Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 663
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeway Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
We moved from Northern California to Austin and settled in Lakeway due to the top rated schools in the area! This was our first priority! We did a ton of research (a deep dive online, interviewed parents that lived in the Austin area, parents that moved from Northern CA to Austin, TX, and we interviewed some of the faculty from the 5 elementary schools). When it was all said and done, Lakeway Elementary rose to the top on all occasions (grades, reputation/history, environment, enrichment opportunities, art/music programs, parent involvement, safety, nurse on staff, and more). And, what sealed the deal was when we met the principal of LWE. He personally took us on a tour and based our visit, it was clear to us how much passion and love the Principal had for his school and students. Our daughter loves her school and teachers! Everyone is so nice and helpful and truly cares about the children's education and well-being. No mean kids, no bullying, no bad teachers. We are so glad we took the time to find such a great school and school district! You can't go wrong with Lakeway Elementary and the LTISD.
6 people found this helpful

Lakeway Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has already attended 4 elementary schools in 3 different states (and she is only in 4th grade). She was at Lakeway Elementary for 2nd grade. I can honestly say that this is the school that I use as a benchmark for ranking all other schools. The teachers and staff were great, the level of parent involvement was amazing, and the children were well-manner and well-behaved, in addition to being very welcoming my daughter. If I had my choice, we would move back to TX & have her go back to Lakeway Elementary!!!
3 people found this helpful


Lakeway Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
Many students go out of their way to help others!

Lakeway Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
The best teachers, principal and community!

Lakeway Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
everything is awesome...great programs for the students, good teacher parent interaction, happy students, lots of community involvement- it is truly a great place to be
1 person found this helpful


Lakeway Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
This state really knows what its doing with education. Thank you for keeping all the things that make school fun and educational! My children were greeted with open arms and my 3rd grader loves reading now. We have only been here 3 weeks I can't wait to see how they do next year.

Lakeway Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2007
- a parent
Very pleased with this school. Great parent involvement.

Lakeway Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2005
- a teacher
This is a great school with lots of parent involvement. The academic programs are strong although they no longer offer Spanish. There are many wonderful teachers that have been in the district for many years. Overall, an excellent school.


Lakeway Elementary School 3

Posted March 06, 2005
- a parent
The parents are incredibly involved, but I have not been impressed with the curriculum, nor choices for reading, rainy day recess, lunch menus, or their ability to challenge gifted children. We homeschooled for K&1st, and had our child reading at a 6th grade level the april before she began 2nd grade. We have not decided where our child will be schooled this fall. They use the cogat as an IQ test, not as the screening test for which it was intended, so we had to pay out of our pocket to get an accurate independent IQ test for our child to prove she should be in their TAG program. As we understand it, they base entry into the program solely on IQ, not including any evidence of academic performance.

Lakeway Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2004
- a parent
I have never seen a better elementary school in my life. The teachers are all dedicated to the school and their students. The parents are extremly involved every day. The standards are extremly high for each student but the school strives to make sure that no students are struggling.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeway Elementary School
1701 Lohmans Crossing Road, Austin, TX  78734
(512) 533-6350
Last modified Lakeway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeway Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top