Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
70 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westlake High School 2

Posted December 13, 2015
- a community member
great school if you are rich or upper middle white family, not so much if you are a minority and not rich. If you are wealthy then you will be welcomed and that's not just here but just about anywhere you go.

Westlake High School 5

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
I'm perplexed as to how "great schools" has suddenly rated this as a 9?! This is an Excellent school, but not perhaps for some students who don't do well in at a large school, or with the rigorous work. Westlake HS is definitely a 10, and is well known and most likely instrumental in getting my kids into the top colleges they are now attending.


Westlake High School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a parent
Great school with so much to offer. We moved to Austin due to a job change and our child was quickly welcomed and made to feel a part of everything. There is a lot of money but a lot of really good kids who are working hard to get to college. Junior and senior teachers are great. Freshmen and sophomores get the newbies or less excellent. Tons of clubs and activities to get involved with.

Westlake High School 5

Posted December 17, 2013
- a community member
As a student that goes to this school, I can say it's a very friendly place and a way to make new friends. Everyone see' sit as the rich, snooty, no good rich kids school but really it's not. The people there aren't at all what everyone describes them to be. The teachers are dedicated to helping students, and they are all pretty much friendly. I moved there my sophmore year from Dallas because my old school (Highland Park High School) was just a terrible environment and you could literally use every single stereotype against Westlake and hold it true against Highland Park. Overall a Westlake is a great place and I've noticed people there that talk bad about the people there and other things when they really aren't actually trying to get know people or trying to study. But if they really did, maybe they'd see the good in the school and people. This is my Junior year and I can personally tell you that this school is absolutely wonderful. Not like Highland Park in Dallas TX.

Westlake High School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter transferred here this year thinking it would be better, back to AISD it is! She learned nothing here. My daughter hated it. I wouldn't recommend Westlake.


Westlake High School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a student
I moved from AISD to Westlake and immediately, from the first day of freshman year felt there was a HUGE academic gap between AISD and EISD(Westlake) staff, and students. (WESTLAKE IS MUCHH BETTER IN EVERY WAY POSSIBLE!!)

Westlake High School 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a student
I am going to be a Sophomore at Westlake high school this coming 2011-2012 year. I am very happy at this school. Westlake does have a pretty bad Reputation about having a bunch of rich mean people who think they are better than every one else. Well what school doesnt have those type of people. The students here could not be any more welcoming and sweet to everyone. The teachers are AWESOME! They know what they are doing, and yes they do give a good amount of homework and you will hate them for it. But truth is it helps your grades. The distict that Westlake is in is very welcoming to transfers. I am a transfer myself but treated no diffrently. I wouldnt want to go any where else. Go CHAPS

Westlake High School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
This is one of the great High Schools in the state of Texas. Although very competitive in the classroom and on the sports fields, there are opportunities for everyone fit in. The 25 -30 student class sizes, although larger than most, not had any negative effect on my children. I have 4 kids in the eanes school district and I am forever greatful that these schools were recommended to me when I moved to Austin. Even the foreign exchange student we hosted fit in quickly and had the most enjoyable year of her life. Budget cuts are a fact of life. It is the tremendous parental involvement and support that helps to make this a great school.


Westlake High School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
We love this school. Moving to Austin from Silicon Valley, we picked the Eanes school district immediately. It was a no brainer - every school in the district was exemplary. Their testing scores were through the roof and the high school ranks in the top 100 of schools in the nation. The teachers are mandated to have graduate degrees but more importantly, they care about the students. The students themselves are wonderful - conscientious kids who have the highest regard for academic excellence. My high schooler was amazed by the difference between her friends in CA and at Westlake High. The latter were all over studies and their future while the former tried to coast to get through high school (and the CA high school was among the best in the Bay Area). The programs and electives are incredible.

Westlake High School
no rating

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
Football may be king, but all the programs at Westlake excel. The 'country club' sports of golf, swimming and tennis are all perennial regional and state champs. The art, theatre and journalism departments are phenomenal. And, although kids tend to choose just one or two areas in which to become involved, I have known many kids who are both exceptional athletes and involved in student government, art or theatre. The band and orchestra programs are also great. All of the extracurriculars enjoy tremendous parental and community support. Of course, most important, the academic programs are outstanding. No matter whether your child is destined for the Ivy League, UT or community college, they will leave WHS well-prepared. The AP courses are challenging and rigorous, but the average student also is tended to in regular-level classes. In short, the school offers something for everyone. Great teachers, great college counselors, great parents, great kids!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westlake High School
4100 Westbank Drive, Austin, TX  78746
(512) 732-9280
Last modified Westlake High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westlake High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. Top