the school is truly chaotic. One of the female teachers was fired, another verbally taunts the kids and pulls their arms, etc.One grade has gotten along this year only using substitute teachers. We are outta there.


The East Austin College Prep Acade 2

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
The principal in this school is mean and pushes kids around. And. O one seems to want to do something about it. If this has happened to your child please do go and speak to the super indent from the school. You really can't seem to trust no one else at that school. Parents don't stay quite speak up! Or else the principal will keep getting away with what he's being doing to our children! If we as parents don't protect our children no one else will!

The East Austin College Prep Acade 2

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
The principal in this school is a bully. I am withdrawing my child and suggest others do the same. He is rude to parents and kids. You don't scream and children how does that help???

The East Austin College Prep Acade 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
Where do I begin? This school must have done a major overhaul this year. I have been extremely impressed with how much the staff has grown in the last few years. The addition of 2nd and 3rd grade has been great and at least with my student, the 4th grade teachers have been amazing! These teachers really go above and beyond. For instance, anytime my child has issues at school he is able to call the teachers for help and they always respond promptly and have been extremely helpful. Its reasons like this that will make my child successful. This school has really been a blessing! Highly recommended.


The East Austin College Prep Acade 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
This is probably not one of the best schools there are. I mean no disrespect to the teachers,but the school isn't well structured. One of the other problems is the school is very bland. I see those kids in there uniforms and they look like ghost . The school turns there kids into robots,lacks creativity and teaches to think one way and not opens to new ideas. Overall I think that nobody should go to that school.

The East Austin College Prep Acade 1

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible! The students do what they want and teachers have no control of their classes. The handful of good kids that go there suffer. Teachers are teaching out of their teaching fields and doing so unhappily. The library that just received a mega grant is a joke and no one knows where the funds went. One teacher tried yelling and slamming down desks to gain control of his class, another was just mean and degrading and made her Spanish students cry. Teachers assign work and never pick it up. One teacher never even gave them a test after Xmas. In 2012, the principal and all but one or two teachers left this school and it has yet to recover. Summer school was a joke. And to make things worse, the food was often inedible and the portions were a joke. They had an awards assembly at the end of the year and not one student got a certificate. The carnival was disgusting. The rumors of misappropriation of funds us just sad. What makes it all so heartbreaking is that the Hispanic men who are paying themselves mega salaries to run these two schools are doing nothing for kids of East Austin.Shame on all of these inept professionals that dare to call themselves educators!

The East Austin College Prep Acade 1

Posted June 26, 2013
- a community member
RUN AWAY FROM HERE! This is a horribly oppressive environment, and not because of rules. In fact, rules are hardly ever followed. The children here are so vicious to others that teachers hardly ever can help. The entire school is crowded and each class has around 30 kids. No teaching is ever done, and the little teaching that is done is useless information and anything but advanced. The uniforms practically disintegrate and are the colors of a prison rainbow. No structure, no challenges, and no trust. A student was placed in In School Suspension for answering too many questions correctly because "it was a form of bullying, showing off intelligence that others lack". Fights aren't uncommon and children are kissing all over one another. Lunch has many food fights and children go home crying many a day. This is NOT A SAFE ENVIRONMENT FOR ANYONE. Doctor Gonzalez is a great man, but this school is far beyond his reach. DON'T ATTEND and DON'T bring your child, unless you want to make them so miserable that they need therapy.


The East Austin College Prep Acade 3

Posted November 27, 2012
- a parent
There is a place to play BUT no recess for the 4th graders and no art and no Nurse either. Administration states rules, then changes them, as do some of the teachers. Teaching is average, as they are paid a minimal salary. If your child craves structure? This is the place for you. It's akin to that of a military school. Extremely Oppressive. I'm rating it three due to the fact my child does like the school, however I am not too impressed by children being taught to be "robots" and not to think for themselves, or be inspired creatively, Or be allowed to play!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The East Austin College Prep Acade
6002 Jain Lane, Austin, TX  78721
(512) 287-5000
Last modified The East Austin College Prep Acade is a Charter school that serves grades 4-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The East Austin College Prep Acade Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top