Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Veritas Academy

Private | K-12 | 500 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $229,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

Veritas Academy is truly unique! The Christian foundation, classical approach, an University model has served our family well for what will be our 7th consecutive year. We now have one in each school, Grammar, Logic, and Rhetoric, and are looking forward to what the new year brings! Veritas Academy has been an incredible blessing for our entire family. Go Defenders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

The academic, leadership, character, athletic, fine arts, and extra-curricular opportunities and instruction are excellent. We appreciate the solid vision and professionalism of the staff at Veritas. Our three kids (grades 12th, 9th, 4th) are well-rounded, independent, and confident. Veritas is a great training ground for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

Teaching within a Christian worldview is so important to us as we not only want our children to excel academically, of which Veritas has high standards, but also within the worldview of what Christ wants us to do in our daily lives. Veritas provides both, while partnering with parents in the education of their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

Veritas is an amazing community where the parents are supported in their primary role as teacher to their children. I am consistently saying that I feel like I should be paying tuition, as the school provides so many resources to parents in true partnership fashion. I also feel so in touch with my childrens' strengths, weaknesses, etc. and can provide one on one assistance to help them where they are struggling. I appreciate this gift of extra time with them to pour into them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

The leadership of the school and quality of the education are unmatched! There are ample opportunities for community involvement, character development, and parent training. The school truly partners with parents to provide a classical, Christian education. Our family loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

My 6th grade and pre-K daughters attend Veritas Academy. It has been a joy to learn alongside my children with its beautiful balance of classroom and home school instruction. We have been extremely pleased with the school's multisensory learning methods for early learning, rich curriculum for all classes, character development, parent/co-teacher support and education, and most of all, for the Christian worldview that is woven into the fabric of the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

My four kids go to Veritas and we are very happy with it. We particularly appreciate the opportunity to work so closely with the faculty and our children as a part of the university school model.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

Our family has been with Veritas from its beginning. The coursework is challenging and relevant, and Veritas is continually finding ways to improve itself and its offerings. Our family couldn't be happier with Veritas Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

This school nurtures my child so she can achieve her potential academically and also develop great character. Veritas is a place to make great friends both for the child and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

The school is forward thinking. Academically challenging and offers a wide variety of activities for the size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

My wife and I love Veritas Academy becuase it is a Christian school and because it works well for our family. The UMS model works well for us because it allows us to spend more time with our children. It is great to be able to be part of a school where we can work along side faculty and other parents with similar values and beliefs. Veritas is a GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

My daughter transferred into Veritas as a Sophomore. This is her second year now and she really loves it. It is a very good challenge for her where she was not so challenged at her previous Christian School. The closeness to our house is also a big plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

We love this school. The students are challenged academically and the teachers want the students to learn. My children have great friends at this school and because of the family oriented culture we know our children's friends and their families. That is important when you have teenagers! The teachers and the leadership are great role models for the students and really work with families to partner with parents in raising their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

I love the biblical worldview that Veritas helps instill in my children! It is a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

As a mother of 5 children, it is very important for my children to all be nourished and loved at home and school. The faculty does a wonderful job loving my kids while challenging them academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

We have a 3rd and 5th grader at Veritas. We homeschooled our oldest for a year and then switched to Veritas with its university model. We love it! The administration and faculty truly has a heart for our children. When issues arise, we work together to help our children achieve their best. The academics are challenging and there is great depth in the core subjects of language arts, math, history, and science. Our oldest loves history and we're so greatful that the curriculum is so rich and feeds his passion. We thoroughly enjoy our "home days" which generally include dad as he works from home. Our family is so blessed to have so much time together. We highly recommend Veritas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

We're very happy with the spiritual, academic and athletic training our children receive at the school. All three of our children go there, and our oldest was just accepted into Texas A&M University's College Of Biomedical Sciences, so we're thrilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

Veritas is a blessing to our family. The school community is wonderful and encouraging. The school work is challenging and relevant. The UMS model emphasizes the importance of faith and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4220 Monterey Oaks Blvd.
Austin, TX 78749
Phone: (512) 891-1675

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT