Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Austin High School

Public | 9-12 | 2236 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 9, 2014

We had the same experience at Austin High in senior year with our dyslexic daughter. The dyslexia grapevine made us aware that typically only one 504 meeting was provided in any public high school. Many parents do know their rights and those of their students. However, it is just not useful to spend the energy to bicker with a system that has no desire to educate students that learn differently. We discovered this in elementary school when the school was unwilling to evaluate our daughter. Thus, began our reliance on a private resource system that provided the assistance our daughter needed, and assisted us in knowing our rights. Public education was not willing to provide the information. It is unfortunate that not all dyslexic students have parents that know their rights to advocate for their students. Nor do some families have the resources to provide private assistance to their students. These students are at a great disadvantage and more likely drop out of school or are unprepared for life after high school. Please help these students. They can be successful if only they receive the support they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

This is in regards to the parent of the student with a 504. You need know your rights as a parent. The school was not in compliance with the law. You could've/should've filed due process. I'm sorry to hear about your struggle to get your child the services needed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2014

My student had minimal accommodations as a designated 504 student. The accommodations were, generally, followed by teachers or my student would advocate for himself. If my student struggled in any area, we sought the aid of private teachers for assistance. A re-evaluation was due in 9th grade but we had to remind the school and it was done in 10th grade. Only one 504 meeting was provided in senior year the last week of school. Ideally, it would have been desirable if the school had a dyslexia specialist or dedicated counselor for 504 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

I used to be a pre-ap freshman biology teacher at Westlake High School. I quit because the students simply didn't try or succeed. At Austin High I can see a huge difference in the way they've been taught. They try and accede my expectations. They listen and participate in class unlike the students I taught at Westlake. The staff at Westlake was cold and didn't seem to care about the students success and how they were doing. I would not recommend going to Westlake. I've been loving Austin High School, and would highly recommend it for anymore willing to work hard and try hard. Go maroons!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2013

This school is a long standing high school with wonderful student diversity. Yet, it could benefit from more rigorous standards that motivate students at all levels. At one end of the spectrum grad rates are low for a 5A school, at the other end there are few national merit finalists in each grad class. Extracurricular activities are not incredibly strong. Theater is quite strong. Music related groups are weak but some improve. Band is not an inclusive group. Athletics is a brighter spot as it attempts to reach out to a variety of students. The new AD strives to hold all students to the same standards and to make the students feel included in the teams in which they participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Austin High is rich in tradition and has excellent teachers. Student body is diverse. Theater Department recently won state UIL competition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I am currently a sophomore at Austin High School, and I definitely disagree with some of the reviews on this website. I have had a great experience at AHS over the past year that I have been attending this school. The population is diverse, so everyone can find people they have things in common with and get along with. I have taken all pre-AP core classes, and have had great teachers for all of them. I always feel as though I learn something every day, whether it is from a textbook or a casual conversation with a teacher. The extra-curriculars are amazing! The theatre program is the UIL state champs, the football team has won both of the games they've played this year, and the band is talented! If you are thinking about coming to AHS, DO IT! It is a good school if you are willing to do your best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

I attended AHS for all four years of high school. I got a great education there and was well prepared for college. The teachers care about their students and will help you succeed. While my TAAS/TAKS scores were never the highest, I did graduate with a 3.8 GPA, so don't let the test scores fool you. There are many great extracurriculars, many of which I participated in. Over all this school is excellent and a great choice for students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2008

Austin High School has had a great year so far, ever since Dr. Calzada kicked in. More school spirit, and the first day of school wasn't so lousy like all the other years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

The longest continually operating high school in Texas is going to be this year's comeback kid. Dr. C and his team started of the school year on a very high note the first day lacked the mob mentality pranks that became acceptible. Two way respect is expected from the staff. Walking the hall it is very evident that students, parents and teachers have a renewed sense of school pride and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

An EXCELLENT school. The teachers are always willing to help struggling students, even if it means staying after or coming in early. They are so passionate about what they teach it makes learning way more interesting and fun. The AP courses are difficult, but definitely prepared me for college. The teacher challenged us and pushed each and every one of us to do our best. I am so glad to have been a part of the Austin High community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2008

I was in austin high school, I am a legal resident my family moved to usa when I was 13 years of age, I found this school to extremely difficult to learn. And that teachers were DID NOT care at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2008

The teachers at Austin High School are very dedicated, excellent teachers. They've inspired my son to do good work, and set good examples. They promote excellence in every way. School spirit isn't as high as it could be, and there will be a new principal next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

Austin High School prepares students very well for college courses. The teachers, coaches, and directors work together to allow students to participate in multiple and diverse activities. The English department is particularly excellent. It's like most school environments- you get what you want out of it. If you aren't getting anything out of it, you aren't trying very hard.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2007

Austin high is very challenging, and most teachers are unhelpful. The new principal is turning it into a prison and only making things worse with unnecessary, confusing rules. There are few if any exceptional teachers. I would really like to get out of this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2007

I am a graduate of Austin High and I don't agree with any of the comments below. SFA is a great school! There are many passionate teachers who really care about their students and challenge them, especially at the honors and advanced placement levels. The school is in a unique location, right on Town Lake in the center of the city, and kids from several different parts of town go there, making it a very diverse atmosphere. SFA's motto is 'Everybody is Somebody at Austin High' and if you don't feel a part of something there, you aren't getting involved enough! I participated in marching band, softball, student council and the literary journal. There are club sports like lacrosse at SFA that not all area schools offer, and the Texas rowing center is right across the street on the lake. SFA also has school spirit and traditions that rival Texas A&M!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 17, 2006

Austin high school is alright. You have a typical 8 classes each day. School spirit is somewhat alright. The classes are challenging and you have your occasional bad teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2005

Austin High is a great school. You wouldnt think it but Austin High is pretty conservative, thats what we like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

My son (04) and daughter (01) graduated from AHS and have excelled in college built from a solid foundation found among AHS teachers, courses, activities. However, it is the current leadership of the principal and her staff along with fine parent involvement that has placed the school among the top high schools in Austin. The diversity of the students provides a value add that isn't found in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

This shchool is so bad it don't even make any sense. It's to many fights ( blacks against whites.) Drug busts every week. Totally unorganized. -Mary Cowford
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

550 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

548 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

506 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

496 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

486 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

488 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male91%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%

Science

All Students96%
Female95%
Male96%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female98%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

545 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

544 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

517 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

555 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education50%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education53%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
Black or African American81%
Asian92%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education75%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students82%
Female88%
Male76%
Black or African American68%
Asian88%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education44%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)23%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students64%
Female72%
Male56%
Black or African American38%
Asian81%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education23%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)12%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black or African American81%
Asian83%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education42%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students67%
Female71%
Male62%
Black or African American36%
Asian83%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education18%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Black or African American83%
Asian94%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education58%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students85%
Female81%
Male88%
Black or African American58%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education46%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students80%
Female78%
Male83%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education39%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)21%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 50%
White 43% 31%
Black 7% 13%
Asian 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Sandy Compian
Fax number
  • (512) 474-7935

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1715 W Cesar Chavez
Austin, TX 78703
Phone: (512) 414-2505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT