Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
450 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Magellan International School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Having relocated from California, I really shopped around for immersion schools with a strong academic component. The Magellan International School blew all the other schools out of the water. The kids are inquisitive and learn critical thinking skills rather than to just follow along. It is a fairly new school so the outcomes and list of places where their graduates attend are not available but they are guided by success-proven International baccalaureate (IB) program and I predict that in a couple of years (as they get ready to graduate their first 8th grade class) we will hear about their graduates doing very well in high school and beyond. My child is in kindergarten and we are having such a wonderful experience being embraced by the community and my daughter is just thriving with the Magellan way of teaching. My only regret is that my older kids did not get to experience this school.

The Magellan International School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The homework is meaningful and unlike at many schools it is not just homework for the sake of homework, there is good balance.


The Magellan International School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The school values students and treats them as strong, independent thinkers. There is a culture of mutual respect.

The Magellan International School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely, there is a strong service-learning component and the IB values serve as a guide.

The Magellan International School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
There is a lot of transparency. The school was founded by a parent and there is now a 10-person board with outside educators involved as well.


The Magellan International School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
We have attended Magellan for the last four years and love it. Our kids have loved everything about the school. Progressively over the years, the school is getting more and more organized. The fundraising can be a little obnoxious. They have tuition plus a recommended donation via the annual fund. They are now starting a capitol campaign. It does feel like they are charging you for every event. Despite this petty complaint, the teachers are out of this world. They differentiate to high achieving kids and keep everyone challenged. We love this school.

The Magellan International School 5

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
This is our son's second year at Magellan, and we're very happy so far. The IB curriculum provides a good foundation for lifelong learning. The school has attracted faculty that is both deeply experienced, and very passionate about their work. Spanish immersion is icing on the cake.

The Magellan International School 5

Posted April 09, 2013
- a parent
Phenomenal program where kids learn to think in a global context, learn how to be open minded and calculated risk takers, and have a keen sense of responsibility to not only themselves but to the community. I don't know of any other school that has the quality of teachers that MIS has - all with Bachelors degrees and most with at least a Masters, even at the PreK level! Finally, the warm and caring environment is for real, and probably a result of the quality selection of teachers who care deeply about the kids. A top notch world class school that benchmarks itself against the best international schools around the world - and we have it right here in Austin, Texas!


The Magellan International School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
I have twins in one of the 1st grade classes. It is their first year at Magellan, after finishing at an excellent Montessori school. The first thing that attracted us was the fact that it is Spanish immersion, since I am Mexican (they also do Mandarin starting in 3rd grade), but what made us commit to it was the excellent academics, in particular the International Baccalaureate's Primary Years Program (PYP), as well as the passion and experience of everyone from the founder and director down. As a mathematician, married to a scientist, I can say that they use the best way of teaching numeracy (Singapore math). My kids' math and language skills have developed at an astonishing rate. The community is very involved, and the families are invariably warm, friendly, supportive, diverse and very "Austin". Teachers come from Australia, Mexico, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Spain, and the US (I may be missing some countries!). The families there are even more diverse. Just in my kids' classroom they have Russia, Poland, India, Ecuador, England, Mexico and Canada represented. The school is also truly committed to economic diversity as well. Highly recommended!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Magellan International School
7938 Great Northern Boulevard, Austin, TX  78757
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (512) 782-2327
Last modified The Magellan International School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top