Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hill Country Middle School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a community member
This school is great for learning, but the students that go there are mostly stuck up, and are just rich white people. You could put any group if teachers with these students and they would do well. That's because they all have family's that can help them out every second of their life, which most students in Austin don't have. The secret to this schools success is the student, not at all the teacher. Unless your white and wear nike and other name brands you probably won't fit in. To add to that this is probably the least diverse school in the Austin area.

Hill Country Middle School 2

Posted November 04, 2012
- a community member
The academic level of this school is fairly decent, it is a safe environment, however; most kids are judgemental and they won't welcome your kids in, unless he or she is up to become a fully "Westlakian" and follow the sheep.


Hill Country Middle School 5

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
An excellent school, but it's true - the principal does not allow students in the building before 7:45 and they do sit outside patiently waiting to get in. I think that's heartless, especially since four or five months out of the year its 90 degrees out at 7:45 am, 100% humidity. They also need lockers, it's insane the weight of the kids backpacks. I put my daughter's on a scale and it was 36 lbs. That is what she has been carrying for years now, at least since 4th grade and she's in 7th now. I know that publishers have to abide by weight limits on textbooks, but it's not textbooks they carry - it's folders with every single piece of paper they ever worked on, organized in binders, plus calculators, library books, PE uniforms. There's no safer school around - I have never even heard of a fistfight and we've been here since Kindergarten. They do not offer afterschool programs whatsover - but they think these are stay-at-home millionaire moms with nannies, so what's it to them??

Hill Country Middle School 3

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
I have had dealing with this school off and on for many years. The staff tend to lean toward self intitelment over protection and education of the children under thier care. The Special Education Program at this school is particullary poor for this district. There are great individual teachers. The choir program is absolutly wonderfull. It is particullarly concering that the principle has chosen to force these young children to sit outside unprotected in the mornings because she finds it inconvient to her self and her staff to allow them inside Her biulding. The out of pocket expenses required for completion of home work and participation in school activities is often very high. Many of the teachers assign far too much home work. My child does not complain about having to stay up untill up to 2 am to complete her home work, I do not think this is right.

Hill Country Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a student
I love this school! The teachers rock and the principals are awesome. When I leave it will make me sad.


Hill Country Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a student
i Am a 7th grade student here at Hcms, and love this school. it is really fun and hard at the same time.

Hill Country Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hill Country Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Hill Country Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
HCMS is an extremely challenging school. Our 7th daughter regularly has 2-3 hours of homework each night. Despite concerns about compeition in all areas, I am very impressed with the educational opportunities at HCMS.

Hill Country Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2009
- a teacher
This school has great resources, and great support for its teachers. It is by far the best school and district I have worked for in the US. I consider myself very lucky to have a job here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hill Country Middle School
1300 Walsh Tarlton Lane, Austin, TX  78746
(512) 732-9220
Last modified Hill Country Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hill Country Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews.